Unable to Restore!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cirrus, Dec 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cirrus

    cirrus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I'm running Acronis TI 8.0 and I'm attempting to restore an image I have stored on an external WD firewire to my new SATA HD. The ATI8 startup disk will not reckognize the SATA HD. I even installed XP Pro on the new HD and it still went unreckognized.

    What's going on--how do I restore?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello cirrus,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept my apologies for the delay with the response.

    Please make sure that you use the latest build (937) of Acronis True Image 8.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update, boot your PC from this CD and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists with Bootable Rescue CD created using the latest build (937) of Acronis True Image 8.0 then I would also recommend you to try the "acpi=off noapic" workaround described in Acronis Help Post.

    If that does not help then please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If you are not able to create sysinfo.txt file for some reason then please boot from the Acronis True Image 9.0 rescue disc once more and press F11 key when the selection screen appears. After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please remove the "quiet" word, click on the OK button. As the startup messages stop scrolling please write down the last few lines of the output, or use a digital camera to make shots of the output screens.

    Please also collect the following information:

    - What are the exact vendors and models of your SATA controller and SATA hard drive?

    - Download and install the free trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0, create new Bootable Rescue CD, boot your PC from this CD and see if the problem still persists;

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the information about your purchase of Acronis software (order number, e-mail, where did you purchase our product, etc.) and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  3. Dieter Bressem

    Dieter Bressem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Cirrus,

    same problem here. I have a brand new machine AMD 4400+, 2 WD-SATA-DISKS, no RAID activated.
    The first Harddisk (C) is recognized but I can't save to the second (G). Though it is recognized as a WD-Disk it is greyed out.
    Also using your version. Downloaded the latest evaluation 9.0 Build 2323 but was not able to create a bootable CD, I think it is disabled in the evaluation (o_O)
    Tried to save DISK C on a portable 300 GB USB-Disk, this also fails.

    BTW DRIVEMAGE 2002 is able to save to the USB-Device, but didn't detect the second Disk either.
    Will install the latest version again to see if I it is working within XP, but I need a CD-Version. If the the machine isn't booting the OS there will be no chance without a bootable Media.

    Regards
    Dieter
     
  4. Dieter Bressem

    Dieter Bressem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Cirrus,

    I'm again. Just a warning: stop wasting your time trying the latest version.
    same as before.

    Message:
    DISK2 - Dynamic
    The disk contains an unsupported structure


    It is exactly the same as Disk1 !!!.

    It will be the best to copy all file 1:1 to an external media or Network Drive, using ZIP, RAR or anything else.
    I really would buy the product, if it is working, but now I deinstall everything and give up.

    Regards
    Dieter
     
  5. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I have a WD SATA drive that TI recognizes as a second drive with my images stored on it. There may be a clue in the posted error message, the word Dynamic, if it is referring to dynamic disks then AFAIK TI doesn't support dynamic disks.
     
  6. Dan M

    Dan M Guest

    I realized in my last backup struggle with the Oct. 5, v9 that it does not recognize dynamic discs. I reformatted the disc and then TI recognized it. Still had many problems restoring w/ version 9, though. Everything worked finally after I booted with a v.8 CD.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.