Trouble with bootable CD

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by lebojojo, May 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lebojojo

    lebojojo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,

    After burning the Bootable CD Rescue Media Builder of DDS, I saw no FILES on it with File Explorer (despite properties of cd mentioned about +/- 23 MB of used space !)o_O
    CD could booting but after choosing the recommended option, I got nothing else than a black screen !
    After that, I got from Acronis support a ISO file to burn... but SAME PROBLEM no files on CD with File Explorer !:mad:
    CD could booting and seemed working fine (as I could get all options on screen) but my USB MOUSE is not working !(WINXP SP3 on Pentium 4 2MHz)
    Any help will be highly appreciated.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    Because of how the bootable CD is created, you may not see all (or any) files on the CD. This is normal. If you use an ISO program (like Ultra ISO) you can "dig down" and find the files.

    For the Full Mode version, have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    Have you tried using the Safe Mode version of DD? If the mouse doesn't work with the Safe Mode version, look in the BIOS and see if Legacy USB Support is enabled. If it's not, enable it and try again.
     
  3. lebojojo

    lebojojo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    What do you mean by Full Mode version ?
    Booting on CD (ISO version 10.0.2181 from Acronis Support) I have the following choices :
    1. Acronis Disk Director Suite
    2. Acronis Disk Director Suite without "quiet"
    3. Acronis Disk Director Suite [acpi=off noapic]
    4. Acronis Disk Director Suite [acpi=off noapic] without "quiet"
    5. Acronis Disk Director Suite nousb mode
    6. Acronis Disk Director Suite nousb mode without "quiet"
    There is no Full mode or Safe mode on screen !
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    It seems that Acronis doesn't usually include the Safe Mode version of DD in its custom ISO files.

    Every selection you list is going to run the Full Mode version. This version is Linux-based. The Safe Mode version is DOS-based and accesses the hardware through the computer's BIOS.

    Choice #3 in your list is the same as the option I was suggesting you try.

    Does #1 boot up okay except for no mouse? If not, which is the one that does boot successfully?

    When you're at the menu screen, does pressing the F11 key still bring up the parameters box (usually contains "quiet")? If so, you might try adding this parameter and see if it makes any difference for your mouse:
    Code:
    usbmouse=off
     
  5. lebojojo

    lebojojo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Ouch... Obviously it's a matter of bad luck...
    Just uninstall the soft...and launch a new install.
    But when I start DDS I have now the following message :
    E000101F4 : Application Module Error
    Cannot find the necessary Acronis Disk Director Suite modules.
    Please reinstall A.D.D.S.
    Reinstall twice unsuccessfully ! o_O
     
  6. lebojojo

    lebojojo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Oh... I forgot to tell you that option 1 and 3 is operational (no usb mouse but Touchpad is working).
    Nevertheless, there's a very quick message I would read just before the menu is on screen... but Pause/Break key doesn't work !
    Is there a other way to freeze the screen ?
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    If you don't have a current backup image of your drive (or, at least, your Windows partition), I recommend you make one. There's always the chance of further corruption or problems when installing/uninstalling/running cleanups/etc.

    ---

    Have you tried using the Acronis Cleanup Utility to remove DD? It may allow DD to install correctly afterwards. If this removes TI also, when you reinstall, install the older program first. For example: With TI 10/11/2009 and DD, install DD and then TI. With TI 9 or earlier and DD, install TI first and then DD.

    ---

    Trying to get the message that flashes on the screen when DD loads from the CD can be hard. Sometimes you can take a picture (usually takes several tries to hit the correct time). You may also be able to see the last message if you can press F11 and remove the word quiet from the parameters.

    ---

    Did you try the usbmouse=off parameter with the DD CD?
     
  8. lebojojo

    lebojojo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Acronis Cleanup Utility has no effect... DDS is still there in C:\Program Files\Acronis and he's not listed in the Add/Remove programs !... so the best way to do IMHO is to make a clean install (format and reinstall of WinXP Pro).
    But now I'm thinking of buying a good backup soft... True Image or Norton Ghost... What's the best for you ? Could TI give me the same problems than DDS ?
    ...But about the CD boot, the last think I'm worried about is now the following message (I took pictures with my canon... it was a very good idea... thanks to you !) :

    Acronis
    Loading, please wait...
    /bin/pccardctl: error while loading shared libraries : libsysfs.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
     
  9. lebojojo

    lebojojo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Dear Mudcrab,

    OK... reinstall of WinXP, other stuff and DDS 10 is now done !
    I'm worried now about the warning message of DDS boot disk !
    Does it mean that the ISO file received from Acronis is missing something ?
    Regards,
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    Linux is weird sometimes about loading and not loading things (it could also be a bug). The message may not even be anything important, in this case. However, you may want to contact Acronis Support and ask them. Most likely, you would need a custom (or updated) build if the error is going to cause a critical problem.

    Does DD seem to work correctly from the CD?
     
  11. lebojojo

    lebojojo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Yes, it seems to work correctly but I'm waiting the answer of Acronis Support.
    Nevertheless, in the meantime, I've made a Bart PEbuilder CD boot including DDS (following Base 1752 : Creating BartPE Media with Acronis Disk Director).
    But running DDS, I get the following message :

    Error
    E000101F4 : Acronis Disk Director Suite has not found any hard disk drives

    o_O
    I see that DDs has obviously many many bugs !
     
  12. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    Do you need to add any drivers to your BartPE build to support the chipset/controller?

    Does a standard XP CD see your drive(s) okay when you boot to it?
     
  13. lebojojo

    lebojojo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    No need to add any drivers to BartPE build !
    In BartPE, Total commander and other stuff recognize all disks and also a flash drive (XP CD also recognize drives) ... only problem with DDS !
    ...I bought TI 2009 and made a same BartPE CD without any problem !
    It"s a much more stable soft than DDS !
    It llooks like DDS is still on Beta test ! :mad:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.