True Image 2009 does not lock my d drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by david_h, Aug 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Hi,

    I have recently moved most of my data to a second hard drive (d drive) and I back up particular data files on both drives (c and d). My mail files are on the d drive and Acronis now throws up errors in regard to particular mail files that it says is in use by another program (my mail program I guess). When I studied the log I noted that Acronis starts the backup process by locking c drive but not the d - hence that's why I am getting the errors I suppose. How can I force it to lock both drives?
     
  2. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    OK, I have narrowed the problem down. I have removed the c drive from the backup routine as I thought it might only lock the one drive. The log now does not mention locking and the backup fails on the same files. A couple of other bits of information:

    1) I'm using the latest version 9770
    2) My d drive is a RAID 1 configuration
    3) I'm running Windows 7 RC1
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello David,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please note that Windows 7 is not officially supported by Acronis software, and the proper functionality is not guaranteed.

    Nevertheless, could you please let us know the following? Do you try to perform a backup of the partition or do you try to backup the data files only?

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  4. david_h

    david_h Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Oleg,

    I don't select the whole partition. I select the "Users" folder only which contains all the data in a number of sub-folders.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello David,

    Thank you for the provided information.

    It appears the program fails to take the ownership over the folders. You can overcome the issue if you create Acronis Bootable Rescue Media and perform the operation under it. Acronis Bootable Rescue Media is based on Linux OS, and it will be able to handle these files ignoring the Windows permissions.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.