True Image try start services.exe prevents laptop standby

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Yggdrasil, Sep 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Yggdrasil

    Yggdrasil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I have just purchased True Image Home 11.
    My laptop (ACER travelmate 7720 w.XP Pro SP2) will no longer go into standby unless I go into task manager & stop "True Image try start services.exe"
    This occurs whether I am using the ACER epower management OR the Windows power option in CP to control power management.

    When I reboot, the true image trystart restarts.

    How can I stop this service so that it does not restart on reboot AND still use Acronis?

    OR

    Have the service run without interfering with standby,hibernate, screen saver operation,standby/close lid etc.?
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2008
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Go to Start>Run and type in msconfig then click the Startup tab. If you do not do any automatic scheduled backups you can uncheck anything to do with True Image. There are usually three entries.
     
  3. Yggdrasil

    Yggdrasil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks DwnNdrty - tried that & still had the problem, but you pointed me in the right direction (I had previously tried Startup Control Panel by Mike Lin, but it didn't give me the control I needed); so after disabling Acronis in the startup tab, I then went to the services tab and stopped Acronis Scheduler2 - that worked.

    I don't intend to do auto backups - I trust I'll be able to use True Image on a manual basis without re-enabling any of this (?)
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    If you're not going to do any kind of auto backup, why not make the Bootable Rescue CD and do everything from that - Backup and Restore. It is a little slower than using the program from the installed software but the margin of safety the CD brings to the table is worth it to me. In fact I don't have the software installed at all - and I'm still using ver. 9 embedded into a BartPE cd.
     
  5. Yggdrasil

    Yggdrasil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    OK, so I still have not been able to use this software.

    1) if I disable Scheduler2, the program will not function.
    if I enable it, my standby does not function.

    Is there any way to use this program without it interfering with this basic laptop function?

    2)I made the Bootable Rescue CD but can't see any option on it for Backup and Restore. (?)

    Thanks in advance,
    Frank
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    One reason is that you have to reboot (inlcuding login) just to do a backup, which can be inconvenient for some of us.

     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Yggdrasil,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that Acronis Bootable Rescue Media has the same general interface as the installed program, so backup and restore operations are performed the same way after booting with it.

    Please see respective User's Guide for details.

    Regarding the problem with standby: please make sure you use the latest build (8101) of Acronis True Image 11 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    I would recommend you to download and install the free trial version of Acronis True Image Home 2009 to see how the software works on your computer. With the trial version of the product you will be able to fully use the Windows version for 15 days. The bootable rescue media will be limited to restore function.

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image Home 2009 in the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. Yggdrasil

    Yggdrasil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks-

    I'd try the disc, but if it requires reboot from the disc, I might as well reset the scheduler2 in my msconfig & reboot each time from HDD.
    I have the latest build (Ijust bought the program via download in Sept. - "about" on my install reads thus: Acronis®*True*Image*Home® version 11.0 (build*8,101).

    Frankly, I have no interest in rebuying the program so soon after initial purchase & if I have to reboot for every backup... well, I won't be using the program.

    Unless there is a solution for the interference with my laptop standby function, I'll be looking for different back up software.
     
  9. queencityrunner

    queencityrunner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I have an HP Pavilion dv5120 laptop and had the same problem with standby not working after I installed Acronis True Image 11 Home, current build. For my laptop, the problem seemed to be coming from the Acronis Try and Decide service, not the Acronis Scheduler2 service. If I stop the Try and Decide service (using Administrative Tools/Services), my computer standby works fine. I used Administrative Tools/Services to change the startup option for this service to "Manual" (the Acronis default for it was "Automatic" startup), and it doesn't restart when I reboot my computer, so I think this solved my problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.