True Image Recovery disk does not work

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mpoirier, Jun 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mpoirier

    mpoirier Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    The program "seems" to do backups ok. But...

    Whenever I try the "Rescue Disk", which obviously you need to recover a crashed partition, the program says I have "no hard disk" !?!

    I also installed and activated the private storage but it did not help.

    There are no other setings in the program to make it see the hard disks...

    How come a backup program cannot do a restore ?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    Where is the backup image saved? Is it on another internal drive or an external drive? The Safe Mode version of TI is another thing you can try if the Full Mode version won't see your drives properly. To get the Safe Mode version, log into your Acronis account and download it. After you install it, create a new TI CD using the Media Builder program and include the Safe Mode version.
     
  3. mpoirier

    mpoirier Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Hi, thanks for the hint!

    Backups were stored on the D: drive. I also tried with the Acronis protected storage. How can I make the drives visible to the "restore" part of the program ?

    No where in the application's help is mentioned some "acpi" setting...(?)

    It should just work.

    I am just happy I found the bug "before" I really need a restore !
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It's not really a "bug" in the general sense. The Linux drivers just are not correctly supporting your computer's hardware.

    The acpi command and others are listed in Appendix D of the TI 11 User's Guide.

    If the backup image is on an internal drive and the Safe Mode version correctly supports the hardware, you should be able to use it.

    You may also want to submit a support request to Acronis with your computer's information and see if they can provide you with a custom ISO. Another option is to create a BartPE or VistaPE CD.
     
  5. mpoirier

    mpoirier Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I installed a special offer free version 8 personal edition from the site. I guess I cannot ask for too much.

    Still, if acronis offers people a backup program, even for free, it does not help raise confidence level to use the program if you need to read some obscure tweak on a forum somewhere before you can get your data back...

    PS: Installed Ghost32 and it worked no problem the first time.
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Pardon my saying so but it's a bit like saying a Model T makes for a bumpy ride even though it earned a reputation for being a great car. Version 8 is being given away through a few diff venues -- it ought to be posted on those give-away links that this is old software and obsolete for much of the newer hardware made available in the last 4 years.

    Version 8 is 3 versions and a bit more than 3 years old -- given the year or so lag between hardware release and software adapted to work on it, that translates into about 4 years. That might not sound lke much in most situations but it's one generation in the PC software world and two or more generations in the PC hardware world. There is probably a whole lot of hardware upon which ATI8, or at least the bootCD, will not function. You should try the free version of the current version to get a better idea of whether ATI supports your platform or not. Version 10 would be even better, fewer bugs, but generally not available for sale anymore :-( .

    Btw, fowiw. I think that most of us that swore off Norton, did so, not so much because of the product performance but because of the notoriously poor support, sleazy ad gimicks and pop-ups built into purchased software, etc.

    There are lots of backup/imaging companies and most of the better ones offer free trials of their current version. Shp around, for product quality, cmpatibliity, vendor quality and support, and price.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.