true image 9.0 won't work with vista

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by emmmhm2005, Jul 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emmmhm2005

    emmmhm2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Did the new version 9.1 support to work with vista ?
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Not yet, there are other posts on this in the forum.

    You will be able to boot from the CD and make an image of a Vista install, but if I recall correctly, you can't install it even with Vista set to XP mode.

    Of course once Vista comes out of beta and RCx is released Microsoft will probably start handing out their API's etc to their (Microsoft's) unimportant software development customers.

    Colin
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2006
  3. emmmhm2005

    emmmhm2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you very much for your help. appreciated you effort.
     
  4. MarkA

    MarkA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Though TI may not officially support Vista, I, nonetheless, am running TI 9, Build 3677 with Beta 2. It wouldn't work until I turned off User Account Control. Since then it works as well as it does in XP or any other OS. I posted this a few weeks ago but it got lost in the fray. At least, it works fine for me. It's found under Control Panel/User Accounts/Change Security Settings. Just uncheck Use User Account Control (UAC) to help protect your computer. You will have to reboot for it to take effect. Then install TI (Right Click on the .exe and choose "Run as administrator".

    Mark
     
  5. Pennhaven

    Pennhaven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Your tip worked for me with Vista Beta 2. Thanks.

    But I am wondering if you have tried upgrading to Vista RC1 yet? Vista Beta 2 will not let me uninstall Acronis TrueImage cleanly. And Vista RC1 will not allow me to upgrade from beta 2. The installer is "unable to create a required installation file." Don't know for sure yet, by I'm guessing that TrueImage is getting in the way somehow.

    [Edit] it turns out that the installer error I encountered was not due to TI. It was a media issue with my DVD ROM. It is still true though that TrueImage 9.0 would not uninstall completely from beta 2.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2006
  6. tansu

    tansu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    210
    Hi,
    I use Vista RC1, I boot from CD, it worked. Then I restored and just need to make a short repair of vista. And it runs OK.
     
  7. Pennhaven

    Pennhaven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Sorry, I do not understand what you mean. What did you restore? Do you mean you did a repair install of Vista RC1 over beta 2??

    Or do you mean you are running TI from a boot CD rather than from your hard drive?

    Or if you do have TI installed on your hard drive with RC1, did you also have it with Beta 2?

    Then did you upgrade from Beta 2 to RC1? Or did you do a clean install of RC1?

    Sorry for all the questions. I just do not understand if your experience is actually comparable to mine and how it might help me. Thanks.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Please be aware that none of the currently available Acronis True Image versions supports Windows Vista. We will implement the support for this operating system as soon as it will be released officially.

    Please note that you will surely be able to backup\clone partition\disk where Windows Vista is installed using Acronis True Image either from within the supported Windows version or in Linux based Acronis Rescue Environment, i.e. using 'Full' version of Bootable Rescue CD or Acronis Startup Recovery Manager also known as "F11 feature". You will be able to do this even if this disk\partition has some kind of unsupported or corrupted file system (see this previous thread for details). However, we cannot guarantee that the cloned\restored Windows Vista installation will remain bootable\function normally in this case.

    Thank you.
    --
    Ivan Sarychev
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.