True Image and Diskeeper

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bill7102, Feb 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bill7102

    bill7102 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Are there any negative affects that Diskeeper would have on True Image? If Diskeeper migrates data, doesn't that requrie True Image to then account for that on its next incremental backup run?
     
  2. paulmer

    paulmer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Shouldn't be any issues. Diskeeper migrating data is simply what happens with any defragmenter software, as it consolidates data around the disk. The data is still on the disk.
    I always do a lot of house cleaning with registry cleaners including defragmenting the disk before doing a backup. But my use is different from yours, in that I don't bother with incrimental backups. I use the "quick and dirty" way. I do a full disk backup using the boot/recovery disc every 2-4 weeks or so.
    Remember, the built in defragmenter in windows versions is a scaled down version of the Diskeeper (Executive Software) commercial version. So they work in the same way. Just the one MS license has no bells and whistles.
     
  3. bill7102

    bill7102 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks...

    I guess where I get confused is that True Image is a making an "image" copy of the disk rather than just the overall delta content -- regardless of where it exists on the disk. My thinking was that if a block of data moves as part of the defrag process -- the data doesn't logically change but it has on the physical disk since it now resides in a different place. I figured that migration might have to be accounted for in the overall image and reconstructing the image on a new disk...

    On a daily basis -- about 20% of my full backup size is made on my incremental. It is the OS (C) drive and seems a bit high for a home PC. I migrated mail and My Docs to another drive so those don't account for the incremental deltas.
     
  4. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    It does, but ATI doesn't do that properly. Hence, the unnecessarily inflated size of your "incremental" images.

    One way to balance defragging and imaging with ATI is to defrag less frequently (it's not uncommon for people to defrag more frequently than it's worth) and only defrag just prior to FULL imaging.
     
  5. xeonbuilder

    xeonbuilder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    crofttk is totally correct about the inflated incremental backups when using diskeeper as well as other defrag progs.

    I found that if my image is gonna be less 20 to 50GB, I just create a new image and delete the old ones to avoid that problem with defrag progs.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that everytime Acronis True Image creates a backup it makes a snapshot. This snapshot takes the low-level structure of the hard drive/partition. If this structure was changed somehow (for example by a defragmentation) then the snapshot will be different from the snapshot taken before these changes.

    When Acronis True Image creates a differential/incremental backup It compares the snapshots taken by the full backup and by the current backup procedure and makes an image of the difference between those two snapshots.

    I hope that my explanation is clear enough. If you have any further questions please feel free to ask.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.