True Image 9. Build 2277 Not able to backup to network drive?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tstone, Oct 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tstone

    tstone Guest

    Is it just my network or is there something wrong with the build? I have had no previous problems with version 6-8 backing up to a network drive. But with this version I am unable to accomplish this. I get an error that states the file name, location or format of .tib is not valid. Please type the name or location in the correct format.


    Any ideas? This is rather dissapointing, on a side note this version also does not recognize an external USB drive?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello tstone,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please create screen shots of your actions in Create Backup Wizard and the screen shot of the error message,also please create System Information File and send all the information to support@acronis.com along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  3. Mike Odryna

    Mike Odryna Guest

    I am having the same problem from the boot disk. I just purchased 9.0 and I wnat to creat a hard ddrive image at boot level onot a network share. I continuously get the aforementioned error message.

    Has this issue been resolved. It appears this thread started over a year ago.

    Mike
     
  4. Mike Odryna

    Mike Odryna Guest

    Sorry about the year ago comment I see this started yesterday.

    Mike
     
  5. modryna

    modryna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I just did some more testing. It appears that if you attempt to do a Disk Clone from inside of windows, thiings work fine. No problems creating a file on a network share.

    When you attempt to do it from the bootable CD you get the filename error.

    I wonder if t has something to do with the fact that the bootable disk is based on the linux kernal and it does not understand how to create a file on a windows machine?

    Mike
     
  6. mark7

    mark7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    No need to apologize. TI has had various network issues - some still outstanding after more than a year. I currently must use a special build provided by Acronis support, as I have not been able to image over my network with the public releases since Arconis changed the network drivers early in v8. Version 9 does not work over my network, either. The target computer locks up. Although this is not related to the filename issue of this thread, the point is that network issues are nothing new for TI...
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    If you have any network problems with Acronis Bootable CD please create sysinfo.txt file, then please boot your computer from the Acronis True Image rescue disc and press F11 key when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears. After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please remove the "quiet" word, click on the "OK" button and wait for # prompt to appear. Please insert a diskette into a floppy disk drive and issue the following commands:

    asamba dhcp -n
    asamba masters

    Send us the output after each of the commands;

    cd tmp
    mkdir mntdir
    mount /devfs/floppy/0 mntdir
    cat /proc/net/dev > mntdir/net.txt
    umount mntdir

    Send us the net.txt file from the diskette.

    Please send all the information and sysinfo.txt file to support@acronis.com along with the detailed information about your problem. We will investigate it and help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  8. modryna

    modryna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I tried what you said but then I could not email the TXT file. Windows did not recognize it.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello modryna,

    Could you please clarify what operting system you have and what do you mean by "Windows did not recognize it"? Did you try to create the net.txt file to floppy disk?

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  10. modryna

    modryna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I used the Rescue CD on a Windows XP Pro system. I entered the commands as instructed. The net.txt file was subsequently created on the floppy.

    Then I rebooted the machine into windows and tried to open it using notepad, the program says the file cannot be read.

    Then I tried to email the file to you via Outlook and ran into the same problem.

    The bottom line is that the net.txt file was created in a format that windows does not recognize i.e. Linux.

    Mike
     
  11. gugus

    gugus Guest

    We have after asamba dhcp -n:

    SIOCDELRT: Unknow error 3

    we get a IP lease

    asamba masters:

    xx.xx.xx.xx server domain M ....(Domain Master)
    xx.xx.xx.yy server workgroup M ...(ev SAMBA oder NFS Linux server)
     
  12. gugus

    gugus Guest

    it is so easy.... (after bluddy 2 houres)

    Solution or better Workaround

    just enable local (not the domain) guest account and give share und file security rights to the directory....

    enviroment: W2K Server with AD

    it not very smart but its helps
     
  13. opp69

    opp69 Guest

    We have the same problem with last build 2279.

    Network backup is not working with the Rescue Disk : filename error problem.
     
  14. Chris_2005

    Chris_2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    We have the same problem. It only works with guest account enabled and access for group "everyone" to the share.

    But this is only a temporary workaround no fix!!!

    We use TI 9.0 Build 2289.

    We need to fix that problem soon!
     
  15. lucid1

    lucid1 Guest

    Same problem here with Acronis Corp Workstation. Whats the word on a real fix for this? The main reason we bought the product is to create images through the network... I really don't want to go back to ghost.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.