Trying to back up a SCSI system drive.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Tom Wood, Mar 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tom Wood

    Tom Wood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,

    I have an older machine with four Seagate SCSI drives. One is the C drive, the others are used for content. (It was used for video, but I've broken down the RAID into just four drives.) The system drive C is on SCSI channel A, the other three are on SCSI channel B.

    I made an image file of the 'C' drive and put it on one of the other SCSI drives, validated it, made a bootable CD, reset the boot drive to the CD in the BIOS. Now I get a splash screen for Acronis, no mouse cursor, no choices except 'Turn off Computer' or 'Continue to boot Windows'. Hitting enter is the only key that does anything, and best I can tell, when I hit that it boots from C as normal.

    I want to verify that I can actually mount the image when I need it, but this doesn't seem to be working.

    Any advice appreciated.

    Thanks,

    TW
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    My guess is that the Linux environment of the Rescue CD can't see the SCSI drives because it doesn't have a driver for the SCSI card.

    Check the boot CD on another system to see if it runs normally on a system where it can see the drives.

    There's no way to add drivers to the Rescue CD yourself. The alternatives are:

    1. You could ask Acronis tech support if they can supply a boot disk with the necessary drivers.

    2. You could create a BartPE or VistaPE boot disk with the TI plug-in and add the SCSI drivers for you system.

    You didn't mention what version of TI and what build you have.
     
  3. Tom Wood

    Tom Wood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you John,

    It's version 11.00 build 8,053.

    It's a WinXP Pro machine.

    Device Manager lists as SCSI and RAID controllers, two: Adaptec AIC-7902B - Ultra320 SCSI

    Does that help, or should I try tech support for the CD?

    TW
     
  4. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Sounds to me like time to call on tech support for a special boot disk with the SCSI drivers - or the BartPE or VistaPE boot disk.

    You can use a VistaPE boot disk on an XP system, and Mustang has an easy way to create the VistaPE disk for a very small cost.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Tom Wood, first of all you can try the latest build (#8101) of Acronis True Image 11 Home.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  6. oeikel

    oeikel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Dear all,

    nearly the same problem. I have installed Acronis True Image Home. My win XP pro sp3, runs on a scsi raid0 drive. Now I have backed up my system on an external usb-Drive.

    When I tried to make Rescue CD, I got a hint, that there won't be any scsi drivers.

    What does that mean? No driver for recover from a scsi drive or no driver for recovering to a scsi drive.

    :oops:

    Best regards
    Oliver
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello oeikel,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    What is the exact title of the program and the build number? The issue concerns lack of drivers in Linux environment. If you provide us serial number via PM we will send you ISO image of Acronis True Image bootable disc which should solve the issue.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.