Uninstalling Norton WMI Update from Add/Remove

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by macdon, Dec 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. macdon

    macdon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    I uninstalled Norton AV 2004 from my system, but I can not get the Norton WMI Update off the Add/Remove Program window. I used Add Remove Master and it didn't take it off the Add/Remove either and that has always been successful.

    On the Add/Remove it doesn't show any remove or change buttons, just has rarely.

    Can someone tell me how to get this off the Add/Remove?

    Hopefullyo_O
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,312
    Location:
    Texas
    Google found a thread that is similar to your problem. Don't know if it will help.

    Thread
     
  3. macdon

    macdon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    No, that didn't help. I uninstalled Norton AV and tried to get rid of all Norton, but I can not get rid Norton WMI Update off the Add/Remove page. I tried Add Remove Master to remove it, which usually will work and it did remove it from that program list but not the Add/Remove page. I do not have any Norton products on my computer, so I do not need it and like to keep a "clean" Add/Remove window.

    There are no Change/remove buttons on the Add/Remove window. It just says used rarely,

    Hopefully I explained this a bit better. I would really like to remove it and know there must be some way. HELP, ANYONEo_O
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,895
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    you can search the registry for the norton WMI and delete it from there and it will disapear from add/remove. that is the registry search and not the windows search ;)
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,312
    Location:
    Texas
    Tweak UI may remove the entry from the Control Panel.

    Tweak UI
     

    Attached Files:

  6. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Try to use SymNRT.exe from their site.
     
  7. macdon

    macdon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Posts:
    59
    Thanks all. It wasn't listed on my Tweak UI, but I found it in the registry and it is no more....Thanks all. Merry Christmas or what ever you celebrate....:)
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,312
    Location:
    Texas
    Good to hear macdon. :) Enjoy the holidays.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.