True Image Recovery From USB.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pja123, May 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pja123

    pja123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Hello,

    I've had a look over the forums, and i can't find any threads that catergorically addresses my problem, and i was hoping you could help.

    I want to place the TI 10 recovery application on a USB hard disk, and then boot from it.

    I understand you can do this from a CD/DVD (machines i'm working with don't have optical drives), is it possible to do the same from a usb hard disk? I'm really hoping it is possible somehow, or it's a waste for me else.

    Thanks
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    I've seen some users here say they got it working on a flash drive. Do a forum search for those messages.
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Yes, TI can be placed on and booted from a USB hard drive. However, it requires manually editing the bootsector in most cases. You would need a flash drive and a disk editor (such as Acronis Disk Director).

    Since the computers you're using can boot from USB, wouldn't it be simpler to just use a USB flash drive? You can use the Acronis Media Builder program to build one. Just make sure the flash drive is formatted as FAT16 or FAT32 (whichever works best for your computers) before you run Builder.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2007
  4. pja123

    pja123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    MudCrab, thank you for your response. I had a feeling it was going to be a pain to do.

    I can't warrant further expense on Disk Director, can you recommend a free solution possibly?

    A flash drive would have sufficed, however the intention was to keep the images on the same device as the recovery software, which effectively rules the FD out - hence forth the usb hard disk.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    As far as I know, it can be done using Linux tools (an Ubuntu install or a Knoppix boot cd, for example). I have not done it that way and would have to work it out before I would feel confident to give you instructions. I modified the instructions I was given to use only Disk Director because it was easier. I also just used an old laptop drive when I did the test (it's only 6GB). I assume, though, that it will work just fine with larger drives.

    Have you worked with Linux, Knoppix or Ubuntu before? If so, are you familiar with the partition tools and the dd command?

    Also, do you have a computer that you can use to boot the Knoppix cd that you have completely backed up in case something goes wrong. You would being working with partitions and drives. If the wrong one gets selected you will wipe something out. Not trying to scare you, just asking.
     
  6. pja123

    pja123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Familiar with those only by name unfortunately, i'm running in a purely MS environment.

    If that's the only way it'll work, then i'll have to give it a try - i'll see if i can get a trial version of disk director.
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    I have run some tests this morning and I think I've come up with a much easier way for you that only uses TI. Also, I don't think the trial version of DD will allow you to save any changes when running from the rescue cd.

    I will send you a Private Message with the info.
     
  8. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    You can do it for free by booting BartPE with the TI plugin from a USB drive. Visit my website and read the Beginner's Guide to BartPE. The bottom section gives links and instructions for booting BartPE from a USB flash drive. It should also work for normal USB drive.
     
  9. pja123

    pja123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    MudCrab and Mustang - thanks for your help, it is much appreciated.

    I'll have a dabble this evening, using the proposed solutions, both of which look very promising.

    Paul
     
  10. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    pja, I consulted my Google Gods for "run applications from usb drive" and here's one of the links that came up:

    http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,123266-page,1/article.html

    Also I remember someone buying a standard (3.5" drive) external drive that came with software that allowed you to run any application from the external hard drive. I'll see if I can dig out that information.
     
  11. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    pja123,

    I worked on this some more. Take a look at this post.
     
  13. pja123

    pja123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    In the end i opted for MudCrab's solution, which worked like a dream. Thank you MubCrab - my hat off to you;) .

    I can now boot from the usb hard disk and it fires up straight into the recovery manager, which is spot on!!

    It would be nice to see an update in future for TI10 which enables it to see usb hard disks (or at least a few flavours). In any case, I am now using the product as i had hoped for originally, and i couldn't be happier.

    Excellent advice all round, thanks alot guys for your input:D .
     
  14. jerryberry

    jerryberry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Hi Mudcrab

    Just looking to set up a solution like described - I need a USB drive to be bootable with a buch of images on the rest of the desk. Before I check I just want to be sure of what you mean in the thread,

    when you say make the Flash Drive Bootable using the Acronis media builder what do you mean?

    When you run the rescue media builder do you mean you can select the flash drive to be bootable?

    Thanks alot in advance.
     
  15. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    jerryberry,

    You can use the Acronis Media Builder program to create a bootable flash drive containing the rescue media. You just select the usb flash drive from the list of available devices. Make sure the flash drive is formatted as FAT32 first.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.