True Image 9.0d TRIAL - Is it restricted functionality!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by MSP, Oct 4, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MSP

    MSP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I have downloaded the trial and been trying to get it to work, BUT whenever I restore any files they get truncated. They appear ok if I "plug in" the image as a drive, and an integrity check passes.

    I can't see any warnings about the trial being a limited functionality......

    If it is, where is it documented what should and should not work!!!!

    (I have just noticed the UK site, which still only sells version 8 states its Trail version is limited functionality).

    Cheers
    Mark
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2005
  2. Hannes

    Hannes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Posts:
    35
    Re: True Image 9.0d TRIAL - Is it restricted functionality

    It is not a problem just with the trial version - it's a problem with 9.0! Many folks including myself BOUGHT that version and face the same problems.
     
  3. MSP

    MSP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I can't find any posts about truncated restore, and the UK site does mention the 8.0 trial is limited in its restore functionality (though I am using the US 9.0d trial).

    My backup passes the integrity check ok, and mounts ok, just doesn't restore.

    On the other hand I am not feeling at all confident in Acronis at the moment. Appears to be a lot of unhappy punters!!!

    I suppose I could buy Norton Ghost, but I bought their Antivirus/firewall, and ended up uninstalling it as being bloated, buggy and slow - causing more problems than it was worth - No idea how it wins all the awards. I wonder if Ghost is any better (think I saw a mention of a 168MB download...).

    Cheers
    Mark
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello MSP,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please provide us with the more detailed information about the issue? What OS do you run? Please describe all your actions before the issue appears step-by-step. Did you create a file backup or a backup of the entire hard drive? Did you try to restore the single file?

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  5. MSP

    MSP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    I have already raised this with the tech support email address, but so far have not had a reply. I posted in the hope that it was just a "trial limitation"....

    I will post with a ticket number when I get home!

    I have included the text of my bug report here, but not the attachments. Do you want me to email you a copy direct? If so send me a PM and an email address!

    ==========================================================

    I have downloaded the trial version of "Acronis True Image Trial version 9.0
    build 9 - 2,273)", but I can not get RESTORE to work - ALL files get
    TRUNCATED!!!!

    The backup (full disk image) ran without error and verified ok (logs attached).

    I have attempted restoring individual files from both the windows and the
    recovery CD version to drive C which is a large FAT32 disk. I have also
    attempted windows restore to H: which is the external USB2 disk formatted as
    NTFS.

    All files are truncated, for example fable.htm (see attachments):-

    Original file 183 KB (188,109 bytes) - Size on disk 192 KB (196,608 bytes)
    Restored file 180 KB (184,320 bytes) - Size on disk 180 KB (184,320 bytes)

    I have rather suspicious that the truncated restored "file size" and "size
    on disk" are identical. Has the file been truncated to a cluster size of
    something bad?!

    BUT, If I attempt to mount the backup as drives (ie. plug image), I can
    browse the backup using windows explorer, and when I copy a file off it is
    complete!!!

    Another bug is that whilst the single file restore lets me browse all the
    drives in the backup (FAT32 and linux ext2), the mount (plug image) will
    only mount the FAT32 drives....

    Any idea what is going wrongo_O?

    At the moment I don't have any confidence that the non-Trial program
    works!!!!!!!!! So dare not buy it:-(

    I have also attached the system info output and the output of the
    acronisreport.exe utilities

    Yours Faithfully

    Mark Phillips
     
  6. MSP

    MSP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Ticket #370488 date 3/10/05 - No reply received so far (other than auto receipt).
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello MSP,

    I have found your letter, Alexander will send the letter to you. Please note that the trial version has only the one limitation: you cannot create backup from Acronis bootable CD.

    Also Acronis True Image 9.0 can not explore a backup of a partition with Linux file system. To perform this operation we suggest to use Acronis True Image Server for Linux (http://www.acronis.com/enterprise/products/ATISLin/), that can explore images using 'trueimagemnt' command.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  8. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Irina, I understand that the trial intentionally cannot make backups from the CD. However when I tried to restore a backup from a 2277 CD boot (obviously a backup made from windows) which was stored on the primary partition, I could not browse to the tib file. Is this a limitation of the trial or is this a bug?

    Thanks
    Foggy
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Foggy,

    It is very strange because you should see all the tib files. Please describe where this file is stored in Windows and where you try to find it in rescue mode. It is possible that Acronis Bootable Rescue Media (full version) displays wrong drive letters, it can display drive letters different from those the user sees in Windows, because Linux has its own rules of drive naming.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  10. MSP

    MSP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    My problem is a bit different, I can browse the TIB file and select individual files for restore from both FAT32 and EXT2 partitions, BUT all the files are truncated when restored........

    Behaviour is identical if I do the file restore from the (trial) boot CD or from inside windows.

    If I mount a FAT32 partition (ie. plug in) then, as long as it is FAT32 (not ext2), I can browse it and copy files off OK.

    As it stands, not being able to restore files from within the boot CD means that the product is USELESS to me. I already own file backup s/w which can save and restore files from inside windows. I need to be able to restore files and partitions from the boot CD.

    I have no idea if complete partition restore works - I don't want to lose my disk contents experimenting!!!!

    I noticed that the TRIAL is an old BUILD, how can I TRIAL the current build, without buying it (and risking it not being any better)!!!
     
  11. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Dear MSP. If you register with the Acronis site you can download the latest trial build - your 15 day window trial window is reset.

    Foggy
     
  12. MSP

    MSP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    (I'm sure I tried upgrading before, but just got another copy of the old build BUT, tried again and I am now running 2,277).

    The results are identical to those I had with 2,273 :-(

    Single backup of my entire first disk and two partitions from my second disk. Attempting to restore individual files (to an alternative location, from windows) results in truncated files.

    I can see that each file has been truncated to an exact multiple of 4096 bytes!!!!

    Using TI to "plug in" the drive does work, allowing me to view and correctly copy files, so presumably TI is missunderstanding the FAT32 image in some way....
     
  13. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
     
  14. MSP

    MSP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    1) Tried backing, then restoring indivdual files from an NTFS partition - CORRUPT, this time lengths correct, but tail of files corrupt!!!!

    Detail:-

    I decided to backup (not using TI!) one of my smaller partitions to my new drive, then re-format the partition as NTFS (using win XP sp2's normal format menu) and restore the contents.

    Next I backed the, now NTFS, partition using TI 2,277 to a TIB file on my new USB drive

    Again I can mount (plug in) the drive and access the files ok, but if I try and restore some individual files they get restored corrupted!!!!!

    This time the lengths ARE identical, but the tail end of the file has been corrupted!

    2) Attempted a restore of the original FAT32 backup, restore type being full partition instead of individual files....

    This appeared to work correctly!

    As a side note, in pretty much all operations I noticed the "current operation" progress bar grows, but the "Total Operation progress" bar keeps flicking back to 0% before jumping back up to where it had got to!

    3) Attempted a restore of the NTFS backup, restore type being full partition instead of individual files....

    This appeared to work correctly!

    So it just appears that ALL individual file restores are BADLY broken, regardless of if restoring from a FAT32 backup or an NTFS backup.....
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello MSP,

    Providing such a detailed information is very much appreciated.

    However, I believe that this issue requires a deeper investigation.

    Could you please collect the following information?

    - Create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Tell us where do you store your images;

    - Run "regedit" command and let us know the data lines of the below registry keys:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E967-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318} -> UpperFilters

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{71A27CDD-812A-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F} -> UpperFilters

    Send all the collected files and information to support@acronis.com along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  16. MSP

    MSP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    No problem. It looks like a really nice product, except that it doesn't work (for me).
    The Acronisreport output and sysinfo output was ALL included in the original report.

    Ticket #370488 dated 3/10/05

    Do you want me to email it in again? The only change is that I reformated one partition as NTFS and did some more tests.

    Images are stored on H: which is a "Western Digital 250GB 7200 RPM USB2.0 Essential External Drive"...

    I am not using the "secure zone", just backing up to a TIB file in H:'s NTFS filesystem.

    I will collect this info and post it when I get home tonight.

     
  17. MSP

    MSP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Posts:
    14
    Ok got home and checked the requested registry keys:-
    PartMgr
    snapman

    VolSnap
    snapman
    timounter
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.