µBlock, a lean and fast blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gorhill, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,807
    Location:
    Canada
    You must have some global or site-speciific allow or noop rules in place under My rules that are overriding the global all setting
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,751
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I'm having trouble with uBO in Firefox on this machine. Until the last few days I had the yellow feedback ad blocked on this site:

    https://community.norton.com/en/forums

    ad.PNG

    I can right click it and from the context menu select "Block Element" which gives me a filter like this:

    Code:
    ! 28/07/2019 https://community.norton.com
    ||community.norton.com/en/system/files/u626753/NCF-survey_0.png$image
    That works fine while Firefox is open but next time I open FF and visit the Norton forums the ad is back. As this has only just started happening I think it might be something to do with an update to uBO.

    Any ideas?
     
  3. JimboW

    JimboW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    280
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,751
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    The strange thing is though that filter has been working fine for months.
    That seems to have done the trick. Thanks Jimbo! :thumb:
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,262
    Code:
    ||community.norton.com/en/system/files/*/NCF-survey*.png$image,important
    #edit
    added ",important" for no exception rule!
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2019
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,751
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Sadly I have a much worse issue with uBO and Firefox. Lately when I open Firefox it takes ages, if at all, for my home page to load. I entered about:performance into the address bar while waiting and found that while uBO was only using 10 MB of memory, as soon as I disabled it (after trying other extensions) Firefox home page loaded immediately. To check I closed FF and when I opened Firefox the home page loaded as quick as I remember.

    Stupid forum software:
    Code:
    about:performance
    Before this I uninstalled and disabled some security programs which had no affect.

    Just tested again. Firefox opens, the page is white and it appears to try to load but nothing happens. The very second I disable uBO the home page loads immediately.
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    14,117
    Location:
    UK
    What do you have on your Firefox home page?
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,751
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I don't think that it matters in this case, but bing.com. No pages load at all now while uBO is enabled. I just installed AdBlock Plus and while it is still slow, it does allow Firefox to load.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,751
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Disabled ABP and made fresh install of uBO and it looks like I'm back in business... for now anyway.
     
  10. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,875
    take a look at this and this.
     
  11. T10014

    T10014 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    I've read a bit about uMatrix, and it was recommended that it be use together with uBlock Origin. From what I can tell, uMatrix is used to either allow or block. This could be an issue when allowing a domain when attempting to fix broken websites, whereas uBlock Origin would give me the option to use a noop. Forgive me if this is incorrect; I'm new to these tools and trying to understand how they work.

    It seems that 'nightmare mode' blocks everything apart from the main document. Just wondering if there are any dangers that might be lurking with this. Here's my settings anyway:

    https://i.postimg.cc/mc3SLcjW/Screenshot.jpg
     
  12. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,875
    not necessarily. you can use um without ubo, and vice versa.

    ubo is best to use in medium mode with ad filter list subscriptions and such. then, you can use um along with it in default deny mode with host list subscriptions. um gives you much more granular control over all the contents of a page, i.e. you can choose the type of data to allow or block from a certain domain; e.g. you can block script, xhr, frame on example.com but at the same time allow images and css from that same domain. not something you can do with ubo. think of um as a content firewall. but as you said, um might prevent ubo from fixing broken redirects with the help of noop, but that's something can be fixed with um ruleset recipes or a few manual tweaks at domain or global scope.

    i recommend you to watch these 2 vids from "the hated one" to grasp the essence of ubo & um. (p.s.: bear in mind that these vids are almost a year and a half old, things have changed and improved a lot since then both for ubo & um.)

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lisQQmWQkY

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TVozpo3zUBk
     
  13. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,875
    please post an image of "filter lists" with active filters in use, "my filters" and "my rules" tabs from ubo. it seems that there's an existing 3rd party filter or a personal filter or a custom rule to allow some requests from itgroove.net. open the logger, refresh the page you're visiting and check to see what filter is allowing those requests from that domain. the related requests will be in yellow too. click on it and there you have the info you need.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2019
  14. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,262
    ofc it is possible but not with a single click, it needs one or more rules or filters.
    and you should use umatrix where ublock is not active, otherwise you run circles when searching reason for failure.

    what is blocked - both have a logger where and what was blocked - there is no space for misunderstanding the logger.
     
  15. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,875
    i thought you (or anyone)'d understand i meant:

    "you can block script, xhr, frame from "xyz.com" on "example.com" but at the same time allow images, css or media from "xyz.com" on "example.com". not something you can do with ubo."
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,751
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Ok, so it looks like others have had that problem and there could be many causes.
     
  17. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,875
    yeah, it seems so. and ubo itself has nothing to do with those issues. it's either a corrupted ff profile or a modified setting under the hood and such.
     
  18. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,864
    Yes, you can with Dynamic URL Filtering via the logger. But granted, it's not that easy and straightfoward as it is with uMatrix.
     
  19. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,875
    i know that you can. but that's what i mean (like you said): "...But granted, it's not that easy and straightfoward as it is with uMatrix"

    ubo's not meant for that. um is the right tool for that (as confirmed and endorsed by @gorhill himself). not to mention the fact that there are tens of different domains like xyz.com (or tens of cdn's) on almost every page to deal with.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2019
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,751
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    You can blame whatever you like but as soon as I disable uBO Firefox runs much better. It was working OK yesterday but it is back to not loading today. Disabled uBO, page loaded immediately, enabled ABP, no problem.

    You should note that this was a clean install of Windows and a recent installation of Firefox. How could the profile become corrupt? What modified setting suddenly changed without me doing anything? Why did this start with a recent update from uBO? Maybe uBO corrupted my profile and changed some setting.
     
  21. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,875
    you should've checked for errors via browser console. if the issue reoccurs, please do so and open an issue on ubo github page with that console feedback. ubo profile might get corrupted due to an improper shutdown, a failed update and such. you never know without an investigation. what matters is if the issue can be reproduced or not. btw, do you use ff in pbm?
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,751
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I don't know how to do that.
    Thanks but I am a member of enough forums for now.

    If anyone wants to walk me through the steps to gather logs here or by PM I'll see what I can do.
     
  23. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,875
    "ctrl + ⇧ + j"

    i doubt @gorhill 'd do that.

    do you use ff in pbm? is your prefs file modified?
     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,751
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I purged all filters and that seems to have helped.
    Where exactly am I supposed to enter that?
    Private Browsing Mode? Seriously, it is pointless offering cryptic clues. I will need step by step instructions. We aren't charged by the letter here. Private Browsing Mode = no.
    No.
    I guess my logs would be useless then anyway.
     
  25. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,875
    that's good. so it was a filter issue, maybe.

    just open a tab in ff and hit the key combination. that's it.

    not necessarily, if you open an issue on ubo github. also not necessarily because you might figure it out by reading the error code, etc.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.