Unable to manage a Windows Vista Beta 2 5384.4 installation

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by andrealoc, Jun 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andrealoc

    andrealoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Dear Acronis

    - Have Windows XP SP2 installed in primary partition C:
    - Installed Acronis Disk Director Suite 10
    - Created and formatted a new F: primary partition
    - Followed instructions to install a new "windows like" operating system (chapter 8.1 of manual)
    - Installed Vista Beta 2 5384.4
    - Rebooting my PC... it hangs and cannot see the new Vista O.S. installation.
    - After having reactivated Boot Selector... it doesn't recognize Windows Vista as an existing O.S. and continue to see only the old XP installation

    Please, don't say "Vista is not supported". Please make available a.s.a.p. an update to manage it!!!

    Andrea
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2006
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Andrea,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    I'm afraid that we cannot release a version of a product which supports a beta version of any operating system until the final version of it is released. Moreover, we can inform you that Windows Vista was not tested with any of Acronis Products yet.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  3. microbus

    microbus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Andrea,
    I also have installed Acronis, and Windows Vista Beta 2.

    You can disable the OS selector, and then Windows Vista boots directly. It is a hassle to do this, but at least it works. To return to your WinXP partition, you will need to use the Acronis Startup disk and activate the Winxp OS.

    BTW, I made an Acronis startup disk before anything else was done.

    Good luck.

    Microbus Henry
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Henry,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Partition and Disk Managing Software.

    Sharing your experience is very much appreciated.

    If you have any further experience to share, please feel free to post it on this forum.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  5. jackman

    jackman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    I have also installed beta 2 on a separate partition, and it is not detected, however, big M, in a move that will be conveint now and extremly annoying later, has placed its own boot manager on my primary active windows partition(when i choose to boot into windows xp it gives me a choice of booting into Microsoft Windows(default) or an earlier windows version(win xp)).

    Windows Vista can also detect all partitions, even w/ "force hiding partitions enabled"
     
  6. matulike

    matulike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Surely if we can find out what the file Vista uses to boot, we can configure Acvonis boot loader to fond that file? No?!
     
  7. Batfink

    Batfink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    78
    Works fine for me... I have XP on one partition, Vista on a nother.. and OS selector works fine..... I installed XP first, the OSS, booted into XP to make sure all ok.... rebooted with Vista DVD in, but ran it from the OSS boot from cd icon... once Vista installed, use your recovery cd to reactivate OSS (which becomes deactivated due to Vista boot manager - which is no longer boot.ini)... and hey presto!!

    Note to Acronis Support.. exactly why can you not build compatibility for Vista in your software.. you know its comming, is it not best to prepare now, and stay ahead of competition, give yourself the edge...o_O So many other developers have allowed vista compatibility...

    Wasnt ito_O I think you will find many users have tried, I personally use OSS to boot between XP and Vista, and use True Image to backup and restpre the Vista partition.. with no probs.. I suggest you pull your finger out, and jump on the vista bandwagon before you get lost in a trail of dust!!!
     
  8. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    There is of course always the possibilty that MS might change something or two between RC1 and final release. They did this between RC2 and final release of XP - though mainly with strange things like tags etc for Office intergration.

    Colin
     
  9. auutumn

    auutumn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    What if you have a new partition but it doesn't show up when installing Vista, then what?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.