Undocumented serious error (0x101a)

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by The_Worst, Jun 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The_Worst

    The_Worst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Eset failes to update with the following error:
    Undocumented serious error (0x101a).

    Current version: 3219
    Last succesful update: 26-6-2008 10:31:51.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    I'd suggest that you check if both the temp/tmp system and user variables are defined and whether they point to existing folders where you have write permissions.
     

    Attached Files:

    • tmp.jpg
      tmp.jpg
      File size:
      47.3 KB
      Views:
      2,490
  3. Number99

    Number99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Sweden
    I get the exact same message. And I do have write permission.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2008
  4. dwood

    dwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
  5. Hefaistos22

    Hefaistos22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Slovakia
    once i had the same problem and write to technical support:)the solution was cleaning both temps.one in C-windows-temp and the other in c-document and settings- (user)- local settings -temp. BUT NOT THE TEMP FOLDER!!only files inside!:)
     
  6. Number99

    Number99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Sweden
    Thanks guys! I cleaned my tempfolders, but no luck. But once I restarted my computer, everything was okay. Update is now working! :D
     
  7. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    Hmm. I'm getting the same error on my system. Funny, nothing has been added or changed in a very long time. The last def I was able to get is: 3219.

    I'll try a restart and see if that works.
    All my v2.7 clients have updated ok I believe.
     
  8. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,692
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Maybe it's a problem associated with only Vista? I am fully updated on my XP system. Definitions at 3222running Nod version 667.
     
  9. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    I'm running XP Pro SP2 and got the error.
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have seen a few reports of this today on perfectly working systems, installing a fresh copy over the existing installation resolved the issue in all cases (including mine a few months back).

    Cheers :D
     
  11. The_Worst

    The_Worst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I updated this morning with no problem. Strange, because a reboot yesterday didn't help. o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.