Ubuntu 16.04.1

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by Joxx, Jul 21, 2016.

  1. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,127
  2. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,127
    Tried it on a spare partition only to find the wireless card bug to still be there, other issues too.
    Why the idea of Windows 10 doesn't sound so preposterous any more... ? Is it because I'm forced online for a calculator that has an M- button ?

    Little things can be trying.
     
  3. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    What is the bug, exactly?

    Why are you forced to use that online calculator?
     
  4. MsFluffyMuffin

    MsFluffyMuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Joxx like many people (inc. myself) have found that most Linux calculators are missing and lacking in even many of the basic common functions that even a cheap basic store brought calculator has, such as memory functions to store answers to use later for adding or subtracting when you doing equations or formulas, only way around it is to either have a very good memory, paste them into a text editor or write them down on a piece of paper, all are not very practical compared to having the functions in the first place. I have given up on the Linux calculators and use a cheap store brought one that cost me only 1 pound, it makes the Linux software ones look pretty bad in comparison sadly :(
     
  5. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    KCalc, from KDE, has an "Add display to Memory" function, one "Memory Store", and also one "Memory Recall". Is that similar to what you want?
    I think you can simply do "apt install kcalk" to install it.
     
  6. MsFluffyMuffin

    MsFluffyMuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    That's a pretty nice calculator, I have Galculator which is similar to KCalc, while they both have most of the M functions they are missing "M-" which is the subtract version of "M+" which many people miss, but at least they both have other memory functions, the Linux Mint calculator for example has no memory functions of any kind :(

    I do a lot of scripting that often has different equations or algorithms, so having memory functions while I'am working out the maths or the bugs in the maths is really handy for me, and I'm sure many other people find it equally as handy to. I have dyslexia, dyspraxia and some other things so its hard for me to do the maths as it is and having these memory functions makes it easier for me to script :)
     
  7. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,127
    With live USB I have to tell the password twice for it to be recognized.
    After install I have to tell the password again only to do it one more time at next reboot.
    Like MsFluffyMuffin said (what a gorgeous name :D) there's no calculator in Linux with the M- button, and many have no M buttons at all, ridiculous .
     
  8. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    730
    I suggest that you try Speedcrunch. It should be available for most distros ( it is, e.g., in Fedora, and it's in the AUR for Arch). It doesn't have M+ and M- buttons either, but you configure it to always show a history window with all previous entries which can be selected with the mouse cursor. This essentialy replaces the M buttons. Speedcrunch is rather flexible and offers constants, functions etc.
     
  9. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    You didn't read my other post :/
     
  10. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,127
    Yes I did (about KCalc right?)
    it's better than the others but no M- button
     
  11. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,989
    Location:
    Brasil
    Would that be to clear the memory?
     
  12. MsFluffyMuffin

    MsFluffyMuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    I know SpeedCrunch on Windows has the M functions, but in Linux the most current version I know of is 10.1 which is missing all the M functions sadly, trying to find out if v11 is available for Linux and where to get it, looks like might have to compile from the source files from what I have read, unfortunately I have never done this as I'm still relatively new to Linux, so have no clue how to go about this :(

    If anyone knows how to build SpeedCrunch that would be great, I might have some of the build environment already as I was trying to learn QT Creator not so long ago, so I could give building SpeedCrunch ago :)
     
  13. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,127
    No, it's to subtract from memory; I can't use a calculator without it. The absence of a M- button in all Linux calcs is one of the things getting on my nerves; the other is that I miss lots of Windows-only programs :'(
     
  14. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    1,065
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Could using the +/- (change sign) function and then M+ be a solution to your issue?
    It should have the same result as M-
     
  15. MsFluffyMuffin

    MsFluffyMuffin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    I have set up a build environment to build SpeedCrunch 0.11 but having some issues with CMake and QT5 , errors seems to suggest CMake is having issues finding QT5 or some part of it, not sure how to resolve this right now and kind of lost :(

    Here's the first error I'm getting, but the others are similar:-

    CMake Warning at CMakeLists.txt:11 (find_package):
    By not providing "FindQt5Core.cmake" in CMAKE_MODULE_PATH this project has
    asked CMake to find a package configuration file provided by "Qt5Core", but
    CMake did not find one.

    Could not find a package configuration file provided by "Qt5Core" with any
    of the following names:

    Qt5CoreConfig.cmake
    qt5core-config.cmake

    Add the installation prefix of "Qt5Core" to CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH or set
    "Qt5Core_DIR" to a directory containing one of the above files. If
    "Qt5Core" provides a separate development package or SDK, be sure it has
    been installed.
     
  16. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,127
    It doesn't cover all situations but it's a workaround, thanks.
     
  17. linuxforall

    linuxforall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Posts:
    2,136
    Qalculate has the most features in any calculator I know including advanced functions for science and business and economics as well as for currency conversion. Nothing in Windows world comes close.
     
  18. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,166
    Location:
    EU
    Installed 16.04.1 (Ubuntu Gnome) to replace Fedora23. I was very happy with Fedora actually but at this time I do not want to upgrade every 6 months or so.
    No issues to report, so far.
     
  19. accessgranted

    accessgranted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Posts:
    182
    Ubuntu 16.04.1 runs perfectly on both desktop and laptop for me. All issues from the few first weeks are gone. Back to favorite place as far as I'm concerned. Arch and CentOS sharing second and third places ex aequo.
     
  20. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,441
    To find out Ubuntu point release - lsb_release -a command in terminal.

    It should display current version, i.e 16.04.1
     
Loading...