Unable to uninstall OSS

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by sailkansas, Apr 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sailkansas

    sailkansas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I had 4 partitions on my Vista Dell xps1530. OSS would load at bootup and then freeze the pc. I eventually booted to vista and uninstalled oss. However it would not uninstall. I uninstalled DD10 but OSS still starts at bootup and freezes the pc. I used the vista factory iso image after reformatting my hard drive. I still have OSS starting at bootup and freezing pc when acronis tries to load. How do I uninstall OSS. Help would be greatly appreciated. Gene Vialle
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Is OSS booting to the OSS menu when you start the computer or is it only having a problem when you start Windows?

    Or are you getting a OSS error and no menu?

    Replacing/repairing the MBR should remove OSS so it doesn't start when the computer boots. Also make sure the oss_reinstall.exe service is not running as it will attempt to reactivate/repair OSS when Windows starts.
     
  3. sailkansas

    sailkansas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Mudcrab, The DOS looking screen which starts with "Acronis loading" is where the program stalls now. I have to turn off the PC with the power button. I now use a function key to preempt into round about to open windows. I do not know how to reload the default MBR. Is that beyond the scope of this forum to find out how to accomplish that. Thank you very much for your ongoing help. Gene Vialle
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Will your Vista DVD (if you have one) let you boot into the Repair mode and then the Command Prompt?

    If it will, you would need to run the following command to restore the Vista MBR (<ENTER> means to press the ENTER key):
    Code:
    bootrec /FixMbr [COLOR="blue"]<ENTER>[/COLOR]
    For more information on bootrec, see here.

    The automatic Repair function from the Vista DVD may also fix the problem.
     
  5. sailkansas

    sailkansas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    I am out of town for a few days. I will read the linked MS support page and give the repair a try. Thank you, Mudcrab, Gene Vialle
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.