Trouble with AntiTheft activation

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by bungiefan, Jan 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bungiefan

    bungiefan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    I tried to set up the feature, and it asked me to log in. It wanted an email address, not my ESET account ID though. After realizing this, I clicked the link to create an account, and it opened my web browser. I created one with the same email address as my ESET was registered with and it takes me to a page with step 1 being to buy a license and install the software. My program is now listing a Configure link instead of sign-in, but it keeps going back to that page, it won't let me see any settings. My machine name isn't listed anywhere that I can access. I can't uninstall without the email account and password, but it isn't accepting them.
     
  2. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Hello bungiefan

    I can remember that once the account is created, you will receive an email from ESET with information on how to activate your account, and that email-link you have to confirm before you can use my.eset...(remember to look in your spam folder if you can't see the email)

    Regards, Janus :)
     
  3. metaller

    metaller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Slovakia
    After you've created eset account and confirmed account registration, you need to add device to antitheft.
    Follow this link
    https://my.eset.com/help/en-US/howto_add_dev.htm
    to add device.

    Remember to provide credentials for your account (like in help page is described), that you created (email & pass).

    if any help needed, you're welcome ;) (write me a pm)
     
  4. bungiefan

    bungiefan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    I got the confirmation email and used the link, but ESET itself isn't prompting me for the login credentials like shown on the screenshots you linked to. I just have a configure link, and the prompt to disable it, which asks for login to uninstall/disable the program, but it won't take the credentials I got from registering.
     
  5. metaller

    metaller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Slovakia
    can you make a screenshot when you're going to add device to antitheft from ESS?
     
  6. bungiefan

    bungiefan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    USA
  7. smalleyj

    smalleyj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego
    When you try to disable Anti-Theft is it asking you for the email and password you used when you set up the Anti-Theft account or is it asking for a 'settings protection' password?

    If it is a 'settings protection' password that you don't remember then follow these instructions http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN333

    If it is the email and password that you set up when you created your Anti-Theft account go to my.eset.com and click 'forgot password' and follow the instructions there.
     
  8. metaller

    metaller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2013
  9. smalleyj

    smalleyj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego
    Click on 'Setup' and look on the right side. Does AT have a green or red bubble next to it?
     
  10. bungiefan

    bungiefan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    green bubble, trying other options now. It's asking for ESET account credentials. I created an account, but it's not the one it linked to. The first time I tried to register from inside ESET, the page loaded improperly and I got stuck in a loop trying to register my account, but it apparently created enough of one to enable AntiTheft. I got one properly linked to my email address, which I have the password to, but it didn't link my ESET program to that account.
     
  11. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=339863

    This Thread had some similar Issues BUT had a Red Button at first in Setup Vs. your Green. Note my Post #2 where after Clk'ing Permanently Disable in the "Setup/Anti-Theft" Drop-Dn menu I was led by instructions to set up what became a 2nd Acct. That series of Blind-Leading-the-Blind steps happened to work & I just Deleted the 1st Acct I had Set-up in https://my.eset.com/.

    I'd suggest Running the Test to insure a Proper Install really occurred vs. "appearing that it did".

    IQ and intuitive steps are NOT what works here. Who'd believe an Install depends on Permanently Disabling what you're trying to install? Just keep trying things that don't make sense and I'm sure you'll get there.
     
  12. bungiefan

    bungiefan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    USA
    I just chose to uninstall, and will reinstall later. Going with version 5 until the symbolic link bug is fixed. Deleting the account does nothing, since the account I have, and the account ESET thought it was linked to are two different accounts. I couldn't provide a password to disable it. However, I didn't need a password to uninstall ESET entirely, including anti-theft, which seems to be way to easy of a way to defeat the intent of the product.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.