Uninstalling Norton WMI Update from Add/Remove

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by macdon, Dec 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. macdon

    macdon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    I uninstalled Norton AV 2004 from my system, but I can not get the Norton WMI Update off the Add/Remove Program window. I used Add Remove Master and it didn't take it off the Add/Remove either and that has always been successful.

    On the Add/Remove it doesn't show any remove or change buttons, just has rarely.

    Can someone tell me how to get this off the Add/Remove?

    Hopefullyo_O
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Google found a thread that is similar to your problem. Don't know if it will help.

    Thread
     
  3. macdon

    macdon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    No, that didn't help. I uninstalled Norton AV and tried to get rid of all Norton, but I can not get rid Norton WMI Update off the Add/Remove page. I tried Add Remove Master to remove it, which usually will work and it did remove it from that program list but not the Add/Remove page. I do not have any Norton products on my computer, so I do not need it and like to keep a "clean" Add/Remove window.

    There are no Change/remove buttons on the Add/Remove window. It just says used rarely,

    Hopefully I explained this a bit better. I would really like to remove it and know there must be some way. HELP, ANYONEo_O
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    you can search the registry for the norton WMI and delete it from there and it will disapear from add/remove. that is the registry search and not the windows search ;)
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Tweak UI may remove the entry from the Control Panel.

    Tweak UI
     

    Attached Files:

  6. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Try to use SymNRT.exe from their site.
     
  7. macdon

    macdon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    Thanks all. It wasn't listed on my Tweak UI, but I found it in the registry and it is no more....Thanks all. Merry Christmas or what ever you celebrate....:)
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Good to hear macdon. :) Enjoy the holidays.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.