trouble creating booting cd

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by berry, Oct 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. berry

    berry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    decided to download the trial version of TI9 to get the feel of it till my own TI 8 comes through the post.

    had no trouble installing the software remember to disable go back.

    after a few tries managed create the floppy set (full version) but I can't seem to do the cd version I tried cd-rw and cd-r discs but still get the same message "error burning disc."

    my cd burner is usb 1.1 I've got roxio installed but I didn't use has I installed tthe full version of the trial software or do I have to use my own cd burning software

    I don't put the disc in until it says so, hoping someone can help me please.

    regards

    berry
     
  2. David Campen

    David Campen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Same trouble here.

    I have a WinME machine and just installed Trueimage V9 Build 2289.

    I can't create a Bootable Recovery CD. I am aware that you have to wait for Trueimage to open the (empty) CD tray, then insert the blank CD, then click OK and let Trueimage close the CD tray; I had to use this trick with an earlier Trueimage version, Version 7 I believe.

    Even this routine is not working with Trueimage 9. I start the Bootable CD Wizard, select a CD-R that is empty and tell Trueimage to proceed. Trueimage pops up a gif that says it is burning the CD and then several seconds later the CD tray opens but only a couple of seconds after the CD tray opens I then get the message "Error burning the bootable CD-R/CD-RW". The error message pops up without the CD tray having even closed. I tried this with both a USB 2 connected CD-R and also the CD-R on the PC bus with the same result.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello berry,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please try to use the next tips to solve your problems:
    - Eject any disc from the burner prior to starting the application;
    - Proceed until the program asks for a disc and opens the tray;
    - Insert a disc and then click the "Proceed" button to close the tray automatically as well.

    If that doesn't help then we also recommend you to update third party CD writing software if any to the latest version available for free on its respective web site.

    Please also note that you should use a blank unformatted CD-R or CD-RW in order to create a bootable rescue disc.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
  4. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Some other things to try (applicable to all versions of TI):

    1. Disable Windows XP's own CD recording feature (Open "My Computer", right click on you CD/DVD recorder and select "Properties". Select the "Recording" tab and uncheck the "Enable CD recording on this drive" tickbox.
    2. If using Roxio software, disable Drag-to-Disk before trying to create a boot rescue CD.
    3. If still unsuccessful, boot into Windows "Safe" mode and try creating the CD from there.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2005
  5. David Campen

    David Campen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I don't have the time or hardware to be beta testing V9 so I went to the latest build of V7 and now I can create a recovery CD.

    Of course this build of V7 has its own idiosyncrasies, when I made the recovery CD I saw that TI only recognized my USB attached CD drive but not the CD drive on the computer bus; the TI V6 that I had installed recognized both CD drives. I will have to make certain that I can boot the recovery CD from the drive on the PC bus and then perform a recovery.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2005
  6. jeremywms

    jeremywms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Menorcaman:

    I just had to post to say that after searching these posts and finding your solution, my problem was instantly solved. I had Roxio's Drag-to-Disk enabled and after disabling it, everything worked perfectly. If anyone has the same problem and reads this post, that may be your answer!

     
  7. troubledAGAIN

    troubledAGAIN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    24
    I have just installed TI and have also not been able to burn the rescue cd. I did make a set of rescue diskettes. What fun that will be. Have made about 7-8 coasters trying different ideas, including the one above to diable cd writing on the drive. Didn't work. And everytime I tried to build an image the PC rebooted. Is that normal? I don't believe the image was finished. What is the normal time to create an image of a drive?

    I have nero 6 ultra installed but not InCD.

    What about disabling IMAPI cd burning in windows services? Does that need to be done?
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello troubledAGAIN,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure that you use the latest build (2323) of Acronis True Image 9.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    If the problem still persists with the latest build (2323) of Acronis True Image 9.0 then please try to use next tips in order to solve the problem:

    - Eject any disc from the burner prior to starting the application;

    - Proceed until the program asks for a disc and open the tray;

    - Insert a disc and then click the OK button to close the tray automatically as well.

    If that doesn't help then I would also recommend you to update third party CD writing software (Nero 6 in your case, as I understand) to the latest version available for free on its respective web site.

    Please also note that you should use a blank unformatted CD-R or CD-RW in order to create a bootable rescue disc. Please be aware that this is a normal situation when a DVD writer is shown as a CD burner in Acronis True Image. This doesn't affect the device's functionality and you can use DVD.

    If nothing of the above helps then please also try to create Bootable Rescue CD in Windows Safe Mode.

    If you still can not create Bootable Rescue CD using the latest build (2323) of Acronis True Image 9.0 then please submit a request for technical support containing the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears along with the information about your purchase of Acronis software (order number, e-mail, where did you purchase our product, etc.) and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    First of all, please make sure that you use the latest build (2323) of Acronis True Image 9.0 (see instructions above).

    Please also check each partition of your hard drive by Windows utility:

    - For Windows 9x please use Windows menu Start\Run
    then enter the command "scandskw" and test all drives;

    - For Windows XP please use Windows menu Start\Run, then enter the command
    "chkdsk c: /r" "chkdsk d: /r" for every partition of your hard drive.

    Note that you will need to reboot your computer in order to scan the system partition.

    If the problem still persists after installing the update and checking your hard drive then please download the latest version of Acronis drivers and install it with disabled logging.

    If that does not help then enable logging by running the Acronis drivers installation package once again, reproduce the problem and collect the c:\snapapi.log file.

    Please also collect the following information:

    - Create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - When exactly does your PC reboot?

    - How much time does the image archive creation take exactly?

    - What location have you selected for your image archive?

    - Are you trying to create a disk\partition image or file-based backup?

    - Have you received any error messages? What exact error messages? When exactly have you received them?

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2005
  9. troubledAGAIN

    troubledAGAIN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    24

    Tried this and it didn't work. Still failed to burn CD. I have the latest version of Nero 66018. And I have build 2323 of TI9. Just bought it a couple days ago via download from this site.

    Another strange item is I cannot burn to cd even with Nero, I get a fixation error. This happened after installing TI9.

    Here is the situation: I have a raid array with 2 80 gig hard drives that the OS was installed on. I wanted to seperate the 2 drives and install a copy of winXP on each, one for playing games so it would be stripped down and have no extra junk running. The other would be winXP normal install for everything else. I wanted to image the 2 partitions I had on the raid aray so that after I broke up the raid I could transfer them to the respective drives and viola. I could boot and go.

    So I installed PQ's DriveImage7, which I paid for a couple years ago, and created an image of both partitions. I then tested booting from the DI7 cd to test and it would not boot. I also wanted to burn an ISO image to CD of a firewall program I use on an old PC. I was using Nero6 same version I have now. That is when I started getting the fixation errors in nero. I uninstalled DI7 and then got TI9 and installed it. Prior to installing TI9 I burned the ISO for the firewall program succesfully with Nero on this PC. After installing TI9 I could not burn anything with Nero or TI9, not even the rescue disk.

    I then bagged the whole idea of imaging and reformatted and totlly reinstalled both OS's to their respective drives. after installing Nero66018 I burned a couple of cd's without problem. Since I had paid for TI9, I installed it and wanted to image my new pristine installs but I could not create rescue disk and what do you know I couldn't burn with Nero again either. After uninstalling TI9 I can again burn cd's with nero. Could be a problem with Nero and imaging software; I don't know. The Ahead people just tell me to get the latest firmware for my drives. I have the latest firmware:believe me I checked.

    I am not going to use TI9 and actually have requested to get my money back. Tech support can disable my registration key or whatever. I have now imaged my main OS partition with a free imaging program and a BartPE cd. Worked like a charm. Mybe Nero's ImageDrive was causing problems with the other imaging programs but my impression of ImageDrive was it was for running ISO images on a virtual drive.

    Sorry for the long winded response.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello troubledAGAIN,

    We are really sorry that you are displeased with the work of Acronis software.

    Could you please create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post?

    Please also do the following:

    - Start command prompt;
    - Go to \Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\CDRecord folder;
    - Run "cdrecord –scanbus > scanbus.txt" command and send us the scanbus.txt file.

    We will highly appreciate if you will send us these files along with the information that I have requested in my previous post and give us a few days to investigate the problem. We will certainly do our best in order provide you with the solution as soon as possible.

    Please also note that in case you will provide us with the information confirming your purchase of Acronis True Image 9.0, we will be able to send you the download link for the ISO image of Acronis True Image 9.0 (build 2323) Bootable Rescue CD.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  11. troubledAGAIN

    troubledAGAIN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    24
    Unfortunately I have already removed TI from my system so there is no entry under common files for acronis. Sorry. I could reinstall just to create the file you want. Would that provide the information you want?

    It seems TI9 works fine for some just not for me.

    I had the impression that under Safe mode burning to media was not enabled.
     
  12. troubledAGAIN

    troubledAGAIN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    24
    OK here is what I will do. I will install TI9 to the drive with XPpro which does not have Nero installed so it will not have any knowledge of Nero. If I can create the rescue/boot disk all will be fine and dandy. Then I will attampt to create an image of the drive and if that is successful then another great job. Then I will try to boot from the rescue disk and see how that works. If these attempts result in failures I will send the requested info ASAP.

    For what it is worth my hardware list:
    Athlon 3000+ 400
    Soyo kt880 dragon2 v2
    Mushkin pc3200 4x512mb(2gb)
    ATI Radeon 9700pro
    TDK cdrw primary master IDE, sony dvdrw second master IDE
    Maxtor DM10 200gb primary slave IDE for storage. i.e images files etc.
    2x80gb WD SE drives one each for the OS's xphome and xppro connected to
    ALI IDE raid ports​
    2x120gb Seagate SATA in raid0 for apps and games connected to VIA sata
    ports​
    Antec Truepower 430
    SB Audigy2zs
     
  13. troubledAGAIN

    troubledAGAIN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    24
    Well guess what?? I tried everything in the above post and it all worked. I am now assuming(oops) the trouble was compatability with Nero and not a program fault. I burned the cd, created an image of the XPpro drive, and then booted to the cd. Everything functioned fine.

    Only problem was I couldn't see my OS drives. They are connected to the ALI IDE raid controller and apparently the boot cd doesn't have drivers for it. Is it possible to add these drivers to the rescue disk? The same way I made the BartPE disk? It showed all the drives in my system. Can I get the plugin to use TI8 or 9 with the BartPE disk?

    This mostly solves the problem.
    Thank you.
     
  14. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    usb 1.1 is very slow.

    if you have an empty slot, get a usb 2 card.
    they are not expensive.
     
  15. Nokes

    Nokes Guest

    Re: trouble creating booting cd "It worked"

    Tried recommendation to insert CD only after clicking on Drive and NEXT. When dialog box comes up to insert CD then open drive and insert disk and then click on proceed and drive will close and proceed to burn disk. It works but would have saved me over 2 hours in attempts to burn.

    Then open
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.