TRUE hard drive size lost after image restore

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bmwisme, Feb 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bmwisme

    bmwisme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    What am I overlooking...

    Replaced 60 GB hard drive on my laptop with a 100 GB to allow room for installing Vista along side of the current OS Win XP Pro (dual boot). But, after restoring (TI 8.0 workstation) the XP image to the new 100GB hard drive I have don't have access to the extra (40 GB or so) of the new hard drive. BIOS, Windows, and partition utilities all report the new hard drive size as the same as the old 60 GB.

    I am assuming that the boot sector was written by the image restore and it's this boot sector that is indicating the hard drive size - 60 GB instead of the true size of 100 GB.

    Is this true, and if so, how do I restore my XP image and still allow access to unpartition space?

    Thanks, Bill
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
  3. Doug_B

    Doug_B Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    Please confirm that your BIOS reports a disk size of 60GB instead of 100GB. If so, was it reporting 100GB before you did the restore?

    Doug
     
  4. Danidevito

    Danidevito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Hi,

    I think If BIOS reports you that the new hard drive size is 60 GB, your laptop´s motherboard can´t suppot Hard disk-s with more size of 60 GB...
     
  5. bmwisme

    bmwisme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    My laptop is only 8 months old and does support 100 GB. The BIOS reported it as being 100 GB BEFORE the restore (complete drive image of previous drive).
    Now after the restore, all indicators report this as a 60 GB drive (no unpartitioned space available).
    I have read the many similar threads (and seeing the limitations) regarding MBR issues, full image vs. single partitions, full restores vs single partitions, etc. but still fail to determine how I can ADD another partition to this larger hard drive.

    It seems my only option may be:
    1: Wipe the new drive clean including MBR.
    2: Use some partitioning software to setup the SAME number of partitions as the old drive but larger to take advantage of the new drives capacity.
    3: Restore the old partitions one by one to the new drives partitions resizing to fill predefined partition size.
    4: Resize partitions with partitioning software and create another new partition for use with Vista.

    Does this sound doable OR is there a better way.
     
  6. Danidevito

    Danidevito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    You can try using sysprep utility
    Executing it in the first drive with

    Extendoempartition=1
    I use this parameter very much, and always resize the original partition size to the destination size

    [Unattended]
    ExtendOemPartition
    Value: 0 | 1 | <extra size in MB>

    The ExtendOemPartition key is used to extend the partition on which you are installing Windows 2000. This key causes Setup to extend this destination partition into any available unpartitioned space that physically follows it on the disk.

    where:

    • 0
    Setup does not extend the partition.

    • 1
    Setup extends the partition to fill out the hard disk.

    • <extra size in MB>
    Setup increases the current partition size by this amount.

    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/Windows2000Pro/deploy/unattend/sp1ch03.mspx
     
  7. bmwisme

    bmwisme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Danidevito,

    I am sorry, I don't follow. I currently (after restore) have 3 partitions:
    1: Hidden FAT for Dell utililty (very small).
    2: Boot NTFS - Windows XP Pro (56 GB).
    3: Hidden FAT32 - another holder for Dell utilities (3.5 GB).

    These 3 partitions filled the old 60 GB drive, but now I SHOULD have approx. 40 GB unpartitioned on the new 100 GB drive but this space does not show up. Need this space for Vista.

    Thanks, Bill

     
  8. Danidevito

    Danidevito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    ok,
    3 partitions,no problem.

    -First execute sysprep "with the extendoempartition parameter"in the original computer (read or learn about how to reseal with sysprep)
    -clone disk to the new hdd 60 to 100
    -starting your primary partition (boot partition)56Gb wil be resizes to the limit of the free space.

    First try extending volume with diskpart:

    Try using diskpart utility in command mode .....
    cmd
    diskpart
    and try
    selecting disk , partition , volume
    and
    extending your volume
     
  9. bmwisme

    bmwisme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Danidevito,

    See if I get this correct:

    1) Run sysprep on current 60 GB w/extendoempartition.
    2) Image 60 GB to external hard drive.
    3) Replace 60 GB with new blank 100 GB
    4) Restore image to 100 GB
    next...o_O

    I don't see how this creates another partition for my Vista install?



     
  10. bmwisme

    bmwisme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    If anyone is intested in the solution to my problem, it was solved by experimenting - details below...

    1) Wiped out the MBR/boot sector.
    1) Used Hitachi "Hard Disk Feature Tool" to change/correct the size (100GB).
    2) Used Qtparted on my "SystemRestoreCD" to partition.
    3) Restored each partition separately (not whole disk restore).

    This left the extra space unpartition - Vista up an running in dual boot.
     
  11. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    This is one of those issues that has come up at various times. It would be nice if Acronis told us just what is causing it and how to avoid it!
     
  12. udu

    udu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    hi bill

    what do you mean with "wiped out the mbr/boot sector"?

    rgds urs
     
  13. bmwisme

    bmwisme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Posts:
    13

    More specifically I "Erased" the boot sector.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.