Truecrypt containers revealing file properties in MFT after deletion

Discussion in 'encryption problems' started by onshen, Oct 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. onshen

onshen Registered Member

Using Windows 7 Home Premium

I have found that when i delete a Truecrypt container with data inside, its previously encrypted contents become listed in the Master File Table and can be browsed and partly recovered by using the Recuva piece of software. File names, file sizes, file locations, its all there. I just tested it twice by creating new containers and they spilled the content into the MFT both times, which i could view with Recuva. The data was definitely not listed in the MFT beforehand when viewing it with the Recuva tool.

So what is supposed to be sensitive data can therefore be accessed? Am I missing something because this would appear to be a massive security hole in Truecrypt. Apologies if this is a well known feature but i am new to these matters and have never heard anyone speak of this particular issue.

Many people put their faith in truecrypt but in my experience all an adversary would need to do is delete the TC container then run Recuva to see what was being hidden. To see a list of the file extensions, names and sizes may well be enough in some situations even if no items can be recovered intact. I know i can use software to wipe files that are marked for deletion in the MFT to prevent recovery but that measure becomes irrelevant if the adversary has access to the system or makes a duplicate of the TC container to take away, delete and examine.

How do i stop the contents of a TC container becoming entered in the MFT upon its deletion. Is this how TC is supposed to behave?

Thanks in advance

2. dantz

dantz Registered Member