µBlock, a lean and fast blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gorhill, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    869
    Location:
    Italy
    I think the No Coin List is the top.;)
     
  2. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    666
  3. Infected

    Infected Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Posts:
    762
    Need help blocking HTLM5 videos. I visit espn frequently and their videos start automatically and are loud. In ubo, i set Block media elements larger than 50k, but it doesn't stop them from playing. Any help with this without installing more extensions? The video is from brightcove.
     
  4. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    386
    If you are using Firefox, you can disable autoplay in About:config. Set media.autoplay.enabled to false.
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,732
    Location:
    .
    Um, every Firefox launch. Custom filters (all 7) show Last update: a minute ago.
    Custom.png
    maybe, same issue as 3-rd party filters reports need for Update now every Firefox launch.
    Update now will update filters and report Last update: a minute ago. Then upon next Firefox restart. 3-rd party filters reports need for Update now.
    1947.png
    also posted my issue on reddit.com/r/uBlockOrigin/
    Thanks Firefox ESR 52.5.0 uBO 1.14.18
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2017
  7. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    7,563
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I've had similar problem and solved it by allowing cookies to be set in privacy section of settings.
     
  8. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,732
    Location:
    .
    which cookies? I allow first party and when I temp allowed third party. I did not see any that sounded like they were related to uBO. I don't mind adding cookie exceptions. Just need to know what cookie.
     
  9. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    7,563
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I've got exact problem when I run FF in private browsing mode. After changing privacy settings, a problem disappeared. Right now I use this settings and updating works for me:

    upload_2017-11-26_20-39-51.png
     
  10. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,732
    Location:
    .
    Yes, I've always had similar... albeit, not exact.
    1953.png
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2017
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    7,563
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Hm, then I don't know. Do you have any other extension installed that could interfere with uBlock?
     
  12. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,732
    Location:
    .
    What extensions could interfere? IDK Thanks
     
  13. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    2,732
    Location:
    .
    I created new default ESR profile, as text. And uBO 1.14.16 runs okay, 1.14.18 runs okay. uBO is xpi.
    So, conflict or corruption with my everyday ESR profile. @Minimalist Thanks again.

    Edit: Just now realized. The 5 default uBlock filters are causal for me. I can reproduce "Update now" upon Firefox ESR cycle with just the 5 default uBlock filters checked. So, from "Last update: a minute ago" > cycle > "Update now". Uncheck the 5 uBlock filters and we're okay.
    Thanks
    Edit2: before cycle browser
    1991.png
    after cycle browser 1992.png
    with 1993.png uBO 1.14.20 + ESR 52.5.0
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2017
  14. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,259
    There are several elements missing from the dropdown UI on the Firefox 57 web extension compared with the one in Palemoon (pic on the left palemoon, pic on the right FF 57).

    ubp.png ubf.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2017
  15. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,100
    Weird. Palemoon (and Firefox 57) + uBlockO 1.14.20 looks good here:
    uBlockO-1.4.20_wilders_UI.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2017
  16. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,259
    The one missing some elements is the Firefox 57 one (pic on the right), the pic on the left is Palemoon.
    I edited the post to be more clear.
     
  17. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    7,563
    Location:
    Slovenia
    No elements missing on my FF57 install:

    upload_2017-12-1_18-23-59.png
     
  18. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
    http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/

    but noscript is known to break also addons, also uBlock.
     
  19. gorhill

    gorhill Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    799
    Location:
    Canada
    This is because uBO is unable to save a local copy of the downloaded files into its indexedDB storage. Some Firefox settings can make indexedDB unavailable to uBO -- you will have to investigate on your side.
     
  20. gorhill

    gorhill Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    799
    Location:
    Canada
    uBO is prevented from using it's Fontawesome font. This can be caused by some settings you changed from default in your Firefox, and also possibly because your Firefox is using a font which collides with Fontawesome glyphes.

    See: https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/issues/1072#issuecomment-165565027
     
  21. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,259
    Right you are :)
    I have Trebuchet MS as fonts and also have this option unchecked:
    Screenshot_2017-12-01_20-56-17.png
    Checking the option returns uBlock UI's to normal.
     
  22. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,323
    use uB options instead. or put a filter on webfonts. or stylish/stylus with an override.
     
  23. rethink

    rethink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Posts:
    46
    @gorhill: Is there a way to block all 1st party scripts in a web page but to allow a specific one?
    I want to use script:inject but I do not understand the parameters that need to be passed. Is there some documentation over it?
     
  24. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,159
    Yes, it seems that @bjm_ somehow blocks access to IndexedDB (perhaps by using the gHacks user.js). An instruction how to overcome this problem is here.
     
  25. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,259
Loading...