True Image 9.0 comatible with Vista?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by thebigdintx, Jul 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I have a copy of Acronis True Image 9.0 that I'm not using (I used it on an old XP machine I don't have anymore...note: I removed Acronis off it before I got rid of it). I wanted to use it for my new laptop I got that has Vista Home Premium (32-bit) on it, and I wanted to know if that version of True Image was compatible with Vista.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    The last build of TI 10 (4,942) was the first one to "officially" support Vista. However, TI 11 and later are the versions that actually update Vista's BCD file so that a restored partition can boot (for partitions setup using Vista's offset).

    TI 9 can't be installed in Vista. You can use the TI CD to backup and restore your Vista drive/partition. Just be aware that you may need to do a boot repair after you restore it the first time. Another option is to prepare the BCD file before you do a backup so it's ready. More information can be found in this thread.
     
  3. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I don't have any other partitions on my disc...just the main "C" partition (no hidden ones either). I am only wanting to make full disc images to an external usb drive. So, your saying that I can boot to the rescue CD and create full disc images without any problem correct?
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Correct ... until you do a Restore. With the version 9 Rescue CD, after a Restore of a Vista Image, you will have to insert the Vista CD and do a repair. It only takes 5 minutes.
     
  5. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas

    Well, I don't have a Vista DVD for my laptop, so I wouldn't be able to do a repair. My 160GB hard drive came divided up into 3 partitions consisting of the main "C" one, a smaller "D" one, and a 15GB hidden one that had Lenovo's OneKey recovery system on it. I didn't like my space all used up like that, so I unhid the hidden partition, and made all 3 into just the 1 large "C" partition like I want it to be. Only now, I don't have the OneKey recovery system to use anymore, so I was going to use my old copy of TI to do my back-up images/restores. I guess I could go in and make the changes to the BCD file (although I'm a little worried about doing that and messing something up).
     
  6. bjproc

    bjproc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    30
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    thebigdintx,

    I may recommend you to upgrade the license to Acronis True Image Home 2009. Acronis True Image Home 2009 is compatible with Windows Vista.

    You can install a trial version in order to make sure that the program runs flawless for you.

    If you would like to purchase the upgrade to Acronis True Image Home 2009, please visit the Acronis online store.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.