Two internal hard drives

Discussion in 'hardware' started by sreedhav, Oct 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sreedhav

    sreedhav Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Andhra pradesh,India
    Hi,
    this is my first post.So please say cheers!I have a Lenovo k200 series desktop(vista basic) with 250 Gb partitioned memory(Toshiba Hard Disk).Now i want to take a full backup of the Hard drive,preferably using the Acronis True Image 11 on to another internal Hard drive.My question is 1)Does the above mentioned Lenovo system accept a second Hard drive(250Gb),what i mean is, is there a slot for a second Hard drive and 2) if there is a provision should i install only a Toshiba second Hard drive or go for HDD like seagate or sata?

    regards,
    sreedhav:rolleyes:
     
  2. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    You current hard drive has a sata interface. Every motherboard i've ever seen with sata support has always had at least 2 sata ports. Most modern ones have at least 4 and seeing as your case is a decent size i'd say you definitely have room for a second hard drive.
    In regards to which brand i'd say it doesn't really matter, personally i'd go with whichever one is the best price.
    Your easiest option is to leave your system as it is and install the second hard drive for data storage. It should simply be a case of plugging it in, then boot up and windows should automatically detect it.
     
  3. sreedhav

    sreedhav Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Andhra pradesh,India
    Thank you for the reply!
     
  4. Beto

    Beto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    47
    I guess with newer machines one doesn't have to worry about master/slave jumpers?
     
  5. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    No, with sata drives that isn't an issue anymore. Each sata connection is automatically configured.
     
  6. raakii

    raakii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    ya sata is a great wire for increasing performance:)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.