Unable to restore Vista system with TI10

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by williamtell, Mar 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. williamtell

    williamtell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I have used full system restore with ATI10 with an XP system with no problems whatsoever.
    My Dell XPS1330 laptop's HDD was noisy so before Dell turned up to replace the drive i took a complete system backup of the drive expecting to just whack it back on again after but it seems it has other ideas.

    I boot off the Acronis bootable CD i created,
    goto full version option
    goto recovery
    restore wizard
    it analyzes the partitions
    i then find and select the .TIB file on the connected USB HDD
    i select restore disks and partitions
    select disk1 (all boxes then selected below), click next
    then the system completely hangs and if i touch the mouse button or any other key it immediately bleeps.

    If i load Vista first
    it goes through all the motions then hangs on the last part where it looks like it's going to load data onto the HDD. i have actually have it start to do this with some data going on and left it over night but still it hung.
    i have verified the .TIB file in question and it's fine.

    Will upgrading to later version of TI solve this as I'm stuffed not being able to get all my data off.
    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Are you using the latest build of TI 10 (4,942)?

    Have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    Have you tried the Safe Mode version of TI? If the BIOS supports it, this version can see USB drives. It can be slow, but it can work.
     
  3. williamtell

    williamtell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Mudcrab,
    Yes i'm using latest version of TI10
    I had already tried the Quite ACPI fix
    and when i do safemode it only see drive C on the lappy not my external HDD
    Any other things i can try?:(
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    One thing to try is download the Trial of ver. 2009, make the Rescue CD and do the restore with that CD.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    williamtell, you can Repair BCD on the recovered system.

    1. Put the Windows Vista installation disc in the CD\DVD disc drive, and then (re)start the computer;
    2. Press a key when you are prompted;
    3. Select language, time, currency, keyboard or input method, and then click Next;
    4. Click Repair your computer;
    5. Click the operating system that you want to repair, and then click Next;
    6. In the System Recovery Options dialog box click Command Prompt;
    7. Type the following:
    Bootrec.exe /FixMbr
    Bootrec.exe /FixBoot

    If you want to completely rebuild Boot Configuration Data, then you should issue the following command:
    Bootrec.exe /RebuildBcd

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  6. williamtell

    williamtell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Sorry but I'm unsure what fixing the BCD means?
    the HDD I'm restoring to has a vanilla version of Vista on. Getting that up and running is not a problem just restoring the .TIB which i created before the drive was replaced.
    I'm in the process of trying to download TI 2009 but it stops at various different points and has to be restarted. I've tried at least 10 times now.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello williamtell,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    I suppose I misunderstood you, I thought you are unable to boot into Windows. The note is related to the following statement:

    Also,

    I have sent a link to you via PM. Please try to download the file again.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.