Unable to Update

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Shelb, Jan 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shelb

    Shelb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    Hello,
    I renewed my NOD32 License a few days ago and are now unable to update. Every time it tried to auto-update, I get an error message stating "incorrect url specified" This occurs regardless which address I choose for updating...even if I select "choose automatically". Still occurs even after reinstall. Any ideas?
    thanks,
    Shelby
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,298
    Location:
    Texas
    If that happened to me, I would reinstall, making sure I didn't touch the default settings for updating.
    Uninstall, delete the Eset folder in Program files, and reinstall.
     
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Shelb,

    According to the Eset FAQ,
    If it doesn't look like any of those items are pertinent, I would perform an uninstall, delete all the relevant folders (C:\PROGRAMS\ESET and all subfolders) that remain, download a fresh copy of the NOD32 install program, and try one last time. If that didn't work, I'd contact Eset directly.

    Blue

    edit - beat me to it ronjor!
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    64,298
    Location:
    Texas
    Other ideas are appreciated Blue. :)
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,411
    Hi Shelby,
    I suggest you save the HKLM\Software\Eset branch from the registry to a file and send it along with the Event log from your NOD32 Control Center as well as a link to this thread to support@eset.com
     
  6. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,661
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada

    when you say "renewed" - that did entail entering a new username and password right?
     
  7. Shelb

    Shelb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    Hello,
    Thanks for the responses. Sorry for the delay in checking back in. I will finally have some time to tackle this tonight.

    To answer your questions:
    I renewed the license and was sent a new user name and password which I pasted into the appropriate places. I think I was able to get one update before the error started occurring. I did try a complete reinstall with a fresh copy of the programs from the Eset website. Even tried a reinstall where I deleted the program directory and registry branch after uninstall/before reinstall.

    This evening I will send along the requested information per Macros repsonse.

    Thanks for all of your help! I will update this thread once get in touch with support.
     
  8. MarkJamesNodUK

    MarkJamesNodUK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    I would run a FULL system scan with a "Good" Antispyware App.
    These are MY personal favourites listed in Effectiveness againts Spyware:

    Counter Spy - www.sunbelt-software.com
    Microsoft Antispyware beta - www.microsoft.com
    .
    .
    .
    .
    Adware - www.lavasoft.de

    Mark
    Nod32UK Support
     
  9. Shelb

    Shelb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    Thank you for the advice. I scan with Ad Aware, Spybot S&D, and the MS Program regularly and are clean.

    I am still encountering the same problem despite the registry fix that you provided....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.