Uninstall Norton

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by FireWallNut, Feb 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FireWallNut

    FireWallNut Guest

    What is the best way to get rid of this beast? It seems to reside everywhere inside the registry. It's show size must be at least 18EEE with footprints left behind.
     
  2. FireWallNut

    FireWallNut Guest

  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Uninstalling Norton products can really make a terrible mess of things on your system. Believe me, I've experienced it. That's one reason why I don't use any Norton programs anymore.
     
  4. Paul Masley

    Paul Masley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Charleston, West Virginia
    I had problems with Norton Products years ago. With the trashed systems, unworkable fixes, and just the system overhead that Norton requires, I decided then and still do today, Norton is just not worth the headaches and expense. The only valid product from Norton is Ghost. It does work, as long as it is used in DOS mode.
     
  5. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    So the big question for me and I am sure others as well when your updates expire do you just ride with it or try to dump it? If it is a pain to get rid of and is working good why unload it? I ask myself this all the time? What does the community say? :doubt:
     
  6. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I got rid of it a couple of yrs. ago, after the licence expired. Was looking for something better at that time.

    As for the uninstall, i had found a page at that time with very detailed info on how to go about this. I wish i still had that url as it would come in handy here. All i remember is using my reg cleaner and meticulously searching for anything Norton, NAV or Symantec and whatever else related, and deleting them. It took a while but i finally got rid of all of it. It was a long process, that's for sure.



    snowbound
     
  7. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    2003 and above, uninstall isn't too bad. Run a normal add/remove uninstall. Reboot. Then download and run the NAV/NIS uninstall utility you can get from Symantec. Reboot.

    That's it.
     
  8. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    You would have thought that as one of the leading Antivirus Packages, a problem like this would not arrise.

    Jimbob
     
  9. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    I mean Firewall package although they are both a pain to remove.

    Jimbob
     
  10. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    I'm on NAV 2003 and when I scratch it, I think it will be on a fresh XP install!
     
  11. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    My system recovery disk has norton on it allready. So when I do a system recovery norton is installed. I believe I may be able to remove it from the installation but I don't want to corrupt a useable Recovery Disk as I can only make one, although I may be able to get around that.

    Jimbob
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.