True Image and USB - it doesn't work

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by teco, Apr 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. teco

    teco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Hi,

    I have the following problem:
    True Image does not work with some mainboards and the USB 2.0 Controller on it.
    Every time it stops on the USB Detection and USB devices.

    Anybody else who has this problems and maybe a solution?

    Thkx.

    Used Versions
    True Image 8 Server Build 1002
    True Image 8 Home Build 2337

    both are the lastest versions in german language.
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    A little more information would help.

    Are you booting from the TI Recovery CD or running TI from withing Windows?

    If making the images from within Windows to the external USB 2 disks is successful, then the problem may be the Linux drivers for your motherboard.

    Have you tried disconnecting all USB devices except the USB hard drive. Some devices cause problems for TI. A built-in memory card reader could be the culprit if it has the typical USB internal connection.
     
  3. teco

    teco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Tried to boot from the TI Recovery CD and from Windows (after requesting a restart for restoring an active partition)

    Windows works fine. Only the Linux part stop working.

    There is no internal CD Drive so I must connect an external CD Drive and an USB-HDD. there is no build in memory card reader on the mainboard.

    The mainboard has the following functions:
    VIA Chipset/Intel Chipset, depending on Board and Processor
    AMD: Athlon XP, Sempron
    INTEL: Pentium 4, Xeon, Duo Core, Mobile Processors
    S-ATA (not all Mainboards)
    internal VGA
    LAN
    USB 2.0
    IDE-RAID (VIA, Promise, Intel)
    COM
    LPT
    Soundcard: AC 97 compatible
    No Firewire, No Cardreader, No Gameport

    RAM: 256 MB DDR

    Any more information needed please let me know.


    btw: Tested with Ghost 2003 and Ghost 10 Recovery CD: Both are working.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello teco,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that the latest build of Acronis True Image 8.0 Server for Windows is 1018 and the latest build of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home is 3567. Please download them at http://www.acronis.de/enterprise/support/updates/

    Please create the bootable rescue media with the latest build (it would be better to use build 3567), boot your computer from it and see whether the problem persists.

    If the problem persists, please boot your computer from the Acronis True Image rescue disc and press F11 key when the selection screen appears. After you get the "Linux kernel command line" prompt, please modify it in the following way:

    quiet acpi=off noapic, click on the OK button and choose "Full Version".

    If that does not help, please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  5. teco

    teco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    TO: Acronis Support

    There is a private message about this in your mailbox with our emailadress for further information.
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    What happens if you disconnect the USB external CD-ROM? You dont' need this when you are backing up or restoring from the USB hard drive.
     
  7. teco

    teco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    The USB Hdd is not configured as a bootable hdd and the secure zone is not installed.

    PROBLEM FIXED.
    With using the following parameters:
    quiet acpi=off noapic the Recovery CD works.

    btw: any way to add these parameters permanently to a CD or to the Bootimage inside the Secure Zone?


    Thank you.
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello teco,

    Acronis can provide you with a special ISO image that you can burn to CD. See this <previous Acronis Support reply> to someone who needed to incorporate a Firewire parameter for details.

    If you are unsure how to burn a bootable ISO image file to CD then checkout the following links:

    http://trb.org/publications/burning_iso.html
    (Nero Burning ROM and Roxio Easy CD Creator)

    http://iso.snoekonline.com/iso.htm
    http://www.petri.co.il/how_to_write_iso_files_to_cd.htm
    (other applications)

    Regards
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello teco,

    If you want to add "acpi=off noapic" or any other parameters permanently to Bootable Rescue CD, please follow the Menorcaman's advice and submit a request for technical support describing the issue. Provide the information confirming your purchase of Acronis software (order number, e-mail, where did you purchase our product, etc.) in your request along with the link to this thread. We will certainly provide you with the respective ISO image.

    As for adding some special parameters permanently to Acronis Startup Recovery Manager, please follow the instructions provided in this previous post of mine.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.