Triple Boot Recovery Errors - XP32/VistaX64/Server2008X64

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Discobadger, Nov 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Discobadger

    Discobadger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Hi there,
    I have been a user of Acronis since version 9 and can say its certianly helped me out in some sticky situations :)
    However I am encountering some errors that I cant understand why they are occuring.

    I have recently built a new system that consists of a P35 Chipset, Intel Core 2 Quad, 4GB Memory, 2x 500 GB SSung HDD's (Raid 1) & 2 x SSung 1TB F1's (Raid 1)

    I installed the following OS's

    XP SP3 X86
    Vista 64 Ultimate Edition X64
    Server 2008 X64

    Installed in that order.

    All systems were configured correctly for triple boot complete with drivers and windows updates complete and only Kaspersky Int Security Installed.

    Even though the drives were in a Raid 1 mirror I thought it best to Backup the system. I therefore inserted my TI11 USB pendrive>booted into TI (safe mode) and backed up the HDD's as follows.

    1)Complete HDD backup which included the three OS's and a data partition to the 1TB mirror.

    2)Then an individual backup of each OS to the 1TB mirror.

    It was then two days later I come to find out how good TI is at restoring my backups.

    Without going into a long story my OS mirror array had to be recovered totally.

    I then set out as usual USB flash drive boot into TI11 Safe mode, point to complete HDD restore, point to newly created HDD backup and then target the new OS empty array.

    The operation completes successfully without errors......well that what it said on the tin ;)

    Boot to XP first - OK no problems ;)
    Boot to Vista X64 - Looked ok until I entered my account password.
    Instead of automatically logging on and loading my desktop I get the following error ..

    BOX TITLE - rundll32.exe - Entry point not found
    Description - The procedure entry point SdbGetAppCompatDataSize could not be located in the dynamic link library apphelp.dll

    I then get IE Per-User Initialization Utility has stopped working.
    Check online blah blah

    Your user profile was not loaded correctly!
    You have been logged on with a temporary profile.
    Changes made to this profile will be lost when you log off.
    Contact your administrator.

    I am getting the same message and profile error in Server 2008.

    What am I doing wrong?
    Can anybody help please?

    Many thanks

    DB
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2008
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    When you did the drive backup, was it an Entire Disk Image (the Disk # checkbox checked)?

    When you restored the drive, did you check the Disk # checkbox and do an Entire Disk Image restore?

    I assume you're using the Windows boot manager and the XP partition is the Active partition. Is that correct?

    What build of TI 11 are you using?
     
  3. Discobadger

    Discobadger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for the swift response.

    In relation to your questions.

    It was an entire disk image with the Disk # checkbox checked.
    I also restored using entire disk checked.

    I assume you're using the Windows boot manager and the XP partition is the Active partition. Is that correct?
    Yes this is also correct.

    Build of TI11 is 8.027
    I've just checked my registered products and seen 8101 is available.
    Shall i recreate my USB boot flash drive and give it another try?

    Obviously I cant backup my old mirror array :(

    Thanks
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I would update to build 8,101. The first release was quite buggy. Then try the Entire Disk Image restore again.

    ---

    Your partitions may have shifted enough during the restore to cause problems with drive letter assignments.

    Do you have any partitioning software (like Disk Director) that has the ability to Hide partitions?

    Can you verify if the Vista and Server 2008 partitions are Primary?
     
  5. Discobadger

    Discobadger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    MudCrab,

    Only reason I used safemedia to backup & restore was the problem I'd encountered in the past with Raid setups when using the Home "Full" version from USB Flash media.

    I'm running the restore as we speak with a new USB flash with the latest updates.
    I dont have Disk Director atm but seeing as we're an Official Acronis Distributor where I work it shouldn't be a problem ;)

    When I imaged orginally XP was Active and both Vista & Server where both Primary.

    Will see if the update works, other than that will it be possible to recover with the help of Disk Director or am I going to have to do a full restore, keep the XP partition, boot into XP delete the remaining three partitions and reinstall both Operating Systems?

    How will disk director help?

    Thanks for your help.

    Regards,

    DB
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If the restore worked, then you should be okay. If it didn't, I'm not sure if using DD will help or not. However, Vista will boot from a hidden partition so I was thinking that if you hid the XP partition and then booted into Vista (first boot after the restore) that Vista might reassign the drive letters correctly (assuming that's the problem). The XP partition could be unhidden after doing the same for Server 2008.

    You might want to take a look at this thread. It deals with the same type of problem. In that case, there was one bootable Vista system. In your case, XP boots. However, you can boot from a Vista DVD and do the same procedures. You may even be able to edit Vista's Registry with XP's editor (I haven't tried it so I don't know for sure).

    Usually, an Entire Disk Image restore will put the partitions back where they were and there isn't a problem. However, since TI 11 and later try to "repair" Vista so it will boot, it may have actually caused the problem instead.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Discobadger, if you still experience the same issue using the latest build of Acronis program, please create the following file:

    Please download Acronis Report utility available here and run it, create a report and send it to us. Please compress the Acronis Report output file into an archive (e.g. with WinZip) and attach to your message by browsing for the archive.
    This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    and submit a request to Acronis Customer Service Department here

    Thank you.

    __

    Oleg Lee
     
  8. Discobadger

    Discobadger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Sorry its taken a while, lifes been a little busy with the run up to Xmas ;)

    Just to let you know using the latest update for TI 11 worked a treat :D

    Thanks for the info

    PS. Now having problems with TI 2009 but I'll post that in a new thread.

    Thanks very much to everyone for your assistance.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.