True Image Home 2009 build 9788

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MKairys, Jun 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Can it be I am the first to post this :)

    Looks like they've improved the ASRM and the SZ but not fixed any problems...


    Release Notes for Acronis True Image 2009 Home Build 9788
    Acronis True Image Home 2009 is now Certified for Windows Vista.

    Acronis True Image Home 2009 enables you to back up and restore critical data, manage disks and partitions, recover from malware or simply from effects of undesirable software.

    The Acronis Startup Recovery Manager lets you start Acronis True Image Home 2009 without loading the operating system, e.g. when Windows won't start up for some reason. Combined with the Acronis Secure Zone, the Acronis Startup Recovery Manager lets you recover your system and/or restore data without bootable media such as CDs or external storage devices.

    The Acronis Startup Recovery Manager and Acronis Secure Zone have been updated as follows:

    The Acronis Startup Recover Manger is no longer installed in the Acronis Secure Zone. It remains resident on the primary partition. All other executable components of Acronis True Image Home 2009 run on the primary partition under the Windows operating system.

    It is therefore not necessary to create the Acronis Secure Zone in order to activate the Acronis Startup Recovery Manager. You can activate the Acronis Startup Recovery Manager when you run Acronis True Image Home 2009 for the first time by selecting the appropriate checkbox in the One-Click Protection options. You can also activate the Acronis Startup Recovery Manager later by choosing "Activate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager" in the Tools menu.

    You can now access the Acronis Secure Zone using the Windows operating system installed on your primary partition.

    When you create the Acronis Secure Zone, an icon will appear under My Computer in the Other section. Double-clicking on the Acronis Secure Zone icon will open the Acronis Secure Zone so that you can view all backup archives stored in it. You can also explore the Acronis Secure Zone contents using Windows explorer. If the Acronis Secure Zone is password-protected, any operation except viewing backup details will require entering the password.

    Using Windows Explorer, you can double-click on an archive to open it and show all backups (full, incremental, differential) belonging to the archive. Right-clicking on a specific backup opens a shortcut menu allowing you to choose a desired operation — mount (for image archives), restore, validate, update, remove the backup, and view backup's details. Double-clicking on a backup will start the default operation ("Mount" for image backups and "Restore" for data backups).

    NOTE: The Acronis Secure Zone is not hidden from the end user or the computer's primary operating system. Backup data on the Acronis Secure Zone is therefore not impervious to programs and processes performed on the primary partition.

    Please refer to Acronis True Image Home 2009 documentation for more information: http://download.acronis.com/pdf/TrueImage2009_ug.en.pdf

    Contents:
    System requirements
    Fixed issues
    Known issues and limitations of the version

    System requirements
    Minimum system requirements

    Acronis True Image Home requires the following hardware:

    Pentium processor or higher
    128 MB RAM
    CD-RW/DVD-RW drive for bootable media creation
    Mouse or other pointing device (recommended).

    Supported operating systems

    Windows XP SP 3
    Windows XP Professional x64 Edition SP2
    Windows Vista SP 2 (all editions)
    Fixed issues
    Fixed resetting of password and encryption options when editing a task prior to its first run
    Fixed the issue of incorrect log entry when scheduled task for incremental backup to USB HDD (which is recognized as non-removable) fails when this HDD is not present, but the log says "Operation has succeeded."
    Fixed loss of some default "File level security options" during My Data task creation
    Known issues and limitations of the version:
    Acronis True Image Home is unable to search:
    Archives in ZIP and TIB format on removable media
    Archives in ZIP format using GDS and WDS
    Archive to various places (AVP) does not work with FTP Server and the Acronis Secure Zone.
    Acronis True Image Home doesn't support backing up in compressed zip format to CD/DVD.
    The progress bar hangs when writing backups to CD\DVD. Please note that this does not prevent successful completion of the backup.
    Acronis True Image Home does not support GUID Partition Table (GPT) and dynamic disks. Dynamic disks are a type of RAID (Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks) storage supported by the Microsoft Windows operating system. Hardware-based RAID sets are supported by the software.
    When upgrading from Acronis True Image 11 Home, tasks are not ported to Acronis True Image Home 2009. Also, it will not be possible to edit tasks created with Acronis True Image 11 home, and previously created scheduled tasks must be recreated following the upgrade.
    When updating from ATIH 11 with activated Acronis True Image Startup Recovery Manager (ASRM) to Acronis True Image Home 2009, the ASRM operates in trial mode by default. The user will not be able to create backups, only restore backups. In order to create backups from the ASRM, first deactivate the ASRM by going to Tools->Activate Startup Recovery Manager->Deactivate and then re-activate the ASRM by going to Tools->Activate Startup Recovery Manager->Activate
     
  2. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Link to download?
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I cannot agree that Acronis have "improved" the Secure Zone.
    They have removed one of its strongest features.
    It is now no longer hidden from the operating system, corruption and viruses let alone careless mouse clicks.
    Why on earth have they made this daft change and yet still call it a Secure Zone?

    I wonder what the developers are actually smoking in their smoke filled rooms.

    Xpilot
     
  4. garyrh

    garyrh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Posts:
    21
    I have a problem with build 9788. I downloaded it from my registered products page and uninstalled old build and reinstalled new build and it asked me during the install for both my upgrade serial for 2009 and my version 11 number and after reboot and I start the program it asks me for my serial number for 2009 again and now it says it's invalid. Any one else having this problem.
     
  5. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    I haven't seen that yet but obviously I have limited experience with build 9788. You may need to get new serial numbers from Acronis.
     
  6. kaneman

    kaneman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Same problem here, I too, have an upgrade serial. Contacted Acronis, and they said they're investigating the problem and will email me later with an update. :rolleyes:

    First I uninstalled build 9709, then installed 9788, and received a message my serial was incorrect. Contacted Acronis and they asked me to uninstall with the Acronis Cleaner Utility and some other Microsoft utility. That DID NOT WORK. In fact Acronis remained partially installed after the cleaner utilities supposedly uninstalled. I had to do a modify installation to get my build working again, so I can completely uninstall.

    Then I re-installed build 9709 (activated it) and then installed build 9788 over that, yet it still requested my serial then told me it was incorrect.

    What fun :rolleyes:
     
  7. jimrx4

    jimrx4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    48
    This is in reply to garyrh's post. I am having the exact same problem. Used "chat now" and they advised me to use "Windows Office Uninstaller" or something close to that. They provided me with the link and also a link to AcronisUninstall Utility. Used them both and they practically ruined my system!!

    Rarely if every do I mess around with the registry, install routines, or uninstall routines. ATI had me running around in circles. When I used their utility and MS and tried to install the new update I got a registry error about can't open some unknown hardware key(?). And when I first, somehow got the program to install, I got a window that said this was a trial and the field where you're supposed to insert your serial number - after pasting my ATI 2009 serial - I got a sentence in red that told me my serial number was invalid.

    COME ON ACRONIS - YOU'RE CERTAINLY CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS!
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2009
  8. Skytrooper

    Skytrooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    101
    A few days ago, I installed build 9770 over 9709 and everything went fine. I didn't even have to enter a serial number and all my scheduled backups were retained. I just tried to install build 9788 and was told my serial number was incorrect. :(
     
  9. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Now is it spelt Fred Karno or Carno As in Fred Karno's Army ?

    I bet the qualiy control guys are called Stanley and Oliver.

    Xpilot
     
  10. JohnColorado1

    JohnColorado1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    DO NOT download build 9788.
    It is buggy, and Acronis knows it, and surprisingly they have not pulled it from their download page.
    Problem is it does not recognize your authentic serial number.
    Keeps saying that your authentic serial # is incorrect.
    So do NOT waste your time like I did all morning. I was with tech support all this morning, and after nothing worked, tech put me on a long hold and when he returned he embarrassingly acknowledged that Acronis knows about this issue and is working on a fix.
    Save yourself a lot of time and headaches and do NOT download this buggy version.
    Wait till Acronis fixes it and releases a new version shortly.
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    It didn't have a problem with my serial number when I installed 9,788, but it was a clean install (no previous TI/Acronis installations). However, it did crash Media Builder when I ran it from TI to create an ISO file. I reran it outside of TI and it worked.
     
  12. Skytrooper

    Skytrooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    101
    Well, Acronis Live Chat hasn't acknowledged any problem on their end to me. First, they referred me to Knowledge Base 2865 and to follow the steps there. I entered my serial number for replacement and was told my number was valid and didn't need replacement. I was directed to create a System Information File and export the Acronis registry key. I did this yet when I contacted Acronis support again they didn't want this information. Instead, they told me to uninstall ATI, install build 9709 and then install build 9788 over that. Build 9709 accepted my serial number. After rebooting and installing build 9788, when I opened the program I found I had a trial version which refused to accept my serial number (which I had to type manually as it wouldn't cut-and-paste).

    I'm going to use FirstDefense-ISR to switch my PC back to the state it was in earlier today with ATI build 9770 installed. What needless aggravation Acronis can be. :mad:
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2009
  13. Ade 1

    Ade 1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    In The Bath
    Thanks for the heads up. Was just downloading it. I'll wait to see if they release a fixed version.
     
  14. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    I'm very surprised at the number of people that are having problems with this build. I am not experiencing any issues that I'm aware of. No serial number problems. I did notice that in addition to the installation file the add-ons file and the user guide have been updated. Here's the steps that I followed:

    1. Uninstalled the Media Add-ons for Acronis True Image Home (see image below).
    2. Uninstalled Acronis True Image Home. This was build 9709 (see image below).
    3. Installed Acronis True Image Home. This is build 9788.
    4. Installed the new Media Add-ons for Acronis True Image Home (Bart & Safe Modes).
    5. Created the Rescue Media CD and booted with it - worked fine.
    6. Created a CD using the ISO file using Roxio Easy CD Creator v.6 and booted to it - worked fine.
    7. Created a new scheduled task. Ran the task in Windows and it worked fine. Validated the .tib and it appears to be OK.
    8. Have not created a .tib file yet using either bootable CD but they seem to be OK.
    9. Calculated the MD5 CheckSums for this posting:

    True Image 2009, build 9788 Installation File
    MD5 CheckSum: 957823483D492AA598291104F768E7B9

    True Image 2009 Addons
    MD5 CheckSum: CE016D16F720C308542E178666BD1903

    6-15-2009 14-31-37.jpg

    6-15-2009 14-35-56.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2009
  15. kaneman

    kaneman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Just curious if your Acronis TI was an upgrade purchase or full retail purchase.

    I think the installation problems might be specific to those that purchased TI via an upgrade, which is my problem.

    It appears the new build will not validate an upgrade serial. In the previous build, upon installation, I was prompted for my TI09 serial, then prompted to enter my previous version serial. With the new build, it doesn't even validate my serial, let alone prompt me for my previous version serial.
     
  16. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    It was an upgrade. I simply downloaded the files from the Registered Products page. The previous v.9709 was also an upgrade so I needed to also enter the serial number for v.11. Not a big deal but with any upgrade you are prompted to enter the serial number for a prior version.
     
  17. kaneman

    kaneman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    With that in mind, I then have no idea why mine and others serials are being rejected. I assumed Acronis gave out two types of serials, an upgrade and a full retail. I guess my theory is wrong.

    Anyhow, I decided to test build 9788 on a virtual machine that has no previous ATI installs. This time around, I was prompted for my 2009 serial, and my previous version serial. After install, I rebooted the VM, and then started ATI, and was prompted to enter my serial again, and same thing occurred as did on my host PC where it rejected my 2009 serial as incorrect.
     
  18. Skytrooper

    Skytrooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    101
    My copy of ATI v2009 is a full retail purchase, not an upgrade from a previous version. I just tried uninstalling ATI then doing a clean install of build 9788 instead of installing over build 9709 as Live Chat recommended. My perfectly valid serial number was still rejected. :(
     
  19. jimrx4

    jimrx4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    48
    Echo...Echo...

    Live Chat is a day behind.
     
  20. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    What VM software were you using?

    What OS and service pack?

    ---

    I used VPC 2007 SP1 running Vista SP1. I will note that my serial number was already exchanged from the original (shortly after TI 2009 was released).
     
  21. meerkat

    meerkat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I've got the same problem. Invalid serial number. I have the upgrade serial number.

    Just talked with Chat. They're working on it, but don't have a time line. It was suggested I uninstall 9788 and go back to an older version.

    Is there anyway to save my scheduled tasks and transfer them to a new version? Chat said NO.

    I would hate to rewrite and test all the scheduled tasks, since I can't reinstall the old version over top of this new one.
     
  22. kaneman

    kaneman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    XP Pro x64 sp2 on a VMWare VM

    My host machine is Vista Ultimate x64 sp2
     
  23. broomeman

    broomeman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Same problem here.

    It rejects my serial number as invalid.

    I had purchased a full version of 11, then an Upgrade version of 2009.

    Previous updates had asked for both serials. This update asked for only one and it rejected the one I have.
     
  24. MKairys

    MKairys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Seems to me the thing to do is (a) nothing, and wait a week or two for a newer build, or (b) follow Bruce's instructions to uninstall 9709 and then install 9788 cleanly.

    I would add: make an image first with 9709 and verify you have a bootable disk, and then you will have the option to just restore back.
     
  25. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    My suggestion would be to do nothing at present. Don't rush into an update until further information is available. This appears to be a serial number issue of which we as users have no control. If this is true there is a quality control matter that many users will not connect with. I don't see a path that informs the user that an update is suggested. Comments from users suggest that e-mail notifications are not effective or working.

    The fact that I was successful is not to suggest that there is not a problem. This is complex software and I do simple full single partition only backups and restores. The other fluff in the application is not appreciated or used. Will be interesting to see how my scheduled backup works tomorrow at 3 AM with build 9788 and e-mail notifications.

    Bruce
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.