µBlock, a lean and fast blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gorhill, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Italy
    The largest decrease in filters occurs for Uncloak canonical names.
     
  2. Jan Willy

    Jan Willy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2021
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Netherlands
    This can be done on DNS-level.
     
  3. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Italy
    Certainly.
    But what happens if the dns is temporarily down?
     
  4. Jan Willy

    Jan Willy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2021
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Netherlands
    That would be the optimal protection of your privacy. ;) But, seriously I never experienced it. I use NextDNS.
     
  5. Jan Willy

    Jan Willy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2021
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Netherlands
  6. Jan Willy

    Jan Willy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2021
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Netherlands
    However, uBlock Origin handles filterlists in a very efficient way. Only many cosmetic filterrules could really slowdown your browsing.
     
  7. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    2,304
    Location:
    Italy
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,282
    uBlock Origin 1.39.2 Released (November 30, 2021)
    Download - 1.39.2 - Firefox (AMO)
    Download - 1.39.2 - Chrome (Web Store)
    Download - 1.39.2 - Opera (Opera Addons)
    Download - 1.39.2 - Edge (Microsoft Edge Addons)
    Download - 1.15.24 - Edge Legacy (Microsoft Store) (retired addon)
    It will take some time until the new version will be available on AMO, Chrome Web Store, etc.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2021
  9. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,501
    Location:
    Canada
    Is anyone using uBlock Origin in Microsoft Edge running on Linux? I can't import my backed up settings under: Settings-> Restore from file...
     
  10. nicolaasjan

    nicolaasjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Just tested this in a Debian 10 VM snapshot, because I will never install Edge for real on Linux. :eek:

    But, to answer your question:
    It worked. :)
     
  11. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,501
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you for testing this, nicolaasjan. For some reason nothing at all gets imported when I try it. When I click on Open for the file I want to import, I don't even get the prompt "All your setting will be overwritten..." This is on MX-19
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2021
  12. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,501
    Location:
    Canada
    I found a kind of workaround. I copied and pasted "My Filters" and "My Rules" from Firefox.

    Actually, exporting Settings works fine, just not Importing.
     
  13. nicolaasjan

    nicolaasjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What just crossed my mind. Do you use the Edge version of uBO?
    I tested with the version from the Chrome web store.
     
  14. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,501
    Location:
    Canada
    That was the first one I tried that failed to import, then I tried the one from Chrome web store, and that also failed.
     
  15. nicolaasjan

    nicolaasjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Very strange, but maybe someone over at the uBO Reddit sub knows more.
     
  16. nicolaasjan

    nicolaasjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    And when you try in a new test profile of Firefox with uBO?
     
  17. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,501
    Location:
    Canada
    Not sure I understand your question, but no issues with Firefox, just Edge for Linux. All I did was copy the "My Filters" and "My Rules" entries from Firefox uBO and pasted them into the same uBO fields installed in Edge.

    Speculating maybe it was the Edge sandbox, I launched it with the "--disable-seccomp-filter-sandbox" flag, but no luck.
     
  18. nicolaasjan

    nicolaasjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I meant importing the exported uBO settings from your main Firefox profile in a test Firefox profile.
     
  19. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,501
    Location:
    Canada
    Oh I see, thanks for clarifying. That didn't work either. The copy/paste method is fine with me. Actually, the main reason I installed Edge on Linux was so that I could watch streaming Netflix content. It breaks in both latest Firefox and the ESR version. Lo and behold, even with Edge I had to install a user-agent switcher extension to get Netflix to stream :(

    Thanks again for your help!
     
  20. nicolaasjan

    nicolaasjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    That's even weirder...
    I never have issues with importing the settings, even from Firefox to Chromium.
    I see.
    Is that because Chromium can't play DRM protected content?

    Maybe useful:
    https://www.andreafortuna.org/2019/09/24/how-to-install-latest-widevine-plugin-on-chromium/
     
  21. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,501
    Location:
    Canada
    No I think Chrome would have worked fine, but I was intrigued to see what Edge was like on Linux :)
     
  22. nicolaasjan

    nicolaasjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Chrome ≠ Chromium ;)
    For example in the Linux Mint Chromium version the widevine plugin is not included.
     
  23. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,501
    Location:
    Canada
    You”re right. It was a “Freudian Slip” when I mentioned Chrome instead of Chromium :D
     
  24. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,280
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
  25. nicolaasjan

    nicolaasjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Is already patched. :)

     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.