Unable update Adaware Personal SE

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by altkon, Nov 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. altkon

    altkon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Greetings to all fellow members.From a Newbee
    Would like to ask if any fellowmember facing problems to update current definitions of Lavasofts Adaware Personal SE freeware app.(v.1.6)
    Updates freezes at 5% or 30% when retrieving definitions.
    I had a flawless performance until a few weeks ago when
    Lavasoft decided to renovate its web site page.
    Tried to refresh install and all other FAQ recomendations
    but to no avail problem still persists.
    Any bright ideas of how to fix it.? ?
    Regards,
    altkon
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi altkon, hi Ron,

    LSStoffe from Lavasoft posted a few days ago at DSLR-security-forum that there was a complete server overhaul (server migration, website re-design, and (what I understood) probably more to come with respect to Security Center services).
    It's a long thread:
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,17235606

    PS:
    altkon, I don't know whether your update problems are related to that.
     
  4. altkon

    altkon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    FanJ !! Hi ...
    ________________________________________________________________
    quote "LSStoffe from Lavasoft posted a few days ago at DSLR-security-forum that there was a complete server overhaul (server migration, website re-design, and (what I understood) probably more to come with respect to Security Center services).
    It's a long thread:
    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,17235606"unquote.
    ________________________________________________________________
    Have resolved the problem manually thanks to your tip...
    My Ad-aware SE Personal definition file Update, is manually back, up and working fine now.
    What I did was locate server from :
    "82991911/public/defs.ref", save it to my PC and then copy and paste into folder called Ad-Aware SE Personal.
    I dont know however if it is going to update automatically from now or I will have to do it manually.
    Thanks a lot
    Regards,
    Andre
     
  5. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    free version- manual update
     
  6. Hydra

    Hydra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    Hi ..I have been using AdAware se 1.6 for ages. It always updated when I manually clicked for an update.
    For some weeks now it has not done that. I have checked firewall etc . Does any one know how to check that the Hosts file is not a problem ?
    I can get the updates in zip form from other sites ( Major Geeks etc ).
    I read that there is new Beta version of AdAware SE .(SE1B132)
    Does any one know where to find it ? I would like to try it . Maybe it will work .
     
  7. altkon

    altkon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Hydra!!

    I have resolved the same problem as follows:
    What I did was locate server from :
    "82991911/public/defs.ref", save it to my PC and then copy and paste into folder called Ad-Aware SE Personal.
    When I say locate server , I mean open the Lavasoft's Adaware site
    with its IP address which is "82991911/public/defs.ref", then
    download the update and save to your PC and then copy and paste
    to folder "Ad-aware SE Personal".
    You can open above folder as follows:
    Start>Programfiles>Lavasoft>Ad-aware SE Persoanal.
    Then you go and open your Ad-aware application on yr PC,
    and you will see that the update is loaded ,up and working.
    Good luck...
    Regards,
    Andre
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.