Trying to boot from CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Simon1, Oct 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Simon1

    Simon1 Guest

    Hi, I have True Image 8.0 (build 892) which is a 'lite' version distributed thru a magazine. I have just loaded it onto a new PC running XP Home, two SATA drives (backing up onto the second). I created a boot CD and then created an image onto my J: drive (SATA, partitioned to use only for an image). The image was successfully made, I then went to boot up with the CD.

    After changing the Boot order in the BIOS so it now goes A, D (CD), C - I get as far as the DOS splash screen, then the screen goes black, the CD spins for another 10 secs, stops....and that's it. Nothing on the screen and I have to remove the CD and reset the computer to get back into windows.

    I have also been getting windows wanting to send an error report after reboot and opening True Image on the desktop.

    Any ideas? (My techie language isn't too good so please be gentle!)
     
  2. Simon1

    Simon1 Guest

    ...further to the above, doing a normal reboot with no CD, I get the option of pressing F11 to get into Acronis Startup Recovery Mgr, but when I do, I get the start screen and then ....black again?

    What is going on? How do I recover files in an emergency? I thought I was having trouble with ghost, but this seems just as bad.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Simon1,

    Could you please boot your computer from the Acronis True Image rescue disc (the full version) and press F11 key when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears? After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please remove the "quiet" word and click on the OK button. As the startup messages stop scrolling, you can use Shift+PgUp and Shift+PgDn keys in order to scroll the screen manually. Please write down the last few lines of the output, or use a digital camera to make shots of the output screens and send the captured information to us. Please contact us from our web-site: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/support/. Please don't forget to send the link to this thread along with gathered information. This would allow us to investigate the problem and help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  4. Simon1

    Simon1 Guest

    Hi - thanks for your quick reply. I tried what you said, but still got only a blank screen after removing 'quiet' and clicking OK.

    I'm not sure what you mean by the Full Version resvue disk. As mentioned earlier, this was from a magazine and is probably only a lite edition, but I want to know if this is going to work before considering upgrading it.

    I'm using the disk I made with the programme. However, even if I just boot up normally without the disk and enter the Recovery Stage by pressing F11, I still only get a blank screen after the splash screen.

    Help!
     
  5. Simon1

    Simon1 Guest

    ...anyone at all?
     
  6. jeannieb360

    jeannieb360 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    I'm like you - I wanted to try Acronis before I bought it. I've been using Norton Ghost 2003, but I'd heard good things about Acronis, and I'm in the process of helping two of my friends set up backup hardware and software on their PC's.

    Did you know you can get a free 15-day trial version of Acronis True Image 9.0 at the Acronis web site?

    I did that, created a Rescue Boot CD, created a backup using the True Image software on Windows, then tried booting from the Rescue CD to see if I could actually see my backup files. It didn't work when I first tried this, but Acronis put out a new build of the software 3 days later, and build 2289 seems to work for me (so I bought the software, and I'm recommending it to my two friends).

    I never tried any versions of Acronis True Image 8.0, but from reading this forum, it seems that there were early problems with it that were corrected by Acronis over time, as seems to be happening with Release 9.0. So you may
    have an 'early build' version of Acronis True Image 8.0 that still had a lot of bugs in it.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Simon1,

    Please try to download the trial version: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/trueimage/, create a bootable CD and see whether the problem persists. If the bootable CD created with the trial version helps you to resolve this problem please contact me again via PM.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  8. kensden

    kensden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    I'm in EXACTLY the same position, we are BETA testing this software and paying for the privelage!

    Original download (when attempting a partition restore) wouldn't boot to dos without CD and would only boot to safe mode when using CD, but the endgame was always the same black screen!

    Used Build 3677, same deal!

    Tried the F11 suggestion, nothing!

    I CAN'T BELIEVE I HAVE 8 IMAGES OF A BUILD OF MY NEW HOME THEATRE PC AND CAN'T RESTORE ONE!

    How did I get suckered like this!
    <snip>

    Yours very p****d off!

    edited to remove off-topic remark - Detox
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 17, 2006
  9. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    Off-topic response removed - please keep in mind that this is the Acronis support forum.
     
  10. allserene

    allserene Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    always booted ok from cd but i just did a clone disk and then later wanted to boot from cd and it stopped at the 3 choices screen....rebooted and pressed f11 and tried quiet acpi=off noacpic - no difference so rebooted and took out quiet ..now i dont get any splash screens at all...loaded new update after de-installing and even burned a new cd... this is awful...
    alan
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello kensden,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    I am sorry for the delayed response.

    Please boot your computer from the Acronis True Image Bootable CD created with the latest build 3677 and create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the issue appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello allserene,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Could you please clarify what "the 3 choices screen" you get? Please let us know the build number of the product, which you can find in the Help -> About dialog (it should be a 3 or 4 digit number). Please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the issue and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.