True Image 9 on Raid 1 disks

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Chi, Feb 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chi

    Chi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Can anyone out there help me please?
    I recently installed a Raid 1 with two 400GB disks on the Asus P5W DH Deluxe mobo. Before the installation, True Image was working with my two other non Raid disks. However since I installed the Raid 1, the software was hanging during the Analysing stage (stuck on the Raid disks).

    I have downloaded the latest update from Acronis and have a clean installation and it's still not working. I read about that True Image will only support Raid where the driver is supported by Windows (I am running XP Pro). I must said the driver is supplied by Asus directly. Is this the reason why the software is not working?

    Many thanks.
    Chi
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    The Windows drivers are used only when running TI in Windows. There may be newer Acronis drivers that will work in Windows, but I don't know if the current ones available will work with TI 9. You may need to contact Acronis Support regarding this.

    Have you run chkdsk /f on the new RAID setup to check for any errors?

    From the TI CD, it uses either Linux drivers (in its Full Mode) or the BIOS (in its Safe Mode) to access drives. The P5W may be too new for TI 9 to have RAID drivers included for it.

    Does the Full Mode version work from the TI CD? If not, have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    Also, have you tried the Safe Mode version of TI 9 to see if can find the RAID setup?
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2008
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Chi,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please collect some information to let us investigate the problem thoroughly?

    Please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  4. Chi

    Chi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you MudCrap for your suggestion. I have tried all the options except the Safe Mode as I have been runnind TI in the Windows instead of at Dos mode. I might give that a go. Thanks. Also, you will saying that TI 9 might not work on P5W, do you know if TI11 works with Raid 1 (mirroring) set up?

    To Acronis support team, thank you for your post. I have been in contact with Maria Borisova to resolve this issue. She has been really helpful but I have not been getting any further. Also, as TI hanged at Analyzing stage, the Report.exe program cannot pass the Analyzing stage too. So I cannot provide her any system details. Can I use SIW to provide you details instead?
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Chi,

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Unfortunately, SIW does not collect the kind of information Acronis Report does. Please try creating Acronis Report in the following way:
    - Download and run Acronis Report Utility;
    - Select the "Create Bootable Floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the A: drive and proceed with creation of the bootable floppy;
    - Boot the computer from this diskette and wait for report creation process to finish;
    - Collect the report file from the floppy.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the investigation of your issue is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.