Tryin 2 Boot From Xp To XP Oh The dumbness Has Kick In!

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Livewire2, Jan 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Livewire2

    Livewire2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Okay SOOoo is OS Selector wisely enuff (as-is) software to do this type of XP dual boot task? I boot to the OSS (it load up with errors, I also had to tell it to ignore all or I won't be able to get to the menus selections) and then select the 2nd active HD to install another copy of XP pro sp2. The first phase had finish copying all xp pro files and requested that it need to reboot but then the OSS had been deactivated when it reboot back to the DOS shell and the XP installation has stopped w/all errors.

    What the?,... i'm only using E-IDE drives there is no raid setup, there no SATA setup. Why also that i'm not able to make a copy of my mbr to a cd-r/dvd-r nor can I hide my first xp os boot or place a bootable strap in place for my secondary xp pro os to install. ​
     
  2. Livewire2

    Livewire2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10

    sorry. :eek:

    Well I'd guess I have to explain myself a little bit more clearer... to get a respond to this, Hmmm. :blink:

    XP pro had remove the drive letter "J" or temp letter "C" after a quick format
    (the reason why) XP was claiming that the DD format was incorrect.
    http://www.pic-share.eu/image/20080112/f3394d041d.jpg

    Notice that the drive has no letter (it isn't there) and XP didn't ask me anything about what label name do you want to give to the temp drive
    letter "C".
    http://www.pic-share.eu/image/20080112/491d7e08af.jpg

    Here is my problems when I use OS Selector starting from the dos shell.
    http://www.pic-share.eu/image/20080112/368ace6cde.gif

    Then I receive these two errors boxes...... press down "ignore all" button
    http://www.pic-share.eu/image/20080112/dde07e7605.gif

    Re-selected once again for my XP pro to finish installing after activating OSS.
    http://www.pic-share.eu/image/20080112/d8a55bc29c.gif

    A xp pro errors is claiming it can't find a certain file and won't finish installing.
    http://www.pic-share.eu/image/20080112/ff6285de0b.gif

     
  3. Livewire2

    Livewire2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Oh one more thing my usb intellimouse ....well it keep freezing up and locking up the OSS which btw require me to do a quick reboot to the bios to disable it.

    SO how do I setup a already existing xp pro os while installing another new xp pro to another partitions? I'm plenty sure you got to deactivate the first partition or even hide it. But doing so from windows (well i'm not able to move around too much when using OSS due to -> "not being able to use my usb mouse in Dos boot up") which does leave me with no OSS to boot from. I'll be back later on and thanks to whomever can answer these questions. ​
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2008
  4. Livewire2

    Livewire2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    435 reviews and still no answer ...wow! :(
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    I've been switching my work computer today. I've read your posts, but will go through them again and post back.

    Do you only have a USB mouse/keyboard?
    Does the computer support a PS2 mouse or keyboard?

    Does the computer have a "Legacy USB" option? If it does, is it enabled or disabled?

    Do you have a separate partition created for OSS?

    You talk about separate hard drives in post 1, but separate partitions in post 3. Are you trying to install both XP's on one drive or on separate drives?
     
  6. Livewire2

    Livewire2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    First i like to thank you for responding to my post MudCrab. My KB is a ps2 connection but my optical Microsoft intellimouse is a usb connection. A image link is listed below:

    http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41CY2K3C9WL._AA280_.jpg

    Yes in my bios setting there is a Legacy usb option but it's a no go! It will freeze up ---not only Acronis "OSS" but "DD" as well when running in a xp bootup (Dos shell).


    No sir but is that important for it be in a separate partition? Actually it's setup
    from my first "C" drive partition.

    Are you talking about this?...
    http://www.pic-share.eu/image/20080112/491d7e08af.jpg

    "C" and "J" are both partitions from the same harddrive i'm not planning to place
    a operating system on a (real) separate HD at this time.

    Side note:
    1. C drive has already a installed xp pro and OSS.
    2. J is a partition of "C" drive and it where i'm planning to place the next xp pro os. :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2008
  7. Livewire2

    Livewire2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Btw some how my "D" drive has became ...active but I never had touch it.
     
  8. Livewire2

    Livewire2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Here is a much clearer video view of the process: zshare.net/download/64269648dab893
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 12, 2008
  9. Livewire2

    Livewire2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Just let you know the mp4 video is around 1mb in size for downloading. Last thing here ....can I completely remove the OSS boot menus and retrieve back my old XP pro boot Dos screen menu?!?
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2008
  10. sparkymachine

    sparkymachine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    East Lancashire, UK
    Links outside the forum are a no no.
    At least thought so.
     
  11. sparkymachine

    sparkymachine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    East Lancashire, UK
    well if you had provided more info rather than guff
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2008
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    You should be able to uninstall OSS (or deactivate it) and return to the pre-OSS state. If that doesn't work, then you'll have to either restore a saved MBR or boot to the XP CD and use the Recovery Console to repair it.

    Often when there is only one Primary partition on a drive, it gets set Active. This shouldn't cause any problem.

    Do you get the same results whether it's enabled or disabled?
    When you refer to "xp bootup (Dos shell)" are you talking about the XP bootloader menu or the XP installer?

    It is not mandatory that OSS be installed in a non-OS partition. I just like it that way because restoring any of the OS partitions will not mess with the OSS files. Other than that, there's nothing wrong with the files being on the Windows partition. Just keep in mind that the OSS files don't take up much space and can be installed on any FAT, FAT32 or NTFS partition.

    ----------

    Do you have a PS2 mouse that you can use?

    Have you tried a different USB mouse?

    Do you have the same mouse problem when you boot to DD in both the Full and Safe Mode versions?

    Does the USB mouse work correctly when you're booted into XP?

    Have you tried using OSS and DD with the USB mouse not connected?

    You have partitions labeled Vista and Linux, but are trying to install two XP's. Are the two XP's the only OS's on the computer or do you also have Vista and a Linux installation?

    ----------

    Normally, OS installations can either be installed through OSS (with the correct settings) or manually (using DD). You seem to be having trouble with both programs. Does DD work correctly in its Full Mode (the Linux-based version)?

    Since you are getting sector read errors when OSS is booting, it may not be compatible with your computer. The first thing to check, however, is to run a chkdsk /r on all the partitions and make sure there aren't any bad sectors. I recommend you have a backup image of your partitions or at least copies of your important files before running chkdsk or performing partition operations in case something goes wrong.
     
  13. Livewire2

    Livewire2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Huh? I mean ....I do understand about not posting any outside links from this forum but MudCrab's didn't ask me to place any additional info at the above time.

    Also SM what is the reasons for us having access to this when we post?!?
    http://www.pic-share.eu/image/20080112/4a6a9c661d.jpg

    So thank U very much but next time please try be nice enough to alert me of this matter through my pm (only). Because i'm not into any returning back & forth foolishness, newbie nor noobs "guff" bar fighting attitude negativity response. :blink:

    ....And you're welcome back to post in this thread if you didn't understand -my implying of being a more constructed poster at this forum. Becus I would luv to read what your knowledge are relating about this situation in a more positive light.

    To MudCrab

    Hi sir please give me some time to look into uninstalling OSS and setting up any additional partitions for OSS to be place in. Unfortunately there isn't any tutorial on "how to save my mbr" from Acronis Disk Director Suite help files.
    I'll look into their help file on how to "uninstall OSS" from the boot menu.

    I also can't recall if the MS utilities tool Fixmbr will neutralize my exist data
    or making it more useless (w/no bootup feature). I already had backup my
    most important data.


    No sir, my bios Legacy usb option is set to off (disable) when using OSS as my XP bootloader menu. When it enable ...uhmm, it causes a lockup w/OSS bootloader and I need to do a quick reboot back to my bios setting. So no
    sir, i'm not talking about the XP pro os installation installer.


    Excuse me sir ....but do I need to make a 100mb partition space for OSS?
    ---And how many are really needed for two XP pro operating systems?

    ----------
    1. Do you have a PS2 mouse that you can use?
      I think so but I have to look for it.


    2. Have you tried a different USB mouse?
      I only have one MS Usb mouse.


    3. Do you have the same mouse problem when you boot to DD in both the Full and Safe Mode versions?
      Yes....


    4. Does the USB mouse work correctly when you're booted into XP?
      Yes... but my bios Legacy USB mouse option is in a disable mode or it will lockup when booting.


    5. Have you tried using OSS and DD with the USB mouse not connected?
      Once my Legacy USB option is disable I have no problems but it somewhat difficult using the keyboard. Seeing that the OSS bootloader and DD boot-cd was software design for the mouse devices only.


    6. You have partitions labeled Vista and Linux, but are trying to install two XP's. Are the two XP's the only OS's on the computer or do you also have Vista and a Linux installation?
    Please ignore those drives label names, Vista is sitting in it box ...collecting
    dusts and i'm not able to return it for refund. The Ubuntu Linux was never
    setup I wanted to try out Compiz/Fusion 3D desktop environment. So the
    harddrive formats is setup (only) for installing XP operating systems.

    To see my drive os-formats it's listed below in jpg:
    http://www.pic-share.eu/image/20080112/491d7e08af.jpg

    ----------

    Again i'm not using any linux distributors operating systems at this time.
    Yes sir, i'll run a manual chkdsk /r on the harddrive. DD and OSS does work
    perfectly w/out a mouse in boot loading. Also there is no problems using "OSS" and "DD" in a XP sp2 GUI environment.
     
  14. Livewire2

    Livewire2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Also can I use MBRWizard 2.00 Beta for editing and Free Copy/Restore MBR Utility for making a MBR copy?
    mirror.href.com/thestarman/asm/mbr/BootToolsRefs.htm#MBRWiz
     
  15. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    If you have TI, then it saves the MBR with every backup. Otherwise, any program that's capable of saving and restoring the MBR will work. DD can do it, but you have to do it manually and there's more room for mistakes.

    In the XP Recovery Console, the fixboot and fixmbr commands are supposed to be data-safe. They shouldn't cause any data loss or corrupt your partitions. Before you run them, make sure the correct partition is Active (the booting partition).

    If you choose to install OSS into its own partition (or another non-OS partition), you only need one. All the OSS files will be installed in the partition you select. You don't need a separate OSS partition for each OS installed. All OSS does is create a hidden BOOTWIZ folder on the selected partition and save its files there. The partition can be on any drive in the computer as long as it's available at boot-up.

    -----------

    If you can get XP booting and then get OSS installed and working, you can do most of the settings in OSS while in Windows. Then you can just use the keyboard to select what you want to boot or set a timed default.

    The normal procedure is to install one OS, install OSS, then install the next OS either through OSS or manually using DD (depending on how your system supports OSS).
     
  16. sparkymachine

    sparkymachine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Posts:
    249
    Location:
    East Lancashire, UK
    Sorry for upsetting you Livewire and I hope you get a solution.
    I probably should not have replied to your question - it was a personal thing in that I get all frustrated with information overload these days, I had to quit IT after 25 years as a programmer and consultant five years ago. I had pneumonia which nearly killed me and it left lots of scars.
    I'm not looking for sympathy just trying to explain. I'm never out to upset anyone, guess I was on an off moment, so please forgive me.
    There is still too much info in your thread for me so I shan't even try to look at it all but you are in good hands with Mud and others.
    :) :thumb: :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.