Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope - Review

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Mrkvonic, Apr 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,700
    Hi all,

    I've written a very long, extensive review of Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope, the latest Ubuntu edition slated for release in about two weeks, including live CD session experience and installation, and covering topics like Wireless, Bluetooth, Samba sharing, new EXT4 filesystem, MP3 codecs, Flash Player, web camera, new applications, games, third party programs like Skype, Picasa, Java, Real Player, Google Earth, and more.

    http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/ubuntu-9-4.html


    I believe you won't be disappointed.

    Comments and suggestions are most welcome.

    Regards,
    Mrk
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    nice review as always.
    im gonna try the live cd when it becomes final.
    ive tryed the beta in virtualbox and seems decent.
    im also trying fedora 11 beta in virtualbox.
    im undecided on what im gonna use this time round as a dualboot.
    currently using fedora 10.
    btw if you do a fedora 11 reivew you may want to look at autoten
     
  3. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,700
    I'm writing Fedora article as we speak; autoten seems like a nice thing. Thanks!
    Mrk
     
  4. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    For a moment I actually thought Jaunty had RealPlayer as part of its default install. Thank god that's not the case.

    Lack of video card drivers sounds worrying. Hmm.
     
  5. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Nice comprehensive review and appreciated like all the others. :)

    Lesson I have learnt is not to despair if something doesn't work either
    with live cd or after initial install to HD. I had absolutely no wireless
    with Intrepid, both using live cd and after install. However updating
    after install pulled in the required driver.

    Regards.
     
  6. Eice

    Eice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Posts:
    1,413
    I assume you updated using a wired connection. Not all of us have access to that. :(
     
  7. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Thanks mate, will definitly read it when I find some time.
     
  8. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Right you are - ADSL wired router + wap. Sorry, but at least some will have
    access to a wired connection. :)
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    your welcome.
    btw the icon in the menu doesnt work but if you run it from the desktop icon it works.
    it also works if you type autoten in to the deskbar.

    to get codecs to install simply install rpm fusion first then open up for example rythumbox and it will then come up with a do you want to install the plugins like ubuntu does.
    if you dont install rpm fusion first you will get the do you want to buy codecs dialog instead.
     
  10. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,700
    I have it differently. No prompt to install codecs at all. Added repos manually and installed them. It was like you say on Cambridge, but it looks different on Leonidas.

    But we're offtopic here :) Wait a week and we'll discuss it.

    Mrk
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Nice review Mrk, I am looking forward to installing it on my 2nd HD here along side Debian. I always manually install the ATI drivers from the ATI site myself, after having some probs with the ones offered by Ubuntu in the past. Hopefully the ones off the ATI site will work well with 9.04.
     
  12. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Almost all Ubuntu users with high end nvidia or ati cards install drivers from the manufacturer's site rather than repos to get better performance. Its a beta and by the time Ubuntu releases it, lots of issues would be weeded out.
     
  13. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Heh heh: catching up to Wolvix.
    I haven't tried this release yet: some disappointing aspects in your review, particularly by your comparisons with earlier releases.
    As ever nice work, appreciate it.
     
  14. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Thanks for the review Mrk.

    How is it generally when you update an existing Ubuntu to a new version, is it safe or is a clean install prefered?
    I really wouldnt want all the configurations I have done to disappear..
    I cant even remember all the configurations/tweaks I have done, so it would not be nice to have to do it all again :)
     
  15. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Updates are usually issueless unless you have installed and added your own repos and debs. Also configuring Ubuntu with your own settings can get into some incompatibilities, otherwise stock Ubuntu updates fine. I keep my data on a separate drive or partition and clean install newer versions personally.
     
  16. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,700
    I don't usually upgrade, because my configurations are rather complex. It would be interesting to see whether such an attempt would succeed :) I might try it, just for the sport.

    Mrk
     
  17. incursari

    incursari Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    SG
    I tried the Live CD.. nice.
     
  18. lewmur

    lewmur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Posts:
    332
    This doesn't save all of the configuration tweaks but it helps. Put your /home folder on a separate partition. Then when you do a fresh install don't format that partition. Also, if you multi-boot distros, you can have the same /home for all of them.

    I assume when you are asking about upgrading, you are talking about when the final is released. I'd, personally, never upgrade to a beta. I just test them in Vbox.
     
  19. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    I see Jaunty uses ext4 file system. I would be interested to know whether
    imaging programs like CloneZilla or Remastersys will be happy with ext4.
    (Remastersys site states "Hardy and newer Ubuntu versions")
    Regards.
     
  20. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    how do I get ubuntu to show verbose boot?
     
  21. Arup

    Arup Guest

  22. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Will the Ubuntu auto update to this versiono_O
     
  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I just hate the theme/ look/ appearance and all brown look of Ubuntu. Not apppealing to me at all.

    New Wave theme look much acceptable. I know you can have many themes availavle on net bit IMO most of them are either cheepish looking or a poor copy of vista/ Mac styles etc.
     
  24. Riverrun

    Riverrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Posts:
    376
    Location:
    ~
    Thanks for the review, Mrkvonic. Just a week to go now and though Ibex is working fine I suppose I'll go ahead and update anyhow.

    BTW, I see that your PCLOS review got 500 + Diggs!

    It goes to show, there are lots of people using Linux these days.
     
  25. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    Nice review Mrk.

    I've tried the live-cd, had the same trouble as with 8.10, no wired connection.
    Apparently this is a bug in NetworkManager.
    I couldn't set a fixed IP, it wouldn't "stick".

    Did anybody else have this trouble?

    The rest was oke and worked flawless on my machine.

    Lamehand
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.