True Image 11 with USB drives not booting and no Drive Letters

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Chaotic, Dec 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chaotic

    Chaotic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I tried cloning my two drives using usb cables attached to the drives and it all works great

    the data is there the drives are identical for the most part..

    the problem I have is that there are no Drive Letters on the Cloned Drive.

    the partitions are there, just no drive letters for each of the partitions.

    I assigned drive letters using Disk Director and then I can browse the partitions on the cloned drive with XP no problem.

    however the Cloned disk does not boot.

    I attempted it a few times following suggestions in these forums and all come out the same... it says completed successfully but still no drive letters untill I assign them and non-bootable wether I assign letters or not

    I went through the cloned drive and all the data is there 100% seems to be perfect.


    I found more posts in forums about rebooting before windows has a chance to detect the drive but this doesnt seem to help.


    I even went as far as to create a bootable TI-11 and DD combo CD and unfortunatley it doesnt seem to recognize USB without the windows operating system.
     
  2. NumLock

    NumLock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    223
    Backup the C drive of your original system and then restore the 'MBR and Track 0' of that backup into the new disk. Then try again.

    If that didn't work, make sure to have the new cloned HD as the primary master HD and then boot into Windows XP recovery mode and just run the command that will automatically fix the MBR.

    I have a high feeling that it is just the MBR.
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Chaotic,

    This is normal if you clone with Ghost 9 onwards. There are no drive letters on the target HD. I can't recall it happening with TI. If you assign drive letters, the target HD won't boot.

    So try cloning again, remove the old HD and try to boot from the new HD.

    Is this a laptop? What brand?
     
  4. Chaotic

    Chaotic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I am not cloning the Hard drive thats inside the computer... I have 2 hard drives connected Via USB cables.. I am trying to clone one that is a bootable drive to the other. the hard drives came out of my Desktop.. I am trying to get a working backup is all

    I then take the new drive thats cloned remove it from the USB cabe where I install it into a seperate computer. and attempt to boot it with no success. they are identical drives in MFG name and size.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Chaotic,

    I've been out of town. What you are attempting has a high probability of failure due to CHS geometry issues. When a HD is cloned, the new HD really needs to be in its "final resting position" during the operation. Not attached to a USB cable or installed in another computer.
     
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Windows XP will not boot from a USB external drive full stop. It will boot from an e-sata drive.

    Try physically inserting the cloned drive into your PC (disconnecting or removing the current drive natch!). See how you go.

    Colin
     
  7. Chaotic

    Chaotic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    where did you get the idea I was booting from a USB external drive... I dont know how to make this any clearer..

    I have a computer DESKTOP (computer A)

    I remove the OLD drive and attach it to another computer (computer B) via a USB Cable
    I have a NEW drive I attach it to (Computer B) via another USB Cable

    I clone the two drives

    I take the NEW drive from the USB Cable and Install it into the Desktop (Computer A)

    it doesnt boot and there are no drive letters.


    if I explore the new drive using disk director I can see the contents are all there.




    I am not trying to boot via usb cables so remove this idea from your memory
     
  8. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.

    Not only have I removed this idea from my memory, but your complete topic as well.



    Colin
     
  9. Chaotic

    Chaotic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    nice its people like you that really help out and make the world a better place
     
  10. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
  11. Chaotic

    Chaotic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    ty very much I dl'ed the pdf and am reading it now.. good info :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.