True Image Failing to Detect Disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Needshelpbadly, Mar 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I am trying to clone a 30gb hdd to a new 60 gb hdd in an external enclosure connected to my laptop through the usb drive. I set it up and it reboots, coming into the detection process, the partition scans up to 100%, then I get the error: disk not found. Tells me to click any key to continue so I do. Computer reboots and nothing happens, drive is not cloned. I need help badly with this problem. I have tried ghost and it failed. Looks like true image will also fail. Please help.
     
  2. frankb_c

    frankb_c Guest

    I have the same problem with my desktop.
    Tried to clone and/or image to USB HD.
    Sent message to support@acronis.com yesterday. Awaiting reply.
     
  3. DLee

    DLee Guest

    Does anyone have a solution to this problem?
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    We are really sorry for the inconveniences.

    Please create Acronis Report (please see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317 for the instructions) and send to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread (if you haven't yet). We will certainly help you with the solution of the problem.

    If you do not get any reply within 48 hours please send me a PM with your Acronis request # which will be sent to you in autoreply to your letter.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  5. waruibanana

    waruibanana Guest

    Any resolution to this issue? I am having the same problem- Error disk not found. Would love to get past this so I can test a clone of my labtop HDD.
    I have also had no luck using Ghost.
     
  6. frankb_c

    frankb_c Guest

    Well I did a download of build 800 for True Image 8.0. Have you downloaded and tries this route?
    Seems to have resolved as I was able to do a cloning of my hard drive.

    Build 796 did let me do imaging of drive's.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello waruibanana,

    Please download the latest (800) build of Acronis True Image, which is available on our web site at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/. To get access to updates you should register your software first at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/registration/. Please disable any download managers, internet download/connection boosters, etc. before the download.

    If the problem persists please send a letter with Acronis Report and the link to this thread to support@acronis.com. To get Acronis Report please see https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  8. waruibanana

    waruibanana Guest

    Thank you for the reply. I tried again with build 800. Unfortunately, I still had the same issue: Disk not found. Any other ideas? I have sent a report to customer support already, but no reply yet.
    Thanks.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello waruibanana,

    I am really sorry the issue remained with the latest build.

    If you don't get any reply within 48 hours please send me a PM with your Acronis request # which was sent to you in autoreply. I will find the reason for the delay.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  10. frankb_c

    frankb_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Well, I tried to do a cloning of my HD today as I have changed, and cleaned some software.

    Back to square 1.
    Go through all the menu's and reboot.
    At reboot

    Analysing partition
    [################] 100%
    ERROR: DISK NOT FOUND
    press any key to reboot your computer

    re-booted 3 times and the same message.....
    What is wrongo_O
     
  11. iflyprivate

    iflyprivate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    125
    I have the same problem with TrueImage build 796 and 800. I have a Dell laptop and a new 2.5" USB2.0 external enclosure from CompUSA.

    I have successfully cloned my hard drive but only after four or five attempts which failed with ERROR: DISK NOT FOUND.

    I found that if I stepped VERY slowly through the cloning setup screens allowing the internal and external hard drives to be accessed, written, etc., then the likelihood of a successful external drive detection after the TrueImage-initiated reboot was increased. Still, no guarantee though.

    The detection process seems to be random. And, it seems to result from some kind of timing problem when TrueImage reboots but I'm just a novice guessing based on my observation of LED's flashing on the internal and external drives. Very unscientific and frustrating because, otherwise, I'm very satisfied with TrueImage 8.

    Here's my gripe:

    Every time someone brings this same problem up, as I am several other users have done in other old threads, the official Acronis Support response is the same: create a report and send a PM.

    Well, that's no longer good enough. We need SOLUTIONS, SUGGESTED WORKAROUNDS or at least an ACKNOWLEDGEMENT of the cause of the failure to detect the external drive.

    Why is there no positive information or feedback on this very annoying issue? Please, Acronis, RESPOND in this forum with a SUGGESTION, at least.
     
  12. frankb_c

    frankb_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    "Canned response"

    "Thank you for choosing Acronis"
    "Sorry"
    "Please create Acronis report"

    I looked at the report... its a binary form of my complete system including everything loaded on my computer. Its a takeoff of "Belarc"

    Why does a software house require complete history to answer a simple question?
    "sytem requirements" indicates what the program should work with.

    I agree with Iflyprivate..... scrap the canned response"
    Give some work-arounds.... that we can try.

    I
     
  13. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience.

    This problem may result from different reasons and the workarounds are different in each case. That is why we need diagnostic info from everyone who encounters this issue. Acronis Report shows the detailed partition structure, the state of the disks installed, the way Acronis drivers are installed, etc.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  14. iflyprivate

    iflyprivate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    125
    Ilya,

    Thank you for being responsive to the various questions in this forum. Any level of tech support is better than nothing.

    I don't question the validity of your needing Acronis Report results to further study this fault in TrueImage 8. I do feel frustrated that you have no suggestions for workarounds or even an acknowledgement that you have been aware of and working on this problem and consider it a priority to find a solution.

    After all, imaging to an external USB drive appears to be a very common use for TrueImage 8. When you hear that it fails or is unreliable, I would think your software engineers would jump on the problem immediately, not sit around researching the reports of failures which, because each computer user has a slightly different configuration of software and hardware, will vary almost to the extent of being useless in drawing conclusions as to the cause of TrueImage's failure to detect an attached USB drive.

    I suggest that because you have advertised so heavily that this product CAN and WILL image to an external USB hard drive and because you have implied that the process will be completed predictably and reliably, that Acronis is obligated to QUICKLY publish a SOLUTION for this failure to perform as advertised and as described in the user's manual. Or, you should offer a prompt refund of the purchase price for those seeking one.

    I think it is unreasonable for Acronis to arbitrarily assume that you have the right to continue to market what you know is a defective product or to continue to advertise the product's capability to perform a specific popular and necessary function when, in fact, you know that it cannot predictably or reliably perform such a function and that it cannot perform an advertised function by utilizing the vast majority of commonly installed hardware and software combinations that comprise most users' systems.

    Further, I believe it is a violation of your customers' trust and an imposition on your customers' time and patience and that it is an unreasonable imposition on the customer support relationship to repeatedly request that users troubleshoot, gather reports and communicate individually and collectively with your company regarding this widely reported and well known failure of TrueImage 8 to perform as advertised. Acronis should take the bull by the horns and proactively find a solution.

    Ilya, how difficult is it for an engineer to design or test a boot-up program which states that it is loading the appropriate USB drivers to scan the USB bus for the very USB drive that it loaded drivers to detect?

    I mean, after all, this seems like it should be a pretty simple action for a boot-up program to do. Maybe I'm wrong, I'm certainly not a software engineer.

    Acronis has a fine product in TrueImage 8 and many loyal users, but it has some bugs. Some of those bugs probably relate to some rather unique applications of the product or to some unusual user configurations and environments and are, therefore, expected to pop up occasionally.

    However, the ERROR: DISK NOT FOUND error should NEVER pop up. It's so basic, you know?

    Another example of Acronis shooting themselves in the foot is the Connect-Debounce Failed error. I mean, guys, you've known about it for quite some time now and builds 796 and 800 still have the problem. Why do you release these builds with known errors in them?? It's silly to think that you're doing your reputation any good by carrying out such a short-sighted action. It would be far better to FIX THE KNOWN ERRORS before you release another build.

    Well, in summary, I want you to know that I will continue to use TrueImage 8 but with the knowledge and frustration of having to deal with its faults. It's a disappointment to find a fine program with such a show-stopper flaw in it and then discover that it was well known to you and should have been cured long ago.

    Bob
     
  15. MiniMax

    MiniMax Guest

    iflyprivate/Bob - much of what you write is true. The problem as I see it, is that Acronis and its software engineers are trying to balance 2 issues at the same time:
    1. Attract customers without technical background by proving new, easy-to-use features like Secure Zone. There is a lot of potential for growth in that market.
    2. Making their existing products work reliable with a large variety of devices - with the least amount of effort. And that meant to build the product on top of a Linux kernel which (hopefully) would provide the device support they needed.
    For me, ease-of-use is not very important. I grew up with CP/M, DOS, RT-11, VMS, and Unix, so arcane command lines or configuration files are no problem.

    I chose TrueImage, PartitionExpert et al because of the Linux foundation. If you go hunting for an error message like the "Connect-Debounce Failed", you will discover that it stems from a standard Linux kernel. Knowing the rapid and constant development of Linux it is commercially tempting for Acronis to just wait for the Linux community to provide a free fix.

    But Acronis do not just wait passively on the side line. Before I bought PartionExpert I looked around, and one of the plusses I found, was that I saw the names of Acronis engineers contributing to the development of the Linux kernel. I do not know what the situation is today, but I hope it has not changed dramatically, even if the managers at Acronis would rather see the engineers spend their time on glitzy new GUI features :)

    Speaking of external USB devices, one also has to look at the actual hardware used - both the controllers on the motherboard and the controllers used in the external device. I am the proud owner of an NVIDIA nForce2 based motherboard, and this chipset has several well-known problems with certain USB controllers. Here is what NVIDIA says (and I suspect it could be true for other chipsets as well):

    So if an external HD enclosure (most likely the cheapest one found after searching the Internet for hours :) ) fails, who is to blame? Acronis? The mobo/chipset manufacturer? Genesys? All of the above?

    I am still confident that building a product like TrueImage on top of Linux is a good, long term strategy that is much more likely to succeed with an increasing number of devices, than a solution built around say DR-DOS and in-house developed IDE/PATA/SATA/USB/DVD/network drivers.

    (I have plenty of time tonight - I am trying to salvage a hard disk gone bad in an IBM ThinkPad laptop. TrueImage 6.0 is struggling to get past the bad sectors as it slowly - very slowly - is creating a sector-by-sector image. I am amazed that it is still running....)
     
  16. cengiz

    cengiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Same problem with an Acer travelmate, 3 different external USB HD's and none works.I hope the solution will come soon. :rolleyes:
     
  17. iflyprivate

    iflyprivate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Posts:
    125
    To Minimax:

    I don't want to sound like I'm on a mission here because I'm not. Furthermore, this isn't my thread. But I do want to briefly reply to your comments because you addressed them to me. I don't disagree with anything you wrote.

    I wish to point out though, that we're not talking about motherboard-to-USB incompatibilities here as far as I know which is what your tech info relates to.

    What we are talking about is a whole bunch of external USB 2.0 hard drive enclosures and hard drive assemblies that work just fine for their owners in all other respects EXCEPT during the TrueImage cloning process after the TrueImage-initiated reboot (which is part of the cloning process). Only within that narrow realm are these otherwise satisfactorily functioning USB external hard drives 'missing in action' and only because the Acronis TrueImage program seems to be flawed.

    As for whether the price of the USB enclosure or hard drive has anything to do with TrueImage's failure to work properly, I believe the evidence points toward a problem within TrueImage regardless of the cost of the enclosure.

    As for whether it's a bright idea to build a program on a Linux kernel or not is way beyond my technical competency to discuss. All I'm concerned with is whether I feel I got the value that I was led to believe I would get by purchasing TrueImage 8 after reading the advertising literature and downloading the user manual prior to purchase.

    I am very positively impressed with TrueImage's capability to do what I want to do. Unforunately, it doesn't always do what I want it to do when I want to do it. When it works, it works great. It just needs to work all the time.

    Only Acronis can make that happen and only if they attach some significance to the requirement to fix this flaw in a timely fashion.
     
  18. frankb_c

    frankb_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    No problem imaging to another drive. Than copy to DVD.
    Just did and all fine. Tomorrow will check the imaging files.


    Not so, for cloning.
    Just get the same message

    Tried to go more slowly.... but still after 3 tries, strike-out.

    for info, using winXP Home SP2.
    from WD160 Gb HD to USB 2.0 Maxtor 120 GB, allowing proportional partitioning.
    Total Gb's is 3.7 on C, 3.2 on E,2.1 on F.

    Where does the "Disk not found " come from?
    The OS and TI recognise the USB in the set up before the reboot.
    On Mar the 6th... it worked.
    Yesterday, today .... DISK NOT FOUND.
     
  19. cengiz

    cengiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    Me again
    Acronis Fails to Detect Usb Disks with the True Image rescue disc yes but :eek: if you stop the boot process during 'Starting Acronis Loader... ' with F11 and clear the quiet option ,Click Ok and Type exit at the command prompt, It starts the user interface and all the discs are detected and ready to use :D
    This is okey for me :cool:
     
  20. frankb_c

    frankb_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Cloning is the subject.
    "True Image Failing to Detect Disk"

    While trying to clone.
    PS
    Tried again, and at the light blue screen with the message

    Analysing partition
    [################] 100%
    ERROR: DISK NOT FOUND
    press any key to reboot your computer

    Computer does not recognise F11 as a key.
    the spacebar, yes..

    No problem with imaging. To other drive, and copy to DVD.
    Have not tried the TI rescue disk for imaging... but... that is another subject.
     
  21. waruibanana

    waruibanana Guest

    Success!
    Using the previous posters suggestion to enter bios during bootup prior to Acronis starting up, then exiting without doing anything, letting the boot continue, somehow TI recognized the disk! And the clone works! Here are the steps I took:

    1. Run the application as usual. Clone, Automatic. USB harddrive is
    destination. Local harddrive is source.
    2. Acronis initiated reboot.
    3. F10 (for this laptop) to enter bios.
    4. Immediately exit bios without making any changes.
    5. Acronis starts doing its thing.
    6. This time instead of the application freezing with "disk not found"
    error, it cruises through the entire cloning process, and completes the
    task.

    I am writing this email with the clone running in my laptop! It worked!

    It is not much of a help to you guys who are trying to provide functional software, but somehow, by entering the bios, the USB disk was found by Acronis...
    ....or was it just random?
     
  22. frankb_c

    frankb_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    waruibanana
    tried that! Went one better.
    Removed TI 800 build. Re-installed.
    Went trhough the menu's. Except that in my case I go custom instead of automatic.
    I want to keep the exixting HD in place and use the clone as backup.
    At boot up I use the "Del" to enter bios. "Esc" to exit with no change.

    Still the same

    Analysing partition
    [################] 100%
    ERROR: DISK NOT FOUND
    press any key to reboot your computer

    NO F keys will work to re-start.
    Any other key, tried this 4 times, for the same results.
    keep giving Ideas, and I'll keep trying.
     
  23. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    We have contacted our Development Team concerning this problem. It is currently being investigated and we expect the fix to be implemented soon.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ilya Toytman
     
  24. frankb_c

    frankb_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Thank you Ikya,
    I'm sure they can. Looking forward to cloning again....soon.
     
  25. frankb_c

    frankb_c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Posts:
    28
    Well I had a thought... and tried it.

    Went to the external HD that I wanted to clone to (maxtor 120 gb)
    and started to delete any file/folders, and noted that the
    "system volume information" would not allow itself to be deleted.
    I went into Control Panel/Administration tools/Computer management/Disk Management/ and wanted to do a format of the partitions.
    But Alas as the original Clone of March the 6th, had partitioned and kept my FAT32 drives.
    I was unable to keep the FAT 32 unless I stayed below the 32gb. So I deleted the partitions, and reformated as 31.x for three and the last for 20.x gb's
    to stay fat 32.
    Now I had the HD partitioned in 4, and FAT32.
    Went into TI build 800 and went throught the steps to CLONE.
    Choose the proportional, and it showed that it would do 45+,34+,34+, at FAT32.
    YES, that's what I wanted....

    But alas, the results remained the same.

    Analysing partition
    [################] 100%
    ERROR: DISK NOT FOUND
    press any key to reboot your computer

    The HD did not change from 4 to 3 partitions. Which is OK.
    The trial was done to determine if the TI could not function because of the "System Volume Information" files folders being present.
    All I proved is that Blank external HD or otherwise
    TI CLONE does NOT work... at present.
    Something for the development team, to ponder over.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.