Trying to create new partition, keep getting error

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by jonnycakes15, May 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jonnycakes15

    jonnycakes15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Hello,
    I am trying to create a new partition on my "C" drive to install window vista x64 in a dual boot config using the Acronis OS Selector. I go through all of the processes just fine until the reboot. After the computer boots it starts to analyze and lock partitions and then just stops on step 1 of 2 and says "operation error: invalid partition size." My hardrive is 150 GB and I am trying to make about a 40GB partition. There is only about 10GB of space used on the hard drive, so I do not understand what I could be doing wrong. I have created new partitions in the past successfully, but never on the main system drive. Is there something special I need to do because it is the main drive? PLEASE HELP, this is driving me crazy! Thanks -- Jonny
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Try booting to the DD CD (either the Full or Safe Mode version) and see if you can get it to work. Sometimes, when you start the procedure in Windows and it has to reboot, it doesn't work and since the program is on "auto-pilot" there is no way to fix it.

    Also, note that when you install Vista, let it reformat the partition during the installation. Windows still doesn't like installing on DD formatted NTFS partitions.
     
  3. jonnycakes15

    jonnycakes15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I noticed that Acronis states I can put multiple OS's on the same partition, using the OS Selector to change them. Is that a bad idea?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I have never tested that particular feature of OSS and don't recommend it. I think it will only work with certain versions of Windows and under certain situations.

    It's much better to have each OS on its own partition. This keeps one from affecting any others and also makes backing up and restoring an OS much easier.

    I think that feature is kind of a left-over from Windows95/98/ME. Those were easy to change by swapping system folders and files. I certainly wouldn't try it with XP and Vista (even it they say it should work).
     
  5. jonnycakes15

    jonnycakes15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    Yeah, I figured it did not sound like the greatest idea, that is why I am trying to create a new partition. I will try booting from disc. Thanks for all of your help! -- Jonny
     
  6. jonnycakes15

    jonnycakes15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    you were right, the bootable DD CD worked like a charm! Thanks so much! -- Jonny
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.