uninstall v2.7 nod and installing eset v3 automatically via RAS

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by dsi-ap, Sep 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dsi-ap

    dsi-ap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    UK
    We have the old 'NOD32 Remote Adminstrator Console' for v2.7 or older NOD clients & the new 'ESET remote Administrator Console' for v3.0 + NOD/ESET clients to manage on the network.

    I like to upgrade the old v2.7 clients on the fly without having to manauly un-install and point them to the new RAC server to then update them to ESET v3.

    Is is possible without manual intervertion?

    Trying to avoid manualy un-install hundreds of clients before getting them upgraded.
     
  2. mladen

    mladen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Croatia
    Yes, it is possible. Just create your installation package on the new server and install it via Push installation. I have done this on almost a hundred PCs without any problems.
     
  3. dsi-ap

    dsi-ap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    UK
    Yea, but how can you do this on a client machine that has v2.7 still running?
    Is the a /Variable you supply in the new install package for v3?
     
  4. mladen

    mladen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Croatia
    No, the parameters I have setup in the "Edit/Clear command line asscociated with this package" area were:

    /qn REBOOT="ReallySuppress"

    (qn is for the silent installation, not displaying anything to the user and REBOOT="ReallySuppress" means no restart after the installation. You can see this if you click on the link "Show me the command line options").

    After the remote installation (of course, all my users were normally using their PCs during the Push installation), the user will have two icons in the taskbar notification area - one for the old version 2.7 and the second for the 3.0 version. After restart (the same thing will happen if they shutdown their PCs at the end of the working day and then turn it on tomorrow) there will be only the icon for version 3.0 ;)

    Regards,
    Mladen
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2008
  5. dsi-ap

    dsi-ap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    UK
    wow thats brilliant,t hanks for letting us know about this :))
     
  6. mladen

    mladen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Posts:
    45
    Location:
    Croatia
    No problem. I am glad that I can help :thumb:

    Regards,
    Mladen
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.