True Image 9 build 2289

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by pjiv, Oct 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pjiv

    pjiv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    75
    Ok, I purchased this yesterday because of all the positive reviews I have seen, and then noticed they were all referring to 8 not 9. I have backed up my system created the rescue media and went to load it, and the rescue media boots and the full version gives me a blank screen after a few seconds. The safe mode loads but I did not attempt to restore yet.

    Did I waste my money on buying 9? I hope not. A lot of people told me to purchase Norton Ghost, which was cheaper, but I decided to try this. So far, I'm not too impressed.

    Support has been contacted and we'll see what happens. I checked this forum and tried the F11 while booting, to no avail it does nothing.
     
  2. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    No, you have not wasted your money since they went through the same pain with TI8 when that was released. I reckon that Acronis will iron out the wrinkles in the very near future. I understand the next build is due in the next few days.
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    One of the later builds of TI8 had a restore problem (build 826) -- the restore program did not restore files correctly. The TI9 restore program on the CD, build 2277, gave me a similar kind of problem. Said all my backups were corrupt and so I couldn't do restores. Since the backups were made with various prior builds, all verified after backup, I knew they images were ok.

    Build 2289 restore program on the boot CD gave me no prob, restored fine, files or entiere images. However, is was pretty scarry finding out a restore program doesn't work after you've already told the restore program, "go ahead and delete existing partition and replace with the restore image." After that step it was find a working build or drop dead. Luckily TI9 build 2289 worked for me or would have had to dig out an old copy of TI8's last build. The last build of TI8 (937) is pretty reliable, just not as robust in features as TI9. TI9 should become as reliable as the last build of TI8 soon.
     
  4. pjiv

    pjiv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    75
    well I can't even run the restore utility, well not the full version anyhow. Is the difference ONLY the additional drivers that are loaded? I'm restoring from an internal HD, but I want to be able to use my HUGE External USB in the future. This I know is not possible right now. I wish I would have known this in advance.

    Is 8.0 worth purchasing until 9 is stable?
     
  5. Snakeyes

    Snakeyes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2004
    Posts:
    52
    TI8 (937) is excellent and worth getting. TI 9 is great if you want the pleasure of being a Beta tester at the cost of backup security. Cheers
     
  6. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Possibly, but I would try today's new build (2302) of v9.0 first to see if that improves things for you.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pjiv,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    First of all please make sure that you create a bootable CD with the latest build (2302) of Acronis True Image 9.0. In order to get access to updates you should register account on our site (or just log in if you have already created it) and then register your copy of the product.

    If the problem remains please try the "acpi=off noapic" workaround and if it doesn't help please create sysinfo.txt file (please see Acronis Help Post for the instructions) and send it to Acronis Support along with the link to this thread (your post). We will try to help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  8. pjiv

    pjiv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    75
    The work around works. I still have yet to try my External HD with it.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello pjiv,

    Glad to hear the workaround helped you. If you wish we may give you the instructions on how to get the "acpi=off noapic" parameters included into the Acronis Bootable CD. To do that please send a letter with the link to this thread, full name of your version of Acronis True Image and the serial number for it to Acronis Support. We will provide you with the necessary information.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  10. pjiv

    pjiv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Posts:
    75
    Why don't you just post this information. It was not hard to do.
    For others....

    Go to your Acronis program directory and edit the F11.cfg file, insert the workaround line you need, and save it. Burn your restore disk. This is not complicated.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.