True Image 9.0 - Completed with errors

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jeff.rowsell, Oct 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jeff.rowsell

    jeff.rowsell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    It seems everytime I create an image I get "Backup archive creation has been completed with errors." I have tested this on a couple of systems and it happens everytime to see if its specific to one pc and it isn't. I even updated my product to the latest build 2289 and still the problem exists. When I restore the image it restores fine and works fine, however, seeing this error message when creating an image is not reassuring.

    To tech support, is this a known issue? Is there anything I can do to fix this or will a new build fix this problem? Please advise.

    Jeff
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Jeff,

    Yes, it's a known bug. Acronis Support have confirmed that their Development Team are working on it and that the problem will be fixed in a forthcoming new build.

    Regards
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Jeff,

    This problem is known but we need diagnostic information from you. Please create the sysinfo.txt file (please see Acronis Help Post for the instructions) and send it to Acronis Support along with the link to this thread.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  4. Troy

    Troy Guest

    I am glad it is a known issue as I am getting the same error. Except when I get the error it is when I boot off of the bootable cd and create the image using the boot disk. It says image created but had errors. Will this be corrected soon?
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Troy,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that this issue has been resolved and the fix will be available in the nearest build. Unfortunately, we can't give you the exact date of the new build release but we assure you that it'll become available in the nearest future. We would be grateful if you waited a bit for it to be released.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  6. scaa

    scaa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    202
    Well, lots and lots of hasty builds of version 9 have been released and we have been downloading one build after the other hoping against hope that this would be the perfect build, but problems have continued.
    I would request you NOT TO RELEASE ANY FURTHER BUILD WITHOUT BEING ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN ABOUT ALL ITS FULL AND CORRECT FUNCTIONALITY

    At present your own image is getting tarnished. Our earnest expectation is that the product we like and trust RULES
     
  7. I'm going elsewhere for our backup needs for our company. Too many errors here. I dont have the time, nor do I want the responsibility of producing error inhanced backups on multiple boxes.

    If a backup fails, IT'S MY NECK

    Sorry guys, you lost my business

    Scott
     
  8. scaa

    scaa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    202
    Let's hope it does'nt result in an :rolleyes: EXODUSB]
     
  9. Troy

    Troy Guest

    One thing I forgot to mention. Dove-tailing from Jeff's post when he restored the image that originally had reported that the image was created but had errors; he was still able to restore that image.

    After I received that message while using the boot cd; I clicked on Validate image; after doing so; it reported back saying the image was corrupt; it did this every single time.

    Will this be corrected in the next build as well?

    Thank you again,

    Troy
     
  10. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Hi Troy,

    You may have a more serious problem. When others, including myself, boot off the TI 9 Build 2289 CD we get the "created with errors" message at the end of the image creation. However, if I/we check the image either from the TI CD or in Windows, the image is reported as valid.

    If you test your image in Windows, is it reported as valid? Can you Plug (Explore) the image and copy data files from it. If not, you may actually have corrupt images that will not restore.

    If you have real corrupt images, andother build may not fix the problem. It might be a hardware problem with your system.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2005
  11. scaa

    scaa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    202
    Hi jmk94903,
    You are absolutely correct.I am having the same problem.The image completes with errors AFTER completion, but while checking the archive it says the image is OK.
     
  12. Troy

    Troy Guest

    When I performed the check archive; I did this operation from the boot cd right after the archive was created; once doing so it reported the image as corrupt.

    After reading everyones threads; I decided to check it in Windows. I was able to mount the image and browse the contents. After success with that; I performed the check archive and the archive passed with flying colors.

    It looks as though the archive will report back corrupt if you try it from the boot cd but Windows reports differently; could be another bug in TI 9?

    Thank you for the input; these thread forums are great!

    Troy
     
  13. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Anyone know if this latest build #2302 of version 9 has the "image is corrupt" and "E00070020" error messages that many people were getting with all the other builds of version 9 fixed?
     
  14. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    In my case, after a "conpleted with errors" message, I verified while still in the Recovery CD boot, and it verified as good.

    So, the error seems to be a regular when booting from the Recovery CD. A good verification seems to vary. Sometimes it verifies from the boot CD and sometimes only in Windows.

    It will be nice to see this disturbing message disappear when images are good.
     
  15. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    jmk:

    Was that with the newest build of TI9 -- 2302 ?

    or was that a prior build ?
     
  16. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Having just completed installing TI 9, build 2302, I gave it a try and did not see these errors that were consistantly there in all previously builds. This was just a single trial so more time will be needed to confirm it.

    Setting up a scheduled task I did receive a script/scripting error. Having previously installed TI 8, I discovered that 'uninstalling' TI 8 did not removed the Acronis folder at c:\Documents and Settings\[User Name]\Application Data\Acronis. Deleting the Acronis folder here seems to have corrected this error. The default location for TI 9 creates the folder at c:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Acronis.

    More time will be needed to check this out, particularily creating a scheduled task without setting a password. This gave me problems with previous builds of TI 9 but TI 8 worked just fine.
     
  17. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Trying again and booting the PC from the off state (a cold boot) to the build 2302 Rescue Media CD and creating a new image, the image appeared to be created OK in that it completed fine. However, as with previous builds of version 9, the message "Backup archive creation has been created with errors" is still presented. Therefore, I have to conclude that the issue is not fixed with this build. The confidence factor comes into play and is very much a concern when starting from an 'Off' condition which is what you would have if replacing a failed hard drive with a 'perceived' good image.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2005
  18. dyse

    dyse Guest

    I did the same

    Cold Boot (Safe selection) from 2302 rescue media.
    Imaged a SATA drive to IDE drive. Set auto verify

    Took a long time but completed and verified with no errors.
    P4 3.2 1gig RAM Xpsp2
     
  19. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Well, I walked away last night after updating to build 2302 and telling TI to back up my entire Disk1, with 73 GB of data on two partitions, auto-verify on.

    Came back this morning and it had completed -- with errors yet again in the verify stage: "Image corrupted (0x70020)"

    :(

    Due to a prior engagement, I'll have to defer a closer look until later.
     
  20. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Installed TI 9.0 Build 2303 and created new bootable recue CD. Booted from the rescue CD and carried out the following tests:

    - Full backup without auto verification
    - Full backup with auto verification
    - Incremental backup without auto verification
    - Incremental backup with auto verification

    In each case the operation completed without any error messages.

    Therefore, in my case, build 2302 has cured the problem I had with the build 2289. Namely, that of reporting the operation had completed successfully but with errors after backing up from the rescue CD.

    Regards
     
  21. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Thanks for sharing, Menorcaman.

    Soon as I have the time, I'll have to give that a go and see if it's also cleared up for me.
     
  22. mangray

    mangray Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    Vienna
    Thanks Menorcaman

    just I am waiting for the German Version :cool:

    nice day
    mangray
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.