µBlock, a lean and fast blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gorhill, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. okiehsch

    okiehsch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    West Coast
    I can reproduce the broken layout, there is no strict blocking involved. It appears to be geo dependent. I can reproduce the breakage with a US IP on the first page load. No breakage if I use a EU IP.
    Code:
    @@||guce.advertising.com/collectIdentifiers?sessionId$css,script,domain=techcrunch.com
    fixes the issue.
    I can only reproduce the breakage after I delete cookies and I can simply reload and the site works fine, so I am not sure if the exception is really necessary.
     
  2. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,944
    I have the same feeling too, I mentioned it only because I thought it may be what @Rasheed187 experienced, but given he is inside EU probably not. Thank you for taking your time for confirmation.
     
  3. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    279
    Location:
    Milan, Italia
    Same here from U.S. ISP. Breakage resolves on page reload.
     
  4. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,416
    Location:
    .
    Confirming .... Annoyances moves on new installs, for me. 1.24.2
    png_4096.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2020
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,507
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    = Error 404.
     
  6. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,199
    Sorry, I deleted the post because of that. I was getting an Adblocker pop-up that kept me from reading a review of the moto g7. I noticed that ublock filters - Annoyances was not checked and tried that which got rid of the popup.
     
  7. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,655
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Does anyone know of a filter I can use to get rid of the pop-under banner at foxnews?

    2020-01-23 18.50.21 www.foxnews.com 9228d5f720e3.png
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,507
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    No banner viewing that site with NoScript enabled. :p
     
  9. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,944
    Not reproduced on Firefox 72.0.2/Brave 1.2.43 w/ uBO 1.24.2 default settings tested from Japan, US, France, and German IP but you seem to use AdGuard for Windows, not uBO. A filter for uBO does not necessarily work for AG so you asked in wrong place. Anyway not reproduced on AG extension v3.3.4 too w/ Base filter & Tracking Protection filter only.
     
  10. okiehsch

    okiehsch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    West Coast
    I can't reproduce but the banner looks familiar.
    Does adding
    Code:
    foxnews.com##+js(nostif, removeChild, 100)
    to your filter list work for you?

    Edit: OK, if you are using Adguard as mentioned by Yuki2718 that won't work obviously.

    Code:
    @@||foxnews.com^$generichide
    might do the trick.
     
  11. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,944
    Depending on what filters he uses (I mean, generic or not), that can make the site quite ugly. Maybe he can test AG version of your first filter:
    Code:
    foxnews.com#%#//scriptlet("prevent-setTimeout", "removeChild", "100")
    [EDIT] I found actually AGBF replaced some of generic cosmetic filters on Foxnews in EL with non-generic filters.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2020
  12. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,655
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Wow. Thank you! That filter seems to work.
     
  13. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,480
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You're right about yahoo.com, but the only way I can make techcrunch.com load correctly with sidebar and news articles when you scroll down, is by enabling yimg.com, so the box must be green. Don't ask me why, I don't know if it's blocked by my personal filters or some filter list.

    Perhaps you're right, but what I meant is that even with these tweaks, it still looks ugly. DuckDuckGo looks way better, I believe this is a huge blunder that Google made.

    Actually, I switched from uMatrix to uBlock Origin because it was way too complex for me. I have to say that uBlock almost never causes any big problems. I've also noticed that anti-adblockers can spot Adblock Plus much easier than uBlock.
     
  14. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    8,477
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    And that's a HUGE PLUS because those dirt sucking dogs are always actively trying to prove they can slip thru and throw up some ignorant confirmation to our AdBlocking efforts.
     
  15. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,944
    I doubt you can't test it by turning on and off each filter list. As @summerheat suggested, never ever take reporting a problem means throwing your homework to others; you yourself must also make effort to find or narrow down the cause of the problem.
    BTW you replied in wrong thread.;)
     
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,480
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, I replied twice, my mistake. But like I said, allowing yimg.com is the only way I can unbreak techcrunch.com. So are you saying that on your machine you don't have this problem? Like I said, I have no clue why this is the case, I'm no expert on this subject.
     
  17. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,944
    I don't have and apparently most of others not too. I meant you can turn on and off each filter list (e.g. EasyList, EasyPrivacy, etc.) one by one to at least narrow down the cause, then we can evaluate that filter. Note allowing yimg.com means any ads and tracker from that domain on the site, not only the one causing your problem, will not be blocked.
     
  18. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    25,303
  19. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    784
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I'm looking for somebody to explain this to me.

    Using Chrome I login to https://www.gumtree.com.au/. If after using Gumtree I immediately logout I am logged out of Google, so no sync, Gmail or Calendar. However, if I don't log out of Gumtree but close Chrome Google remains logged in on restart.

    Using Brave to login I can logout of Gumtree immediately and Google remains signed-in.

    What do I need to allow in Ublock for Chrome to work like Brave? What do I need to look for?
     
  20. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,155
    not sure if uBo can solve your isses - because uBo cant work on cookies or webstorage.
     
  21. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,944
    So you used Sign in with Google. It doesn't sound like a uBO issue. Turn "Allow Chrome sing-in" off under Privacy and Security setting in Chrome. Disabling "Identity consistency between browser and cookie jar" at chrome://flags (#account-consistency) may also help. If they didn't work, ask in either Chrome or Brave thread.
     
  22. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,944
    FWIW I've put the latest version of dynamic rules I posted in past onto my Github repo:
    https://github.com/Yuki2718/adblock
     
  23. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,480
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I've checked it out and this stuff happens on both Vivaldi and Edge, but not on Firefox. Like I said, yimg.com needs to be allowed to run, otherwise techcrunch.com won't load correctly. But apparently you also don't have an explanation for this. But it's not a big deal, main thing is that it's fixed.
     
  24. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    UK
    has anyone figured out a way to prevent the new trend which is "delayed" popups.

    So I load a page, and there will either be a timed delay e.g. 10 seconds for a popup to appear, or a interactive delay where it waits to detect either scrolling or movement of the mouse, this new practice generally circumvents all popup blockers. Also its not a traditional popup where it makes a new browser window but rather a new frame on the site which steals focus.

    I am guessing maybe needing to block first party XHR in umatrix?
     
  25. Yuki2718

    Yuki2718 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Posts:
    1,944
    That's called modal overlay/window and not strictly a new trend tho I also feel more and more sites use it nowadays. They are addressed by annoyance filters. What should be blocked depends, sometimes it's XHR, more often scripts, other cases only cosmetic/HTML filtering (or scriptlet injection) works.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2020
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.