True Image Echo Full Backup Crashes Server 2003

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Excel, Aug 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Excel

    Excel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    This has been an intermittent problem that's frustrating beyond belief. Sometimes, whether doing a full or incremental backup on Windows Server 2003, the process gets to some random % of completion and then locks up the computer. After reboot, it will repeat the process and usually lock up again. This can go on for two or three days and then for no apparent reason, it starts running it's scheduled backups perfectly. No error is recorded in the Acronis log or System log.

    Details:
    Acronis True Image Echo Server, always the latest build
    Windows Server 2003, Enterprise SP2

    Also installed:
    Exchange Server 2003
    SQL Server 2005
    ASP.NET 1.0,2.0

    Attempted with both VSS enabled/disabled with same results.
     
  2. gbp

    gbp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    That sounds to me like a device driver/kernel problem, I assume you have scrutinised the Event Viewer logs around the time of the system crash? Is it a "Blue screen of death" or a reboot?
     
  3. Excel

    Excel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I have, it registers no event. It's just a complete system freeze. No BSOD or reboot. It locks at random points and the server will not even respond to ping requests after it happens and requires a cold reboot.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Excel,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Server Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    It's possible that there is a memory defect that doesn't manifest under normal system load, but appears under increased load of the imaging process. We recommend you run a memory diagnostics such a Memtest86+ available free from www.memtest.org for several hours. There should be no errors reported. Sometimes, errors take a long time to appear, 8 hours and more.

    If memtest shows no errors, please collect some information to let us try to investigate the problem thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also make a screen shot of the Device Tree application the following way:
    - Download and unpack the Device Tree application;
    - Run the application;
    - Completely unfold the \Driver\Disk and \Driver\FtDisk branches;
    - Move the margin to the left in order to see all the items;
    - Make a screen shot.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will do our best to investigate the problem and provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. Stache

    Stache Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    And do not assume that just because memtest86+ reports errors, that it is in fact memory that is bad.
    Take the memory out and test it again in a different system.

    Had a flaky system a few years ago.
    Thats when I learned about memtest86+.

    Ran Memtest found errors, put memory in another system and no errors.
    Put different memory in first system. Still got errors.
    Turned out that the Intel CPU had gone bad after a year of use and was causing the errors.
    Returned CPU to Intel under warranty. No memtest errors now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.