True Image Echo Workstation Problem - Slow

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by wmiles, May 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wmiles

    wmiles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    True Image Echo Workstation Problem - Slow - Acronis Respond ASAP Urgent

    Hi

    We are using Acronis True Image Echo Workstation build 8076

    Here we go.

    I'm having a problem with an XP pro machine, connected to a Domain, backing up to a share on that domain, which is a USB2 external unit. Basically a 11GB image is taking 2 hours to backup.

    Now

    On a completely seperate note from the above, i'm backing up to the exact same location, using True Image Echo Server, on a Server 2003 box and it takes 15mins to backup about the same amount of data. This is not local, it's still backing up over the network.

    The network is 100MB based.

    The two servers have broadcom network cards.
    The XP Pro machine has a Marvell Yukon Network card, with updated drivers.

    So basically, any ideas why my XP Pro machine is taking soooo long in comparison to the Server 2003.

    Cheers

    Wayne
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2008
  2. wmiles

    wmiles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Acronis, could you answer this today, or at least respond to my email from days ago.

    I have attached the job log.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 16, 2008
  3. wmiles

    wmiles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Anyone?
     
  4. wmiles

    wmiles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    Please help as this is being backed up nightly and is taking too long.
     
  5. tsmith35

    tsmith35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    A long shot, but pull up taskmgr on the XP Pro machine and check out the network throughput. Perhaps the machine is connected at 10mbps. Another possibility is antivirus software on the XP Pro machine may be slowing the backup speed.
     
  6. wmiles

    wmiles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Posts:
    37
    The machine sits between 10 and 15% network utilization, however, if you transfer a large file using windows, then you end up with 90% utilization
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello wmiles,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Remote Workstation Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    As I can see, your issue is already being worked upon.

    Meanwhile, we recommend you to follow the suggestion in this thread.

    Regarding your question about support of Marvell Yukon Network Devices: please be aware that when run from Windows, Acronis True Image uses Windows drivers to access hardware. So, as a device is recognized by Windows, it will be recognized by Acronis True Image as well.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.