µBlock, a lean and fast blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by gorhill, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,397
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    To clarify, I already knew that I can block it globally or per site, but I believe Ghostery blocked this out of the box, and Facebook, Twitter and other sites would keep working. So isn't uBlock supposed to block this automatically? I believe someone also posted that it doesn't matter that you get to see those buttons, because uBlock is somehow still blocking Facebook from tracking you, but I'm not sure if this is correct.
     
  2. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,772
    Well, if you don't use Dynamic Filtering in uB0 it all depends on which filterlists are used (as in other blockers like ABP, too). The default filterlists in uB0 are EasyList, Peter Lowe's Adservers, EasyPrivacy and Malware domains. I believe that the existing rules in EasyPrivacy should be sufficient to block tracking by Facebook (I haven't really tested it thoroughly as I block it in uMatrix anyhow). But you can additionally enable Fanboy's Social Blocking List in the uB0 settings. The most thorough solution is certainly by blocking it via Dynamic Filtering (as suggested earlier) as any network requests to Facebook will be reliably blocked.

    EDIT: This wiki site should be of interest (although it's not up-to-date), particularly the diffs between the tested blockers and beneath that paragraph gorhill's suggestions regarding adding specific rules to Dynamic Filtering.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2017
  3. gorhill

    gorhill Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Canada
    That does not work very well, I can still see network requests made to Facebook, I think that list is more for cosmetic purpose than privacy purpose. "Anti-ThirdpartySocial" is probably better suited, but really, as you said, dynamic filtering is the way to go, there is no guessing involved: if a cell has an explicit block rule, everything will be blocked.

    I made a specific example for using dynamic filtering for Facebook: https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/wiki/Dynamic-filtering:-to-easily-reduce-privacy-exposure

    Link above shows a very gentle way to approach dynamic filtering: by default there are no rule and thus nothing is filtered through dynamic filtering. Then one can little by little add block rules for what they see as unnecessary privacy exposure. Unlike medium mode, one can start using dynamic filtering without high level of breakage.

    To help users figuring out what remote servers are ubiquitous, that is the purpose of uBO-Scope.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2017
  4. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,772
    @gorhill :Thanks for your comment!

    Wow, interesting! I had never heard about it before.

    What's strange: On the AMO site it says: "This add-on is not compatible with your version of Firefox." although I'm using FF57 Nightly on Linux. If I click the "Download anyway" link I'm offered to download ubo_scope-0.1.6-an+fx-windows.xpi. Huh - Windows? :eek: I've disabled user agent spoofing in uMatrix, added AMO to the whitelists of Decentraleyes and Canvas Defender and cleared the cache - but to no avail. Strange :confused:
     
  5. gorhill

    gorhill Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Canada
    It still is pending review on AMO. And unfortunately I had to add the "_" at the end of the name because I previously asked for validation of the extension a while ago when I was working on it, and when I decided to officially push to AMO, AMO complained that the name was taken already. I've asked to the reviewer if this can be fixed, no words yet.
     
  6. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,772
    Okay, I installed it by setting xpinstall.signatures.required to false. Will test it :thumb:
     
  7. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,772
    @gorhill: Never mind - I found the culprit for the alleged incompatibility: I had set privacy.resistFingerprinting to true, and this setting is obviously incompatible with AMO. So at the moment this setting (which is part of the Tor browser patches coming to Firefox) seems to unusable. I have to investigate if a corresponding bug report exists.

    EDIT: xpinstall.signatures.required = false is still required because of the missing review by Mozilla.
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,105
    i had scope trialed but i never had a look into - only right before uninstalling. no benefit for me.
     
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,791
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Yeah, 'unverified add-on'. Will wait, looking forward to it though.
     
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,105
    it takes you one minute to get a signed extension...
     
  11. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,180
    Are all versions of uBO prior to and including 1.13.8 legacy based and everything after, based on WebExtensions?

    I've decided to use FF ESR for now and read that UBO/WebExt versions could be problematic in this scenario, including a loss of privacy features. Is that correct?
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2017
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,356
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    How do I block this in Firefox and Edge Google searches?

    Google.PNG

    I'm sick of seeing it. I right clicked and chose "Block Element" but that doesn't stick.
     
  13. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,500
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Krusty, I never seen something like that in Firefox. In Firefox my Home page is Mozilla Firefox Start Page.

    Edge, I never seen that annoyance when opening Edge. I dont use Edge, the only thing I do with Edge is open the browser once in a while to make sure the browser is working properly.

    But I remember seeing something similar when opening IE in XP and W7. What I used to see was an annoying strip below tabs and the Address bar that asked if I wanted to make Google the Home page. No matter what I tried to get rid of it got rid of it until finally realizing that setting my Home page to about:blank, got rid of the annoyance. Then when I got the W10, I did set about:blank as Home page on that computer as well. I have never seen the annoyance in IE after I started using about:blank as Home page.

    Bo
     
  14. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    592
    Location:
    Far East
    I'm using Greasemonkey in FF and I have a "I don't want to install Google Chrome" script added

    Which site did you surf? Maybe I can test it with the mentioned script in FF
     
  15. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,500
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    The annoyance Krusty is talking about is not about installing Chrome but making google.com your Home page. And likely, he sees it when opening the browser and only when opening the browser.

    Bo
     
  16. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    592
    Location:
    Far East
    Thanks. Read wrongly.
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,791
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Someone else would be better qualified to give you the exact details, but your first statement is essentially correct, starting with hybrid 1.13.10 ...

    If you stick with ESR, I doubt you will lose anything by sticking with 1.13.8 (there is a link on AMO) and setting Automatic Updates for uB0 to Off.

    That said, I am not having any issues with 1.14.4 on FF 55.0.3.
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,356
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I see this when I search anything Google on FF / CF & Edge.
     
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,397
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well, apparently it was not sufficient on my machine. But I have decided to give Ghostery another try, they are now owned by Cliqz, let's hope they are more trustworthy. So I now combine uBlock with Ghostery, and haven't found any drawbacks yet.

    Will do some reading, thanks. BTW, it's not a big deal, but are you also getting to see ads on this page?

    http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_3310_(2017)-8597.php
     
  20. accessgranted

    accessgranted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Posts:
    205
    Hi guys, for approximately 2 weeks now, I've been experiencing problems when trying to update 3rd party filters in uBlockOrigin as well as hosts files in uMatrix. There seems to be some connection problems, it's as if the software could not establish any connection to the updated files. A broken connection icon appears next to the failed lines. Some days I managed to update a few of uMatrix hosts files, then the next day it doesn't work anymore. uBlockO I almost never manage to update so I'm forced to rely on the lists already in the cache.
    Anyone experiencing the same issue, and any solution to explain or fix the problem?
    Thanks in advance
     
  21. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,772
    Did you enable - deliberately or accidentally - behind-the-scene filtering in uMatrix or uB0? That would explain your problems.
     
  22. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    23,674
    Open the dashboard of uMatrix and then open the matrix. The matrix of "behind-the-scene" should be displayed in green color.
    If not, select "All" and allow it. The matrix should be green now and updating of filters should also be possible.
    Or simply add:
    Code:
    matrix-off: behind-the-scene true
     
  23. accessgranted

    accessgranted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Posts:
    205
    Hi, nope, behind-the-scene is still in the uBO whitelist while the rule "matrix-off: behind-the-scene true" hasn't changed.
     
  24. accessgranted

    accessgranted Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Posts:
    205
    Hi, the Matrix of "behind-the-scene" is all green already :(
     
  25. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,772
    I don't know which browser and which versions of uMatrix and uB0 you're using. It could be related to the switch from legacy add-ons to webextensions. Perhaps gorhill's remarks for v. 1.14.0 and 1.14.8 are helpful.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.