Unable to Update

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Shelb, Jan 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shelb

    Shelb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    Hello,
    I renewed my NOD32 License a few days ago and are now unable to update. Every time it tried to auto-update, I get an error message stating "incorrect url specified" This occurs regardless which address I choose for updating...even if I select "choose automatically". Still occurs even after reinstall. Any ideas?
    thanks,
    Shelby
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    If that happened to me, I would reinstall, making sure I didn't touch the default settings for updating.
    Uninstall, delete the Eset folder in Program files, and reinstall.
     
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Shelb,

    According to the Eset FAQ,
    If it doesn't look like any of those items are pertinent, I would perform an uninstall, delete all the relevant folders (C:\PROGRAMS\ESET and all subfolders) that remain, download a fresh copy of the NOD32 install program, and try one last time. If that didn't work, I'd contact Eset directly.

    Blue

    edit - beat me to it ronjor!
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    Other ideas are appreciated Blue. :)
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Hi Shelby,
    I suggest you save the HKLM\Software\Eset branch from the registry to a file and send it along with the Event log from your NOD32 Control Center as well as a link to this thread to support@eset.com
     
  6. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada

    when you say "renewed" - that did entail entering a new username and password right?
     
  7. Shelb

    Shelb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    Hello,
    Thanks for the responses. Sorry for the delay in checking back in. I will finally have some time to tackle this tonight.

    To answer your questions:
    I renewed the license and was sent a new user name and password which I pasted into the appropriate places. I think I was able to get one update before the error started occurring. I did try a complete reinstall with a fresh copy of the programs from the Eset website. Even tried a reinstall where I deleted the program directory and registry branch after uninstall/before reinstall.

    This evening I will send along the requested information per Macros repsonse.

    Thanks for all of your help! I will update this thread once get in touch with support.
     
  8. MarkJamesNodUK

    MarkJamesNodUK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Posts:
    26
    I would run a FULL system scan with a "Good" Antispyware App.
    These are MY personal favourites listed in Effectiveness againts Spyware:

    Counter Spy - www.sunbelt-software.com
    Microsoft Antispyware beta - www.microsoft.com
    .
    .
    .
    .
    Adware - www.lavasoft.de

    Mark
    Nod32UK Support
     
  9. Shelb

    Shelb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    76
    Thank you for the advice. I scan with Ad Aware, Spybot S&D, and the MS Program regularly and are clean.

    I am still encountering the same problem despite the registry fix that you provided....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.