Truecrypt 5.0 PROBLEMS AND ISSUES

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by TECHWG, Feb 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TECHWG

    TECHWG Guest

    Here i would like you to post your problems/issues/bugs, since their forum is conveniently down...

    here is my issue.

    I mount my partitions and decide to delete a bunch of crap so i can make enough room to transfer everything onto other partitions to empty one by one and make a new crypted partition to make use of the new mode of encryption. I find a folder of coast to coast episodes, (30gb) and i hit Shift + Delete (to delete and bypass recycle bin) and normally this would take 10 seconds there or less. Its taking 5 seconds to delete one audio file, 15 mins later, 27 mins still remains on the count down on the delete and its still going one file by one file. So i figure its a bug, and i will put the old version on. But the download is removed. So i figure its a bug with the old mode of encryption, so i make a 1GB container FILE, and put a 500mg video on it, which is much faster. Then i delete that, and same problem 2 mins later its deleted. 2 mins do just delete a file? WTF is goin on? Their forum is down, i sent a bug complaint thing, but i would like to see if anyone else has an issue.

    Can you replicate my problem?

    I am on XP pro SP2, AMD x64 x2 4400+ 2GB memory, 3 hard drives, and i only use serpent algorithm.
     
  2. TECHWG

    TECHWG Guest

    Now i uninstalled Truecrypt, my whole system is taking forever to delete files. I have a 1 gb container on my desktop i made before i uninstalled truecrypt, and now i have rebooted, i copy it on my desktop again so i have "copy of 123" and that goes fine, and i shift + delete and i hit yes and i dont see anything, no progress bar nothing. and after like 1 min or 2 mins, the file disapears. and NO its not because i needed to press F5 on the desktop , i tried that. Something is very wrong. Writing files to a hard drive works, and it works as normal, deleting is more easy than copy, because all delete does is remove the file from the table, so it disapears, so why does delete take so damn long now, even withought truecrypt installed? i have NEVER had this problem in my entire life before.
     
  3. ttd

    ttd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    I'm testing things a bit in vista to see if i can reproduce that behavior.

    5gb file hosted NTFS volume (AES), 1.4gb single file copied quick and deleted instantly. 1,800 single files (total 500mb) also deleted instantly.

    EDIT: System is an HP dv1710us laptop, 1.46ghz Celeron M 410 (Yonah single core), 1gb ram
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2008
  4. ttd

    ttd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    The OS X version uses MacFuse in an odd way, when you mount a TC file or device, it maps as a fuse volume on the desktop, which then has a DMG file inside it which is the actual filesystem. It may be that the fuse volume isn't a real filesystem with a dmg in it, it might just represent things that way, but it sure will confuse people. Also noticed you can't yet create an HFS+ volume directly from truecrypt, though once you do format a volume as HFS+ truecrypt will mount it normally.
     
  5. Tumalu

    Tumalu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I gave it a shot, (deleting a 500MB file from a 1GB Serpent container) but didn't have any problems. I'm running XP SP2 on a ~4 year old computer, and the Serpent container I tried it with was nested into an AES encrypted partition. (And beyond that, I was also testing the system drive encryption in the background at the same time).

    It almost sounds like your computer it trying to wipe the files instead of just a standard delete. But unless you have software that intercepts the command to bypass or empty the recycle bin, then I guess that's not possible.
     
  6. TECHWG

    TECHWG Guest

    "It almost sounds like your computer it trying to wipe the files instead of just a standard delete. But unless you have software that intercepts the command to bypass or empty the recycle bin, then I guess that's not possible."

    You say that, and i guessed that, but since you said it, i went looking, and i found that for some reason my PGP is set to wipe files automatically, i was going through the options because i have not used it in a long LONG time, and i must have checked DOD wipe files, because now its unticked everything works perfectly. I am retarded, how can i miss a stupid option in another program? IDIOT! dont mind me.

    Still this thread " may " prove useful for anyone else who has a "real" issue...

    Im going to sit here and reflect on my stupidity :ouch:
     
  7. KookyMan

    KookyMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
  8. TECHWG

    TECHWG Guest

    lol try and download it..
    It matters not now, because i figured out it was PGP's stupid wiping options that screwed me up, not truecrypt. I would tell them to ignore the bug report, but they turn their forum off on purpose so they dont have to answer everyone all at once, and they ignore my emails every time i TRY to communicate with them. So nothing else i can do. No other company or "foundation" that i have emailed, ignores the emails and has a convenient thing about spam may interfeer with emails, written on the website.
     
  9. KookyMan

    KookyMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I have to agree, the plausible deniability with regards to communications in this case is definitely not a desirable effect.

    However, on the terms of Issues, I would like to know for those employing the full disk encryption, what kind of performance penalties are users discovering? Are boot times consistent? Data Access? Streaming Reads? Also give your encryption method for comparison.
     
  10. kpGrelling

    kpGrelling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    TrueCrypt 5.0 Reports "Invalid Handle" on Network Mount File Container

    I have just upgraded from TrueCrypt 4.3a to TrueCrypt 5.0

    I have several TrueCrypt file containers (some < 16MB, some > 4GB) saved on my 3TB Promise Technology NS4300N RAID 5 NAS (embedded Linux running Samba) on my local intranet.

    I can MOUNT these network file containers, but upon trying to access them, I get an "Invalid Handle" error. This is completely reproducible and occurs for all file containers every time after fresh reboots (or not) of all systems.

    Interestingly, if I copy the file containers to the local windows desktop, TrueCrypt 5.0 mounts them fine and I can access them.

    However, the SAME file containers / NAS combination works fine in TrueCrypt 4.3a when the file containers are on EITHER the network file server or on my desktop.

    I need to go back to 4.3a until this issue is resolved. Unfortunately, 4.3a has been removed from TrueCrypt project server - including the archive pages.

    Any idea where I can find the TrueCrypt 4.3a windows zip file (from a reliable/secure source)?

    If the TrueCrypt developers are reading this, PLEASE restore the download for 4.3a on the TrueCrypt.org website.

    Thanks...
     
  11. kpGrelling

    kpGrelling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Re: TrueCrypt 5.0 Reports "Invalid Handle" on Network Mount File Container

    BTW: I DID fill out a detailed bug report on the truecrypt project website.
     
  12. TECHWG

    TECHWG Guest

    Good, i did too, but i cant revoke my one, so with their oh so fantastic email communications never working, there no point emailing them. Because their spam filter aparently says Email = Spam
     
  13. faterider

    faterider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Posts:
    64
    Re: TrueCrypt 5.0 Reports "Invalid Handle" on Network Mount File Container

    Here 4.3a is still available: http://www.snapfiles.com/get/TrueCrypt.html

    With google you can find several popular download locations that keep older versions.
     
  14. gb63

    gb63 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    USA
  15. dantz

    dantz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Posts:
    993
    Location:
    Hawaii
    CAUTION: It appears that a mistake has been made. As of this writing, the version you will get by following that link is not version 4.3a. The filename implies that it is 4.3a (which by the way should come in a zipfile, not an exe), but the file properties refer to version 5.0. Furthermore, the MD5 hashes don't match up with either version.

    Hopefully this will be fixed sometime soon, but in the meantime you can't download v 4.3a from the official site.

    edit: The previously posted SnapFiles site has the correct version, and the MD5 hash was good as of this writing.

    2nd edit: It appears that I was wrong about version 4.3a. For some reason it has recentlly been repackaged and is now available in an .exe file. See the posts below for details.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2008
  16. gb63

    gb63 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    USA
    dantz -
    The second link I provided will allow you to download 4.3a from the official site.
    When you run the .exe, you can use the extract option and compare the files to existing 4.3a files. I just tested that. I also have the 4.3a zip, and compared to those extracted as same.
    I recommend users download from the TC site.
     
  17. gb63

    gb63 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    USA
    Let me make this clear, in case of possible misunderstanding.
    I have a system with 4.3a running. Also, I have all prior files and versions.
    I tested again by downloading the exe file in the second link I gave above.
    TC has changed the installer type and is now posting as exe file rather than a zip as before.
    I extracted all files and compared using UltraCompare. All are correct.
    Although I have no reason to mistrust the other posting using another site location, in general, it is best to recommend downloading from the official site.
    Dantz, would you please re-check and advise?
     
  18. dantz

    dantz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Posts:
    993
    Location:
    Hawaii
    So you're saying that version 4.3a has been repackaged, and now you have to run an .exe before you can compare the files? Me no likeee!
     
  19. gb63

    gb63 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    USA
    When you run the exe, it will allow you to install or extract. Extract and compare. Why mistrust an exe file from the official TC site?
     
  20. KookyMan

    KookyMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I have 4.3a in zip form, along with the PGP signature of same. If there is need, I can give it to anyone who needs it.
     
  21. TECHWG

    TECHWG Guest

    How does 4.3a cause a 5.0 problem? im confused...
     
  22. gb63

    gb63 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    USA
    A poster above had requested that TC allow downloading of the previous 4.3a version. I tried to help by giving the TC location to get that previous version. Because TC has changed the installer, we veered into the present location.
    Sorry.
     
  23. dantz

    dantz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Posts:
    993
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Yes, we're going off-topic. Guess we'll have to start another thread.

    edit: I have to leave right now, so if somebody else wants to get it started I will join back in later.
     
  24. TECHWG

    TECHWG Guest

    No problem, just tired and confused, i thought 4.3a caused a problem. I want them to have the download too, i needed it when i thought i had a problem with 5.0 but so far so good now. I have 4.3a on file incase i need it.
     
  25. Tadoussac

    Tadoussac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    118
    I had TC 4.3a in Travelers Mode on a USB Stick - and I upgraded it to 5.0 earlier today. Everything is working nicely!

    Although the Whole Disk Encryption feature is enticing, there is no way that I am going to install TC5 on my HD until the TrueCrypt forums are up, and there is greater dialog among the users - and at least some input from the developers.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.