ubuntu hardy heron aka 8.04 is here

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by clansman77, Apr 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. clansman77

    clansman77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    kochi,kerala,india
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Managed to download it today but most of the servers seem pretty overloaded. Installed tonight and it looks very nice, as usual. Going to stick with it I think. I wasn't able to update the repo's yet or install other software, but I think as soon as things settle down in a day or two, then everything will be fine. Just too much traffic right now. But this is one nice distro, currently my #1 choice...
     
  3. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    I was only getting slow speeds, but it was done overnight and now on emule.
    Always handy to have as a good live cd.
     
  4. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Yeh, servers seems pretty busy. I've been trying to upgrade gutsy but so far no success.
     
  5. chrome_sturmen

    chrome_sturmen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    785
    Location:
    Sverige
    holding out on this end for the build "insatiable seal"
     
  6. Beavenburt

    Beavenburt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    566
    Did an upgrade over night, took about 3 hours. Will have a play after work.
     
  7. glentrino2duo

    glentrino2duo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    310
    downloaded in less than an hour thru australia internode mirror and installed in a few minutes, really better than gutsy! :)
     
  8. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Ran the upgrade which took overnight. All seemed to go well except Firefox is still at 2.0.0.14. I thought it should upgrade to the 3.0 beta ?? I've no chance to check things out further until late this afternoon.
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I did a clean install of 8.04 and got Firefox 3 beta 5 I believe...
     
  10. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,699
    Hello,
    I'll be checking it soon. Too busy right now studying for LPIC-2 and writing a book ... Good news, got apache, dns, nis, and some more covered. 270 pages so far, har, har.
    Mrk
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    So far so good here. I've seen a few bugs, or perhaps just quirks, but nothing of much substance. Seems very nice, much like 7.10, which had no issues for me. This could be my final transition to Linux for good, not sure yet. There is always the temptation to return to Win for various reasons, but this looks like the one I could stick with... we'll see..
     
  12. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    It's very stable but there seems to be a rather large memory leak in it and it doesn't appear to be as efficient in the way that it uses CPU as Gutsy. That's judging from the very flashy System Monitor though Conky gives somewhat similar results. I've been running it since Wednesday afternoon, got the final Wednesday night and since then there have been no updates which kind of surprises me.
     
  13. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    What makes you think there is a large memory leak?
     
  14. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    I typically listen to Last FM or to my music collection on Exaile while I'm browsing and I might have the odd Torrent on the go as well. I never saw Gutsy exceed 45% RAM in the 5 months that I used it. Usually it operated at around 33% of RAM even while using the AWN Dock.

    Hardy was using 20% more RAM for the same tasks all this morning.

    Right now I'm downloading the 64 bit version of Hardy, scrobbling with Last FM and writing this in FF 3 and while memory has dropped back to 45%, it's still high compared to what I'm used to.

    Incidentally, I'm not using any of the Compiz bling or the AWN dock ATM.
     
  15. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Ubuntu, and Linux distros in general will usually try to use up as much available ram as possible, a lot for buffers and caching, etc.. I have only 512mb here, but Ubuntu 8.04 is using over 500 of that, leaving nearly nothing. 7.10 did the same, as do most other distros on this PC. I'm not sure what usage would look like with 1 gig or more ram though. But Linux is fundamentally different from Win in that it will usually make good use of as much ram as it can for various things. That's a good thing.
     
  16. tlu

    tlu Guest

    Upgrade from Gutsy via the Alternate CD went smoothly. However, I switched back to Gutsy in the meantime since I found no solution for the problem that my two harddisks were only running with UDMA2 due to this bug. Now they are again on UDMA5 and 6.:)
     
  17. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Yeah, after a few days of use, I ran into a few glitches and bugs, and one very annoying one that caused Ubuntu to just hang on shutdown more than a few times.. So it seems there is some work to be done on it yet.. I am back to Win for now, but if I ran Ubuntu again, I'd stick with 7.10 for a while.
     
  18. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    I tend to agree. 8.04 just seems a bit sluggish compared to 7.10, though the proprietary nVidia accelerated driver has helped. However, unless I encounter any serious issues, I'll stick with 8.04, anyways.
     
  19. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,524
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Why'd they release it if t'wasn't ready? :eek:
     
  20. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I suppose they thought it was ready enough, and perhaps it is for most. Then on the other hand, they're on a 6 month April/October release schedule, so I don't think they could have delayed it much longer anyway....
     
  21. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Personally i've found 8.04 to run fine so far. Only thing i've had to do was iron out some small bugs with virtualbox. Other than that its been smooth sailing. I did have problems with the upgrade from gutsy so i ended up just doin a fresh install of 8.04.
     
  22. clansman77

    clansman77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    kochi,kerala,india
    did a clean install of the 32bit version.everything is working perfectly and smooth.i think this is the best release for me so far..
     
  23. Beavenburt

    Beavenburt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Posts:
    566
    Well did the upgrade and my PC crashed. I really couldn't be bothered to find out the problem so did a clean install and all is working just fine. Has the usual great detection of networks, propriorty drivers, printers etc. Will keep playing.
     
  24. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Xubuntu: going good.
    out with Totem in with MPlayer: all good, updated all good.
    All FF extensions ( and Ubuntu extensions) going well with FF3beta.
    ( even dev build of TabMixPlus stable; heh: stressed it with 60 open windows and fiddling about: nice)
    No HW issues in VMware install. No interest in whizzywindows or whatever.

    ( Still not as good as PCLOS or Mepis though. :D )
     
  25. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    Mine is working really well now; it always was but System Monitor had been giving me false readings and I'm now using Htop in place of it and the CPU usage analysis it's showing is what I would expect. So Hardy is working normally.

    I'm using Flock as my main browser, FF Beta 5 is consuming too many resources, it appears.

    I can live with a couple of bugs. This release is far more stable than Gutsy was at the same stage.

    I had big problems with Gutsy for the first five weeks what with Nautilus (crashing), FF (crashing) and Adobe Flash.

    None of those problems have afflicted Hardy.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2008
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.