TrendMicro Pc-Cillin vs. Sophos AntiVirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by kloshar, Dec 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kloshar

kloshar Registered Member

I wonder which of these 2 antivirus software is better? I think about Pc-cillin and Sophos Antivirus (new version). I know Sophos is built for enterprise, but you can simply use it as a home-computer scanner. And for free. I got a new Pc-cillin yesterday (just antivirus, not the whole internet security) and it looks good, too. I have been using Sophos Antivirus for 6 years now at my office and it still runs very well so I've just wanted to try it on my home computer. Which to use?

2. RejZoR

RejZoR Lurker

Hard to say but i'd most probably go with Pc-cillin.

3. kloshar

Would you be so kind and tell me why?

4. RejZoR

RejZoR Lurker

Manly because SOPHOS was never meant to be a personal AV regardless of detection. Centralized administration and control are it's brightest points among corporate AV solutions. Also from what i managed to see Pc-cillin offers more settings in a client software. Detection is also a bit higher according to av-comparatives if i'm not mistaken...

5. kkkkkkk

kkkkkkk Guest

There is to many resons...

Bad detection, bad spyware detections, doing bad on most of the tests etc.

Also PC-Cillin had bad update few months ago that damaged all computers that did update during that 1-2 hours etc.
    Also PC-cillin did bad few times in my expirience while clean virus infection, after "sucesfull" cleaning I got BSOD.

You probably were lucky with Sophos, if you using for example Opera and do update very often that any AV will protect you well but if you go everywhere with Internet Exporer than you will see how Sophos is bad.

This is my personal view.

6. Technodrome

Technodrome Security Expert

Damaged? Please stop spreading incorrect information.

tD

7. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member