Unhide Secure Zone

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rs4jazz, Aug 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rs4jazz

    rs4jazz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    How can I unhide the secure zone?
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    That is not possible. You can delete the SZ and create a standard partition in its place, but the SZ cannot be made visible to other programs or Windows.

    If you delete the SZ, you will lose the contents of the SZ. There's no alternative. However, data files in backups in the SZ can be copied prior to deleting the SZ by exploring/plugging the image and copying the files to another location.
     
  3. shawn_selig

    shawn_selig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Posts:
    9

    so you can copy a image from the secure zone to a different partition?
     
  4. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    No. What JMK was saying is that you can mount as a virtul drive an image which is in a SZ and then copy the data from that virtual drive. You can't access the image itself to move it from the SZ.
     
  5. _Kento_

    _Kento_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    96
    Hello rs4jazz,

    Could you please explain why do you want to unhide the ASZ? You can reach the backups there via ATI.

    _Kento_
     
  6. bottom

    bottom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    73
    ... it can be "unhided" e.g. with Acronis DiskDirector !!!
    ASZ is just a standard NTFS drive with a special label
    that makes it invisible for all Windows systems ...
    ... at in least in TI 8 this was the case !
    (but while should they invent a new file format anyway)

    the secure zone isn't so secure after all,
    the security lies in its invisibility
    so no simple(!) virus or, much more dangerous,
    unexperienced user can accidently delete backups...

    so maybe, with some tweaks, linux can directly access the ASZ...
     
  7. RHendrickson

    RHendrickson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Perhaps your drive is failing and needs to be replaced so you want to be able to reimage the new drive with the existing image...

    Being able to copy the ASZ image to another drive would save me about 4 hours of work right now as the active partition is no longer bootable but the drive is accessible until...

     
  8. _Kento_

    _Kento_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    96
    Okay, then if you have partition manager (i have Acronis Disk Director 10.0 Suite) you could do the following to unhide the Secure Zone:

    (this instructions for Acronis Disk Director 10.0 Suite)

    - Right-click on Acronis Secure Zone in the main window of ADD
    - Go to Advanced->Change type
    - Set type to "0Ch FAT32 LBA"
    - Conmmit the changes

    Go to Disk Management (Start -> Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management) and assign drive letter the Secure Zone. That's it, Secure Zone is now visible and you can access it.

    _Kento_
     
  9. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    So by changing the type to Fat 32 does not corrupt what is in the SZ?
     
  10. mathematician

    mathematician Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9
    It shouldn't do; the Secure Zone is a FAT32 partition in disguise.
     
  11. _Kento_

    _Kento_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    96
    The archives in SZ will not corrupt in this case. As mathematician said SZ already FAT32 but have a special type "0BCh Acronis Secure Zone" that make it visible and accesible for ATI only

    _Kento_
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.